Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Fashioned Corn and Potato Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Fashioned Corn and Potato Chowder

    Average Rating:

    115 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 115

    Sort by:

    • on August 18, 2014

      I can't believe I found a real recipe for this chowder. My aunt and mother have been making it for years, but they never use measurements so I've been up the creek trying to guess. I just made this tonight and was instantly transported back to childhood! I used more pepper and didn't bother thickening with the flour. Sometimes Aunt Audrey adds sour cream or cheese if she feels like it, so that's definitely an option, too. Thank you so much, Malriah!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2014

      I, unfortunately, prepared a triple batch for the arrival of grandchildren after a long road trip. I used fresh corn and extra potatoes. The soup was so watery and bland that it couldn't even be rescued by the addition of sausage. There are much better recipes out there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2013

      Super easy and very good. We make this regularly. We don't use the garnish, but I would add it to make it special. Thinking of making with chicken broth and adding some cooked chicken next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2013

      We just finished dinner and I served this soup even though the outside temperature was very warm. I thought it was kind of bland but my husband really liked it. I would make some changes the next time I make it but it sure was easy to make. Served with hot rolls but a salad would be an added benefit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2013

      I added 1 garden fresh chopped Jalapeno (seeded) for a kick of spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2013

      So easy, so delicious - this recipe is PERFECT. I couldn't stop "tasting" it over the stove while it was cooking. I may try blending it next time I make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      great recipe! i also added bacon and celery for additional flavor. this one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      As is, I would rate it lower. My changes, I would rate it a 5 star! Instead of water I used chicken broth. I lessened the amount of corn used and upped the amount of potato and onion. I also doubled the amount of salt/pepper. As for the flour/water (I used chicken broth) mixture, I did about 1.5 what the recipe says so it would be a bit thicker. Since changing these things I have made the recipe several times! I make a double batch and have some for leftovers. The next day I just add a little bit more chicken broth to thin it out after thickening in the fridge, it's perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      I don't think I will make this again. It is very bland. I will search for a recipe that uses a flavored broth instead of water and has more seasonings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2013

      This was SO good - total comfort food. It was even more delicious the next day. Very easy to make using ingredients I normally have on hand. I used frozen kernel corn and added 1/2 chopped green pepper. Thanks so much for posting a recipe that I will be making often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      Very easy. Would like a few more potatoes as some chunks cook down. Good base soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2012

      Very simple and good--try adding 2 small cans of mild green chiles, a couple of more small potatoes, a whole onion instead of what the recipe says, and 1/2 cup of half and half with 1 cup of skim milk. No need for the flour and water if you break up the cooked potatoes a bit in the soup. Use vegie broth instead of water. Use 2 ears of fresh corn from the cob if you have it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2012

      I used fresh summer corn In this chowder this was so GOOD! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2012

      Sooo good especially with the cheese on top! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

    • on November 02, 2011

      Very good basic chowder. This is a "slightly thick" chowder, I prefer much thicker. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      I love this recipe. I tweaked it by adding a pound of turkey bacon and wow, what a delicious chowder! I also topped it with a dallop of sour cream for added unhealthy deliciousness!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2011

      This chowder was wonderful! I was amazed at how tasty it was with so few ingredients. I followed your recipe to the letter. At the very end however, I used my potato masher to mash up the potatoes a bit just because that's how my kiddos like it. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      Excellent! The only thing I did different was to add 1.5 tsp of chicken bouillon. Thank you for an affordable meal to add to our rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      Well, my family didn't care for this, but I'm still rating it with 4 stars because it did turn out, they just don't like corn in soup they say????? I did enjoy it and will be the one eating the leftovers.....okay by me. I sprinkled the soup with celery salt in my bowl. Thank you for sharing, I am glad I got to try this soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Fashioned Corn and Potato Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (266 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 261.9
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    30%
    Total Fat 8.8 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 24.7 mg
    8%
    Sodium 384.4 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes