Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Fashioned English Breakfast Sausage (Or Sausage Patties) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Fashioned English Breakfast Sausage (Or Sausage Patties)

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on November 05, 2009

      Absolutely LOVED this recipe! Perfect! I made this sausage to be used in a Sausage Roll recipe here on Zaar. I reground the pork in my meat grinder to produce a smoother texture. Next time I will stuff sausage casings. This reminded me of summers spent at my grandmothers house in Northern Ireland. Thank you Gerry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      We'll be making these again. My husband claims they take him right back to London. The seasoning is just right and the breadcrumbs help them stay juicy when cooked. We use 3 parts of pork cushion meat to one part of pork fat and grind them several times for a uniform texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      This was a great recipe! I saw that some reviewers complained about the texture that the bread crumbs gave the sausage, and all I could think was, "but the texture is what makes it English sausage!" I prefer English style sausage (and especially English style back bacon) to the American types, and I have paid exorbitant prices to buy English style sausages from specialty shops, so I was very excited to see this recipe. I was delighted with the results! I used a package of ground pork I bought at the grocery store, which was not ground as finely as this recipe called for, and I cooked it in patties since I couldn't make links, but even so, the texture was much closer to the English style, and the flavor was BANG ON. I won't be buying prepackaged sausage meat anymore! In fact, I may have to invest in a sausage stuffer and start having a butcher finely grind pork for me. Thanks, Gerry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      Delicious! I did like the bread crumbs and texture. Made this for a Mothers' Day brunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      Yum! I purchased a sausage machine from Aldi's a while ago and haven't used it until now. I have to admit, I'm really crap at making sausages! The casings kept bursting, my sausages were all different size, but this is nothing to do with the recipe. I used Chicken mince and kept everything else the same. The flavour was very subtle but perfect for my seven year old (Little Miss). I did give up making the sausages and made the rest of the mince into patties. Thanks so much for a great recipe Gerry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      I made these with ground turkey, which worked fine, but I didn't care for the texture the bread crumbs gave them. I used a sausage stuffer to make links. Will be making these again, without the bread crumbs and with a bit more red pepper, or red pepper flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      W-e-l-l, it's a matter of taste and I'm afraid these seasonings are not to my taste. I'm glad I made it, though! It is my first time making pork sausage and I enjoyed the process.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      Delicious and SO easy to rustle up! I made these sausages exactly as posted, and we were rewarded with delightful little moist sausage patties - with a hint of herbs and spice. I made the full amount and popped the rest into the freezer for future delectation! We ate these for an Autumnal comfort supper with rosti potatoes, fried tomatoes, bacon and fried bread - a mid-week treat on a cold and blustery night. I used herbs from my garden and made them into patty shapes this time; I will try the sausage shape next time. Made for the Aussie/NZ recipe swap, and a keeper for me, thanks so much Gerry for a delightful sausage recipe, VERY much like my favourite English sausages I treat myself to when I go home to Yorkshire! Merci, FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      We loved this!! Simple to make and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      those are super good ..thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      Great My first time making sausages, going to do half beef @ pork next time, that could be this week. Dont think they will last long, so good. The only hard bit is the casting , will keep practising. Awsome

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Great recipe! Now I have a choice between homemade Chorizo sausage or English Breakfast Sausage. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      I made this with about 2/3 pork to 1/3 venison. I found it very mild yet there are some subtle flavors that really jump out at you. I will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      Yummy yummy yummy. I cooked only 1/3 the amount made for 5 people and froze the rest. I may never buy breakfast sausage again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      Wonderful breakfast sausage. So easy to prepare but with a great blend of spices. This recipe is already in my camper file. Everyone loved them. Served with buckwheat pancakes,fantastic. Thank-you so much Gerry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      Made these this afternoon, left two plain for the kids and others added hot red pepper flakes. Chilled them for an hour to firm and relax, then layered into a roasting pan with my potato wedgies on top, roasted all together with some sweet red peppers too. Served stacked on a plate a vinegar oil salad topped with the sausage Pattie, then a poached egg, served potatoes as the side. Great meal, great homemade sausage. These we will make a gain, next time for brunch with maple syrup. Nice recipe for the family guests too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      Served along side fried eggs and toast this made for a wonderful breakfast. I rolled mine into 10cm lengths refrigerated them over night ready to cook in the morn. They have a very subtle flavour, which is really nice for breakfast. Next time I'll turn up the herb n spice quantities slightly, add a little crushed chili flakes and serve them with mashed spuds and veg for a winters day lunch :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      I was looking for something different, this is it. Delicious, about halfway between a banger and traditional breakfast sausage. This will be my new "standard" breakfast sausage. I plan to try casing links of it next.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2005

      thanks for posting this im always looking for good breakfast sausage and this is one thank you for posting and thanks for your kind review

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Fashioned English Breakfast Sausage (Or Sausage Patties)

    Serving Size: 1 (95 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 225.6
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    35%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 76.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 594.4 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 26.4 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites