126 Reviews

2005 review: Very nice. I microwaved the butter and milk mixture too, like JillAZ. I also substituted whole wheat pastry flour for regular - not bad at all; not as gritty as regular whole wheat. Thanks for posting! ***updated 2009 - this is one of my go-to recipes still. Just wonderful, easy, and adaptable. I microwave the milk and butter together for a minute in a pyrex measuring cup, mix in the eggs with a fork, add the zest and vanilla, and proceed from there. Too lazy to clean a muffin tin most of the time, so I often bake in a 9x9 or 9x13 pan, for delicious blueberry cake squares. Usually I use lemon zest rather than orange zest, but either are delicious!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mymble August 18, 2009

Mmmmmm.... so flavorful and tender and moist with a lovely crisp around the edges! I made this recipe into a loaf of bread because it is so much easier for DH to take with him to share on the jet when he flies. Since I made a loaf, I baked in a 350* oven for 55 minutes. I used buttermilk in place of the regular milk, lemon zest for the orange (as that's what I had on hand), and fresh-picked raspberries.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs August 23, 2011

These were very good and more like a mix muffin than most recipes. I did a batch and a half and it made a dozen giant muffins. I didn't have muffin cups so sprayed the tin and it stuck some so will make sure I buy some for next time (there will be a next time). I melted the butter in the microwave and then added it to the milk with the vanilla and used lemon peel since I didn't have any orange. Then I didn't need to wait for it to cool. I also made a topping of sugar, butter and flour, brown sugar and oatmeal and put that on before I baked it. These were very good, don't pass this up! Thanks for recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BMac August 31, 2009

These muffins have the most beautiful crown! This is definitely my new favorite recipe!!! They have the perfect texture and are so easy to whip up. Now I just hope they'll pass the day-old test.... I have a feeling they will. Thanks for the keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz February 24, 2012

Yummy! Followed the directions to a T. It was a bit runny until I cooked it and it turned out perfect! I even had enough to put in a small casserole dish. Cooked it 3 mins longer. Excellent recipe! THANX!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iliketobehugged July 27, 2011

I followed the recipe to a T and we all loved these. They were good and easy to make. The mixture seemed runny when I put it in the oven but they baked up nice. Mine were done in 15 minutes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol July 14, 2011

One of the best. I used brown sugar and vanilla sugar from Europe !! Excellent Recipe !!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oberdes September 15, 2010

I love, love, love these muffins! Thank you for sharing the recipe. We have them for breakfast at least once a week.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crittermama99 March 02, 2010

*Reviewed for Zaar World Tour 3* We enjoyed these muffins. Decided to make them as I had a bag of frozen blueberries.Very glad that I did. Followed the other reviewers and used the microwave for Step 1. Easy to make and great to eat. Made 12 great muffins. This recipe will be a keeper for us. Evelyn- Thanks for sharing such a great recipe. Photo also being posted.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** July 10, 2007

I got 19 regular sized muffins (and baked them for 12 minutes). But this is very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes December 19, 2012
Old-Fashioned Blueberry Muffins