Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old-Fashioned Bread and Celery Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old-Fashioned Bread and Celery Dressing

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2013

      This was really good. I loved the fresh herbs. Like another reviewer, mine turned out very moist, some might think overly moist, but I like it that way, so I was happy with it. The only change I made was to add an egg to it, just because that's how I always make my dressing. Thanks Sue for a very tasty recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      I used this for Thanksgiving meal 2009. It was disappointing because it turned out soggy. My breadcrumbs were probably not dry enough so I shouldn't have added all the liquid. Experienced dressing makers probably would have been able to tell, I'm sure. I'm going to try again because I love the fresh herbs. Next time I'll hold the liquid.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Great way to do stuffing! I used a packaged bread cube in one dish and homemade soft bread stuffing in another. My guest could not decide which was better. The homemade cube was a softer and more moist dressing, the onions and celery really crunched! The other was just like my family favorite. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

    • on May 07, 2009

      Just like Mom's! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      This too is very similiar to my Grandmother's recipe, and we all still make it. Except, I cook the giblets, grind w/old fashion meat grinder and add to the dressing for wonderful flavor. Instead of broth, I use the stock that i cooked the giblets in, adding celery, carrot onion (whole chunks) to the water. I also stuff the bird and what is left, I cook in a casserole on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      This has grown with my family for years, I just thought it was what my Mother did. It has always been great-----------j

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      This has been my cavity stuffing recipe for many years. The only thing that I add to this is an egg. My mother handed this down to me. She was 4th. generation Australian from German settlers who farmed in the Wilpena Pound area of outback South Australia, s many of her recipes had a German twist to them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      This had just the right ingredients. It was wonderful. Will make again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      This is my mom's recipe and I have used it for years! Delicious and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old-Fashioned Bread and Celery Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 234.2
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    45%
    Total Fat 11.9 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 27.1 mg
    9%
    Sodium 606.9 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    turkey broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites