Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Fashioned Corn and Potato Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Fashioned Corn and Potato Chowder

    Average Rating:

    115 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 115

    Sort by:

    • on April 27, 2010

    • on February 02, 2010

      This recipe was great. I didn't have corn, so I used peas. Also I used 3 big potatoes, so I'm thinking that was more potatoes. I added parsley, garlic salt, and curry powder. I also used Lutie's recommendation about the mashed potato flakes. Super yums!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      Pretty good soup. I made it today to use up some potatoes. I used 3 large potatoes, followed lutie's advice and used mashed potato flakes to thicken and then added a sprinkle of hot sauce to give it a little zing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Simply delicious, one of the best chowders I have prepared

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      So Delicious!!!! I made a few adjustments adding 3 strips precooked bacon (finely chopped), hot chicken stock instead of water, and cornstarch instead of flour to thicken. I also used 1 cup whole milk & 1 cup of Half and Half. I will be making this again & again. This soup is creamy, flavorful, and filling! Thanks Malriah:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Excellent chowder! I've made it twice now, once using fresh & once using frozen bicolor corn, and both were wonderful. I skipped the toppings, but I don't think we missed them at all. I used raw whole milk one time and a mixture of organic unhomogenized half-and-half and organic nonfat milk and both were terrific. I skipped the flour mixture and just added in some instant mashed potato flakes. I love how quick, simple, and satisfying this soup is! Thanks for sharing, Malriah!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      Good soup. I substituted some seasoned salt and some celery salt for the regular salt called for. I used frozen corn and heated it up in the water to make cooked corn and boiled water at the same time first, then added everything else.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      This was very simple to make.I did add a bit extra such as garlic powder .My children enjoyed it very much especially my 10 year old son.This tasted better the next day-much more flavor.Thanks for recipe.Oh I added a tiny bit of Italian sausage which I stole from my poor hubby's breakfast LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      This was okay, but not great. A little bland for our taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      This was very good! I took another reviewer's advice, and used instant mashed potato's to thicken it, but put too many. Had to add some milk to thin it back out. Oops!! I think it needed more salt, but otherwise, it was great! Topped it off with some cheese, green onion, and some smoky center cut bacon. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      D made this for us and it was tasty, though I think he would like to try another recipe that's a bit more jazzy. We sprinkled shredded cheddar on top of each bowl and the two of us polished it all off that day. Main problem: adding the flour didn't work at all. We would've tried just smashing some with the immersion blender if we could find the powered handle for it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      Simple, delicious. I added ham and used a whole onion. Family loved it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      This recipe was very easy and tasted very good. I followed the recipe with the exception that I added some cooked bacon and topped it off with a bit of shredded cheese. I will definately make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      Really great soup I have made this before and it is excellent just how its written...but I changed it a little bit this time instead of potatoes I used ore-ida frozen potatoes (the one with the peppers) and added some smoked sausage it was really good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

    • on March 12, 2009

      Yummm. This turned out great but I did add a few things because there wasn't as much flavor as I like. I doubled the recipe so I'd have leftover. I used 3 cups of milk & 1 cup of heavy cream, I also added some extra thickener because the chowder was a bit runny. I then added 2 tsp. chicken bouillon, 1tsp poultry seasoning, & 1 tsp. garlic powder. Definately a keeper. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      This was very delicious, but I do agree that it needed more flavoring. Also, I think next time, I will add cream, not milk, as this is how most chowders are made super creamy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      I did change this up a bit... 2c. water w/ 2t. chicken base, 1/2 c. celery (including the leaves for more flavor), 2 1/2c. potatoes and one can, drained, of corn. I also used 1 T. minced onion and abt. 2 t. minced garlic. I used skim milk and 2T. flour and water. It was fabulous. My husband tossed some canned clams in his and it was great as well. Thanks so much for a terrific base recipe. This will be made often in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      Very nice chowder. It seemed a bit bland so I added about 1.5 t of Paprika which gave it a slightly peppery flavor and a pinkish hue.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      I had to change up this recipe a bit. I added more potato (about 2.5 cups) and a bit less corn (about 2 cups) and added a dash of garlic powder. I also added a bit more salt. Other than that, it was PERFECT! My husband was not too much a fan, but he doesn't like corn and I"m pregnant and I love corn, so this is what I made. I loved it...and there's still some on the stove, so I'm going back to have spoonfuls! YUM!!! Thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Fashioned Corn and Potato Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (266 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 261.9
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    30%
    Total Fat 8.8 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 24.7 mg
    8%
    Sodium 384.4 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes