Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old-Fashioned Blueberry Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old-Fashioned Blueberry Muffins

    Average Rating:

    124 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 124

    Sort by:

    • on August 18, 2009

      2005 review: Very nice. I microwaved the butter and milk mixture too, like JillAZ. I also substituted whole wheat pastry flour for regular - not bad at all; not as gritty as regular whole wheat. Thanks for posting! ***updated 2009 - this is one of my go-to recipes still. Just wonderful, easy, and adaptable. I microwave the milk and butter together for a minute in a pyrex measuring cup, mix in the eggs with a fork, add the zest and vanilla, and proceed from there. Too lazy to clean a muffin tin most of the time, so I often bake in a 9x9 or 9x13 pan, for delicious blueberry cake squares. Usually I use lemon zest rather than orange zest, but either are delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      Mmmmmm.... so flavorful and tender and moist with a lovely crisp around the edges! I made this recipe into a loaf of bread because it is so much easier for DH to take with him to share on the jet when he flies. Since I made a loaf, I baked in a 350* oven for 55 minutes. I used buttermilk in place of the regular milk, lemon zest for the orange (as that's what I had on hand), and fresh-picked raspberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      These were very good and more like a mix muffin than most recipes. I did a batch and a half and it made a dozen giant muffins. I didn't have muffin cups so sprayed the tin and it stuck some so will make sure I buy some for next time (there will be a next time). I melted the butter in the microwave and then added it to the milk with the vanilla and used lemon peel since I didn't have any orange. Then I didn't need to wait for it to cool. I also made a topping of sugar, butter and flour, brown sugar and oatmeal and put that on before I baked it. These were very good, don't pass this up! Thanks for recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      These muffins have the most beautiful crown! This is definitely my new favorite recipe!!! They have the perfect texture and are so easy to whip up. Now I just hope they'll pass the day-old test.... I have a feeling they will. Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      Yummy! Followed the directions to a T. It was a bit runny until I cooked it and it turned out perfect! I even had enough to put in a small casserole dish. Cooked it 3 mins longer. Excellent recipe! THANX!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      I followed the recipe to a T and we all loved these. They were good and easy to make. The mixture seemed runny when I put it in the oven but they baked up nice. Mine were done in 15 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2010

      One of the best. I used brown sugar and vanilla sugar from Europe !! Excellent Recipe !!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      I love, love, love these muffins! Thank you for sharing the recipe. We have them for breakfast at least once a week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      *Reviewed for Zaar World Tour 3* We enjoyed these muffins. Decided to make them as I had a bag of frozen blueberries.Very glad that I did. Followed the other reviewers and used the microwave for Step 1. Easy to make and great to eat. Made 12 great muffins. This recipe will be a keeper for us. Evelyn- Thanks for sharing such a great recipe. Photo also being posted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2012

      I got 19 regular sized muffins (and baked them for 12 minutes). But this is very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      These were lovely muffins. So tender! Made as directed but didn't have quite enough blueberries so I made a few of them with chopped up strawberries. They were very good as well just not quite the flavour of the blueberry ones. I also thought (after the fact) that I would have been fine with the one cup of blueberries that I did have. They vanished within 36 hours and I'm embarrassed to say that there are only two of us in the house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2012

      I have made this recipe many times and it always comes out perfect! I make it one time with lemon zest and the next time with orange. Either way--thrilled to have it in my collection!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2012

      Very very good! I used Splenda for half of the sugar, I had mostly raspberries with just a few blue berries.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2010

      WOW, these came out just like your pic. and they really are good. the recipe is easy peasy... thanks so much this is exactly what I was looking for!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2010

      Really, Really good. Will be making these again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2014

      These muffins have a good taste to them but they are very heavy and dense. I think I would enjoy it more as a loaf rather than a muffin. Like some other reviewers I substituted the orange zest with lemon zest, it compliments blueberry very nicely! Will definitely make the recipe again using a loaf pan, it should be perfect with coffee for my husband before work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2014

    • on May 29, 2014

      I made these with 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour subbed for flour. Very good and moist. Used lemon zest instead of orange because that's what was on hand. Microwaved the butter, added the milk and proceeded with recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2013

      Absolutely delightful! Added the juice of the orange in addition to the rind. Good move.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2013

      Wonderful muffins. Made as written except using lemon zest and frozen blueberries. Got 17 regular sized muffins to enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old-Fashioned Blueberry Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (1104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 229.7
     
    Calories from Fat 85
    37%
    Total Fat 9.4 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 54.1 mg
    18%
    Sodium 311.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 14.4 g
    57%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes