124 Reviews

Tasty, healthy, easy, though a bit boring. I doctored up a bit by adding pumpkin and leeks to make a little more exciting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
junkmmwnomad January 30, 2010

Great for a cold winter day! We really enjoyed this. I made a few small modifications. I sauteed the onion and about 1 clove of minced garlic in the butter before adding other ingredients. I did this in the soup pan. The soup was a little thin for my taste, so I added 1/2 tsp of corn starch and then the texture was perfect. I finished with some nutmeg and topped with shredded cheese and bacon pieces.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke's Kitchen January 07, 2010

what a fantastic soup! i sauteed the onions with a little bit of garlic powder in the butter at the beginning until the onions were slightly browned and no longer crunchy. i used a bag and a half of frozen corn, too, and it turned out just fine. i served the corn and potato chowder with cheddar cheese and pre-cooked bacon crumbles on top and a loaf of french bread on the side. a great dinner that was quick and easy to make! thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adventurousbeginner November 23, 2009

This was good, but not great. It wasn't as thick as I would have thought it would be, even though I used part Half and Half. I'm not sure if it was something I did, or not, though I followed the steps. I also think it could use something else, maybe garlic. I added some chopped up bacon as some of the other reviewers mentioned, which I think was good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kbates November 15, 2009

Really enjoyed this for dinner in a bread bowl. I doubled the amount of flour, but the soup still wasn't thick enough for a chowder, in my opinion. So I then added a little cornstartch/water mixture, and it was perfect. Also added quite a bit more salt and pepper, as well as some sausage.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tarayakki October 30, 2009

This was just OK for us. It was very easy to make but we thought it was very bland and very thin. I followed the recipe exactly as written. I did end up adding a lot more salt and pepper and more flour to thicken it up. I have to agree with another reviewer that it was like eating corn and potatoes floating in milk.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol October 25, 2009

wonderful! I cooked this for a sick friend a couple months ago.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
plum pie October 27, 2006

Wonderful soup! I used fat free half and half. It needed a little extra salt to bring up the flavor. It is definitely a keeper! Total comfort food!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
datadoll October 25, 2006

This was quite tasty. I used leaks instead of onions, just because they were in the house and needed to be used. They added a wonderful flavor. I also left out the butter, and used skim milk to make an already low fat recipe even lower.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stimied January 13, 2004

I recently didn't realize that my can of corn was Cream Style Corn until I opened it. I used it anyway and it was great too!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Malriah October 19, 2002
Old Fashioned Corn and Potato Chowder