Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old-Fashioned Cake Doughnuts (Donuts) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old-Fashioned Cake Doughnuts (Donuts)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on September 28, 2010

      These doughnuts were great! It was first time and I did all the non-frying parts with my daughter. She loved the baking process and the doughnuts when they were done. A tad strong on the nutmeg taste, so I may reduce that a bit next time; but definitely worth it. We will be making these again, for sure!
      A few lessons I learned while making these:
      1) Keep the middle hole relatively small as the doughnut tends to look kinda goofy when the hole gets too big
      2) I found on our gas range, that proper frying setting was around 3 1/2 or 4 (around medium-low)
      3) While frying, do not wait for them to turn anything darker than a LIGHT brown, as any darker and they will far to done to taste good

      Once I got those down, they were very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2013

      Chev V, just a fabulous recipe! I have tried all kinds of doughnut recipes, yeast and cake-like, such as this one, and this one is by far the best. The secret to success for these doughnuts is to keep the oil level and temperature just right. I followed the recipe exactly, but since I enjoy vanilla, I added 2 tsp. to the mix, as well as adding 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon. Makes beautiful doughnuts, and the recipe yielded about 22 3-inch ones for me. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2013

      This recipe worked out fairly well for me. The doughnuts came out pretty, and tasted good, though were a bit on the bland side. I used 1 tsp of cinnamon and half a tsp if nutmeg, because I don't care for nutmeg. I think next time I will add a bit more sugar and double the spices. I dipped the doughnuts in a basic powdered sugar glaze. My kids loved them. The dough was easy to handle, and the 360 degree temperature was perfect. I didn't have to scramble to keep them from burning, and they cooked all the way through with no problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2013

      I have been frying doughnuts for more than 60 years using a 150 year old recipe. I made these the other day and can tell you they are delicious. A cast iron spyder is the best for frying. I use both cinnamon and sugar and plain sugar. You can also frost them. I like a chocolate glaze or maple cream frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2014

      Wonderful recipe! I will definitely use this anytime I make donuts. I did swap out cinnamon for nutmeg only because I don't like nutmeg and I added a little vanilla because my family adds vanilla to everything sweet (lol) but I believe the recipe is great as is (if you like nutmeg)----- I made donut holes as well as regular. i made a quick icing with butter, powdered sugar, vanilla and lemon juice for the sprinkles to stick to. YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      Excellent recipe! easy to make,next time i need to cook them a little longer im new at frying...lol but the ones that were cooked all the way were delicious! will make these again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      Wonderful recipe! Relatively easy to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2013

      This is a tasty recipe, but the flavor wasn't quite what I was looking for.... might need some vanilla. These reminded me a lot of the donut holes my mom made as a kid, but her recipe was "cut pop-open biscuits in 1/4's and fry til golden" so her recipe was much less work.<br/><br/>All in all, they were pretty, and golden, with a little crispness (I fried mine til they were a little darker)<br/><br/>A few things I learned - <br/>On my electric range, they were best fried at 6 (10 being High) I used the donut holes to find the right frying temp, so as to get the least amount of wasted dough.<br/><br/>I used a Cut-N-Seal tool to cut the circles (about 3 inches) and a small shot-glass to cut the holes (about 1 inch). DM83737 is right, don't let the holes get too big or they do look a little silly, mine were about as big as you want to let them get.<br/><br/>I think I'll keep playing with your recipe til I get them just right for me :) Great starter recipe, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      I forgot to rate when I submitted my review! Fantastic and easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      This is exactly what we wanted. Nice crispy outer and chewy inner textures. We devoured these plain with apple cider...perfect for a fall day. We let ours get dark, but dipped them in the cider (and next morning, in coffee). Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old-Fashioned Cake Doughnuts (Donuts)

    Serving Size: 1 (1129 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 236.8
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    18%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 37.7 mg
    12%
    Sodium 372.8 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 14.4 g
    57%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites