20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been in pursuit of the perfect glossy, soft and spreadable chocolate frosting...this is it and here is what I did differently. Follow directions exactly as written, but because of the comments about it being runny, I cooKed it just to boiling, liKe a candy. Let it cool in the refrigerator for 2 hours, stir and frost. Perfection!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skmd01 May 04, 2011

A very good cake- i had problems with it cracking though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheerfanatic June 21, 2010

This cake was sinful. I made this for Friday night but couldn't eat it until Saturday due to the icing. It was still pretty runny after 3 hours so I refrigerated it overnight and had it Saturday night instead. My suggestion is to make the icing first before the cake that way it has time to get to spreading consistency. I served this with vanilla ice cream. Oh So Rich and Tasty! Thanks so much for posting PanNan!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z April 26, 2009

I have made this wonderful cake about 8 times in the last 3 months. My family always wants me to make it. I call it my "Chocolate Cake To Die For". This may be the BEST Chocolate Cake I have ever tasted. It always comes out spectacular. It is so EASY to make. The icing is thin and messy (I line sides of plate with strips of wax paper and remove after frosting cake) but very easy to work with. I can frost this cake in about 5 minutes. The wonderful thing about this cake is that you always have enough icing left over to frost another cake. I store leftover icing in fridge and make another cake the next week. SO GOOD!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tusimay March 29, 2008

I didn't rate it because I only made the icing (to put on brownies) and I messed up the ingredients (used double the sour cream, had to sub evap. milk for the cream), but it still turned out. The unusual method results in a fantastic-looking, great-tasting icing, and it's easy to whip up. It was a bit thin at first, probably bcs. of the extra sour cream, but it was spreadable after sitting on the counter for a couple hours uncovered.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Waterskater March 20, 2008

This cake was excellent. I didn't stray from the recipe and my results exceeded my expectations. What a lovely frosting! I couldn't wait for mine to cool so once it was finished cooking I placed the entire pot into the freezer for about an hour, stirring every 15 minutes or so. The result was a super thick and glossy frosting. The cake itself has a bit of a fudge texture but the chemical reaction of the baking soda and vinegar gives it the perfect crumb. This recipe will definitely be slated for a repeat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Hickson November 16, 2014

This is absolutely the best chocolate frosting! If you want to use it right away, set the pan in ice water after the frosting is cooked and stir until it's thick and spreadable.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shortyf March 24, 2013

I made this cake last night and the frosting is incredible but the cake is not. I followed the recipe exactly and the cake did rise well but there is very little flavor to it. It's bland, other than a slight tang from the vinegar. I don't get all the rave reviews but maybe it's the frosting, which is definitely worth making.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda1629 January 04, 2013

Best chocolate cake I've ever made. Did not need the full cooking time. I baked it for 30 minutes and it was perfect. Moist but not underdone. Dense, rich, everything a choc cake should be. This must be the result of leaving out the eggs. THe frosting is outstanding but you need to allow plenty of time for it to set up. I speeded the process by putting the pan in the freezer for about 45 mins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joanna_calling_12979062 September 12, 2012

I am not generally a huge cake or chocolate fan, but this cake was moist and delicious. The recipe was pretty simple. I made the cake and frosting the day ahead. Put the frosting in the refrigerator overnight, and then took it out in the morning to come to room temperature. The cake layers went in the freezer overnight. The consistency of the frosting came out perfectly that way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pansregnig December 26, 2011
Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake With Glossy Chocolate Icing