Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Fashioned Candied Yams Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Fashioned Candied Yams

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2008

      These were really really good! I added some chopped red apples, raisins, and pecans to the yams and it really added a nice touch. This is so easy to make yet fancy enough to serve to company. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      I loved it. Thanks! I used canned sweet potatoes and modified the ingredient amounts for the quantity of potatoes I had. I cut them up into smaller pieces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2005

      I was looking around for a yam recipe that would be similar to the way I remember my Dad's version. This looked pretty close and it was good. My only recommendation would be to thicken the syrup. I think my Dad used to add cornstarch. I'm going to give that try next time I make these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2004

      This was a very good recipe, Everything turned out great, I did not cut them in half I sliced them all up and dumped everything in a pan, I will use this from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2003

      I'm glad to know that I am the first to try this recipe. The candied yams are absolutely awesome, my youngest daughter would not eat candied yams before now she wants them all the time. I will definitely make these again, as a matter of fact I am making them today. Thank you, Lil Bit

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2014

      These Sweet potatoes totally taste like candy, so delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      Just finished making these and they are GREAT! My whole house smells like Cinnabon at the mall. I think everyone will loves these. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Absolutely Great... You must give it a try...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      The yams where pretty good. i added a little orange juice for that xtra zing! I didn't have any cinnamon, but it was still good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      These are delish, a bit sticky if you have any spills but worth the effort for a holiday meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      I made these last night and I must say, the family enjoyed this dish so much! Thanks for sharing. It's a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      Family loved this recipe. Have cooked it twice and they are asking for it again. Added extra into some of it just for my taste but otherwise it was great.It was easy to prepare and went fast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      Made this dish for Easter Dinner for 20 people - everyone ate it and raved!! 10 of them asked for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2004

      Excellent side dish for a Sunday or Holiday meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      These are the best yams I've ever eaten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Fashioned Candied Yams

    Serving Size: 1 (249 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 305.1
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    17%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 134.7 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.5 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 41.0 g
    164%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes