11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was really good. I loved the fresh herbs. Like another reviewer, mine turned out very moist, some might think overly moist, but I like it that way, so I was happy with it. The only change I made was to add an egg to it, just because that's how I always make my dressing. Thanks Sue for a very tasty recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinda Lu January 30, 2013

I used this for Thanksgiving meal 2009. It was disappointing because it turned out soggy. My breadcrumbs were probably not dry enough so I shouldn't have added all the liquid. Experienced dressing makers probably would have been able to tell, I'm sure. I'm going to try again because I love the fresh herbs. Next time I'll hold the liquid.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mickey in MN January 13, 2010

Great way to do stuffing! I used a packaged bread cube in one dish and homemade soft bread stuffing in another. My guest could not decide which was better. The homemade cube was a softer and more moist dressing, the onions and celery really crunched! The other was just like my family favorite. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauraram.z December 16, 2008

We loved the flavor of this dressing. I halved the butter as we are trying to be healthier and I probably used a higher proportion of vegetables to bread. I didn't find it too moist but let the bread cubes go stale for a couple of days. Next time, I will most likely stir it together more before cooking so the bread holds it together- just personal preference in texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shuzbud January 06, 2015

Just like Mom's! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MechanicalJen May 07, 2009

This too is very similiar to my Grandmother's recipe, and we all still make it. Except, I cook the giblets, grind w/old fashion meat grinder and add to the dressing for wonderful flavor. Instead of broth, I use the stock that i cooked the giblets in, adding celery, carrot onion (whole chunks) to the water. I also stuff the bird and what is left, I cook in a casserole on the side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JKompelien November 27, 2008

This has grown with my family for years, I just thought it was what my Mother did. It has always been great-----------j

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeben November 12, 2008

This has been my cavity stuffing recipe for many years. The only thing that I add to this is an egg. My mother handed this down to me. She was 4th. generation Australian from German settlers who farmed in the Wilpena Pound area of outback South Australia, s many of her recipes had a German twist to them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mooloolaba Denise November 11, 2008

This had just the right ingredients. It was wonderful. Will make again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn August 04, 2008
Old-Fashioned Bread and Celery Dressing