Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old-Fashioned Date Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old-Fashioned Date Bars

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2002

      I'm surprised no one else has made these delicious bars before! I made them yesterday and what an absolute hit they were with everyone! I followed the recipe exactly as given...the only deviation that I did do was to substitute pecans with walnuts (because I did not have pecans). The date bars were amazing! I will definitely be making them again and again. In Hindi, 'bar-bar', means 'again and again'. Well this is what my family calls your date bars....'date bar-bar'! Needless to say, I will be making them bar-bar!! A definite keeper and deserves a big 5 star rating by any standards. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      This is bliss! How can you go wrong with a boatload of butter and brown sugar?!? As a nod toward "health" (excuse me a moment: hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah) I used half whole wheat flour. These would be delectable with any additive, not just dates and pecans. Oooooo...now I wish I would have stirred in grated orange rind, too! Enjoy any and all who dare! Thanks Sue!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Good, but would be better with some oatmeal in them, the way old fashioned date bars are.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      These are good. They have the consistency and sweetness of pecan pie when warm. I almost put them back in the oven but then with all those dates, I figured they were supposed to be that gooey. I am going to keep these in the fridge and I bet they will be nice and wonderfully chewy chilled!!! Thanks for posting! UPDATE: After I chilled these things, they went from pecan pie gooey to cakey gooey. Chilling these bars is the way to go!!! Really great date bars, you must let them cool completely and especially if you keep them in the fridge!!! Yummmmm!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      Very good. I was low on Dates so I added Chocolate Chips. Yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      I just made these and they are great! Will definately make them again, I only used two cups of dates since I didn't have more but next time I'll use three. But they still are delicious!! And the kitchen smelled so good while they were baking, I am in love! While I was mixing all the ingredients, I found that the mixture was very dry and almost too thick to mix it, I had to use my hands to put it in the baking pan, but don't add any moisture!!(for future bakers)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

    • on October 19, 2004

      These date bars were a huge hit, very delicious!!I cut them a little smaller, I got 28 squars. The only diference I made was that I only had 2 cups of dates on hand so that's all I used, the rest I followed exactly. I don't think anyone missed the other cup of dates. Thanks for sharing a good old one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old-Fashioned Date Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (1828 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.9
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    35%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 43.5 mg
    14%
    Sodium 124.4 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.4 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 32.6 g
    130%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites