Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake With Glossy Chocolate Icing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake With Glossy Chocolate Icing

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on May 04, 2011

      I have been in pursuit of the perfect glossy, soft and spreadable chocolate frosting...this is it and here is what I did differently. Follow directions exactly as written, but because of the comments about it being runny, I cooKed it just to boiling, liKe a candy. Let it cool in the refrigerator for 2 hours, stir and frost. Perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      A very good cake- i had problems with it cracking though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      This cake was sinful. I made this for Friday night but couldn't eat it until Saturday due to the icing. It was still pretty runny after 3 hours so I refrigerated it overnight and had it Saturday night instead. My suggestion is to make the icing first before the cake that way it has time to get to spreading consistency. I served this with vanilla ice cream. Oh So Rich and Tasty! Thanks so much for posting PanNan!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      I have made this wonderful cake about 8 times in the last 3 months. My family always wants me to make it. I call it my "Chocolate Cake To Die For". This may be the BEST Chocolate Cake I have ever tasted. It always comes out spectacular. It is so EASY to make. The icing is thin and messy (I line sides of plate with strips of wax paper and remove after frosting cake) but very easy to work with. I can frost this cake in about 5 minutes. The wonderful thing about this cake is that you always have enough icing left over to frost another cake. I store leftover icing in fridge and make another cake the next week. SO GOOD!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      I didn't rate it because I only made the icing (to put on brownies) and I messed up the ingredients (used double the sour cream, had to sub evap. milk for the cream), but it still turned out. The unusual method results in a fantastic-looking, great-tasting icing, and it's easy to whip up. It was a bit thin at first, probably bcs. of the extra sour cream, but it was spreadable after sitting on the counter for a couple hours uncovered.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

      This is absolutely the best chocolate frosting! If you want to use it right away, set the pan in ice water after the frosting is cooked and stir until it's thick and spreadable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      I made this cake last night and the frosting is incredible but the cake is not. I followed the recipe exactly and the cake did rise well but there is very little flavor to it. It's bland, other than a slight tang from the vinegar. I don't get all the rave reviews but maybe it's the frosting, which is definitely worth making.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      Best chocolate cake I've ever made. Did not need the full cooking time. I baked it for 30 minutes and it was perfect. Moist but not underdone. Dense, rich, everything a choc cake should be. This must be the result of leaving out the eggs. THe frosting is outstanding but you need to allow plenty of time for it to set up. I speeded the process by putting the pan in the freezer for about 45 mins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

      I am not generally a huge cake or chocolate fan, but this cake was moist and delicious. The recipe was pretty simple. I made the cake and frosting the day ahead. Put the frosting in the refrigerator overnight, and then took it out in the morning to come to room temperature. The cake layers went in the freezer overnight. The consistency of the frosting came out perfectly that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      This was an excellent cake, so moist and dark and more chocolatey than you would expect from reading the ingredients. I was so surprised that there were no eggs or dairy in this. What a great find for those with allergies to either ingredient or those on restricted diets; they can have their cake and eat it too! I used brewed coffee instead of the hot water and instant coffee...same difference! The frosting is what really sold me. It is so dark and smooth and glossy, a birthday candle practically glimmers on the surface! Next time, I would make the frosting before the cake so both would be ready at the same time. As it was, I chilled the frosting in an ice water bath, stirring it occasionally until it was spreadable, about 20 minutes or so. This will be my go to chocolate frosting from here on out. Outstanding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      This cake is sooo good! I was surprised at how well it rose for not having eggs in it (mine came out just like the ones in the pictures), and the taste was excellent! I omitted the coffee, because we didn't have any, but followed the cake recipe exactly after that. Mine was done in just about 32 minutes. I frosted with a recipe and a half of Chocolate Buttercream Frosting. This cake recipe is a keeper! Thanks for posting it, PanNan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      Moist, chocolate cake! I can't wait to make this again. My mil wants the recipe, but I told her it's my little secret, lol. Thanks so much for posting this :) It's my new favorite chocolate cake!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      its great and moist and quick to prepare. My favorite and everyone loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

    • on December 03, 2006

      The dark chocolate taste is very good on this cake. I could not get the frosting to set, even with refrigerating it. Although the cake tasted great, it did not look very nice because the frosting slid off of the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2006

      Awesome!!! i didn't have vinegar but didn't notice a difference... i also made it in a square pan and it was fine. fab cake!! and SO easy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      This cake was very well recieved by the guests at a second birthday party. And another mom did ask for the recipe. Overall, I thought the cake was a bit too sweet and not as chocolatey as other recipes. It is a big sugar and fat wollop even for a cake. That said, I would make it again. S

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2005

      Wow! It's pretty rare when I find a cake that is almost too rich for me to finish a piece! I omitted the coffee, added only 1/2 C oil and used a different frosting recipe that I made up. I also cooked it in a 9/13 pan. Thanks for sharing this spectacular recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2005

      PanNan - thankyou so much for this recipe!!! Today was my youngest son's birthday and when I went to make a cake I discovered I had no eggs!!! Zaar (and you!!) to the rescue!!! I followed your recipe exactly and I'm still sitting here scratching my head wondering how a cake with no eggs turned out so beautifully light!!! The icing was also special..I had no problems with the thickness of it and found that it spread wonderfully over the cake. I chopped up a Peppermint Crisp bar and sprinkled it over the top after I iced the cake.....totally wonderful and probably my new birthday cake recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake With Glossy Chocolate Icing

    Serving Size: 1 (2404 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 7891.8
     
    Calories from Fat 3612
    45%
    Total Fat 401.3 g
    617%
    Saturated Fat 167.4 g
    837%
    Cholesterol 681.7 mg
    227%
    Sodium 5234.4 mg
    218%
    Total Carbohydrate 1087.8 g
    362%
    Dietary Fiber 60.0 g
    240%
    Sugars 707.4 g
    2829%
    Protein 76.9 g
    153%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites