Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Fashioned Corn and Potato Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Fashioned Corn and Potato Chowder

    Average Rating:

    115 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-115 of 115

    Sort by:

    • on October 23, 2007

      This recipe was fab! Very yummy, although next time we'll add a little more flour, since it was a little runnier than we like our chowder to be. We also added one jalapeño, some cumin, and a little chili powder because we like ours a little spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      I'm giving this a four because I ate more than I normally would. There was too much corn for me and last minute sub was dried minced onions. But, the flavor is very good. This one is going in my hardcopy cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      This was a great recipe! I didn't change a thing and it was perfect..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      This is superb! Instead of flour mixed with water, I use a Tablespoon or more of dehydrated mashed potato flakes. It works great and keeps the flavor the same in the soup. Perfect if you (or a loved one) are gluten-intolerant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      The kids loved this! It was easy and fast. A real crowd pleaser and everyone was asking for seconds! Added cheese on top, and a few bacon bits (if you want)they kids like it this way. If you add bacon bits to each ind. bowl so they don't get soggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      Very easy to put together. Kids loved it and did DH. I added some cumin. Also may try caramalising onions next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      This recipe was amazing. The only thing I changed was that I used a roux to thicken it versus the flour/water mixture. I prefer a thicker chowder and it worked perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      An oldie and a goodie! This was suprisingly yummy despite being so simple. I might try carmelizing the onions next time, but I might not, because it was very good with all the ingredients thrown into the pot as easy as it is. Thanks very much for for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

      I made this recipe tonight along with BLT's. We used Sweet and Spicy Bacon to make Sweet and Spicy Bacon for the BLT's. They went great together. This chowder is great for a chilly night. Real comfort food. Thanks Just Married for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      This was great! I just made it for my family. I added a can of creamed corn and a can of cream of potato soup because i didn't have enough potatos...but it came out outstanding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      Great flavour. I used rice milk and oil instead of butter. Great and easy dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      I've made this several times now and leave out most of the butter and use 2% milk w/great results. Simple ingredients, delicious, fast to prepare and economical -what more could you ask for? The green onion and cheddar on top are a MUST and next time I hope to try w/bacon like someone else suggested. Serve w/biscuits or cheddar bread and a salad and you have a complete meal. THANKS AAB!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2006

      I spent the day out on the lake ice skating in 16 degree weather, so this was a happy ending to my day! I had all the ingredients on hand, so this was a perfect and easy meal to stir up! I added one chicken bullion cube and 2 slices of cooked & crumbled bacon into the mix. Great recipe. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2005

      I love this recipe. I used home frozen corn. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2003

      This is a very nice recipe, everyone liked it, and it is so quick and easy to make. The only change I made was to not add pepper, as my daughter is on an anti candida diet and can't eat spices. We had the chowder with creamed carrots, peas (I had planned beans but did not have enough) and salad. Yum! Thanks for posting this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 5 6 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Fashioned Corn and Potato Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (266 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 261.9
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    30%
    Total Fat 8.8 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 24.7 mg
    8%
    Sodium 384.4 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites