Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Fashioned Beef Stew for Your Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Fashioned Beef Stew for Your Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on September 30, 2009

      Thanks Bev - I'm not overly experienced with making meat stews, so couldn't say if this was really old fashioned or not (someone else mentioned it not the type of beef stew they were used to), I'd say this is the best one I've made. The end result was tasty and your quantities are bang on*. Browning the meat is a little time consuming, but I think worth it. *After reading some of the reviews I added about a cup of water to the crock pot...the gravy was the perfect consistency. I actually made two batches, one to freeze. I couldn't fit it all in one so in the one batch I used russet potatoes and the other batch I used a more waxy red potato. I'd say the russets worked best since they break down a little in the gravy. The only thing that seemed to be missing was garlic...but maybe that's just me. Thanks Bev - I'm sure I'll make this for the meat eaters in my house again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2010

      Wondefully enjoyed.I did 3 cups potato and added half cup low sodium beef broth for more gravy.Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      This was good, but a lot more tomato tasting than I expected, and it was thick. It was a good stew, but didn't taste like beef stew to me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Great stew recipe! I used low sodium V-8 juice for the flavor. Other than that I made as posted but I did add in 1 c. frozen peas. This was enjoyed by all and we will have it again when the cooler weather gets here. Delicious! Thanks for sharing this recipe Bev!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Maybe something went terribly awry, but ours turned out thick and overpowerigly tasting of tomato. This showed such promise, with the reviews, but the flavor and texture just didn't work for us. Sorry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      This was great. I never would have thought of putting tomato juice in a stew. I used V-8 and a pound of beef. More or less just dumped everything in the crock pot and let it run on low all day. YUM.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      I have tried quite a few crock pot beef stews over the years, and for one reason or another we couldn't agree on one that we liked--until now! We really liked this. (Yes, a crazy time of year to make stew in Georgia, but I had some meat to use up.) Thanks for this keeper, Bev!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      This beef stew was easy to throw together and tasty to eat. I used lean beef stew meat, fresh green beans, and dried herbs, but otherwise followed the recipe pretty exactly. I found the prep to be maybe 30 minutes, but I wasn't too exact about anything. Left it in the crockpot all day on low and came home after dd's ballet class to dinner ready and waiting. Served it with corn muffins. Thanks Bev!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2003

      Excellent recipe! I only had about 1-1/2 cups of V8, so made up the rest of the liquid with water, and also added some frozen peas (I needed to use up an open bag). Just before serving I thickened the gravy with some cornstarch, and served the stew with crusty wheat rolls. A very hearty stew with good flavor - I highly recommend. Thanks for posting! -M :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2003

      Bev, my hat is off to you for posting this recipe. It was full of flavor. There was no Prep Time given. It does take about 40 minutes to brown the beef and cut up the vegetables. For those who don't have that much time in the morning, I recommend making this the night before if you have a removal liner in your crockpot. This way all you have to do is place the liner in your crockpot and turn it on. You are good to go. Also, to save time you can buy frozen stew vegetables. I did add 2 cups of the green beans, corn and carrots. I then added about 1 more cup of vegetable juice to my 6 quart Rival Slow Cooker. I had six people to feed tonight. I highly recommend this recipe. I served it with side salad, homemade herb bread and Mizz Nezz Yellow Lemony Cake #46672 topped off with strawberries and whip cream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2013

    • on March 09, 2007

      This is the best beef stew I have ever made or had. I did make minor changes. I added an extra teaspoon of worcestershire sauce and about another cup of potatoes. I also added celery. In addition, I wasn't sure if my crockpot would be big enough for the amount that I made (8 servings), so I cooked mine in a dutch oven on low heat for approx. 7 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2006

      I got a late start on this but 5 hours on the high setting worked great. We like ours a little thinner so I added another cup of veggie juice & 1 more tsp. each of beef bouillon & worcestershire sauce. Also increased the pepper to give some bite. Thanks for this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      Most excellent recipe! DH said " It hit the spot" I added a can of diced tomatoes to this and fried my beef in bacon grease and it made for a wonderful dish at supper. Our house sure had a great aroma all day and I was so hungry by supper time. Thanks so much for sharing this amazing crockpot recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2006

      Wonderful! I've been looking for a beef stew recipe for the crockpot, and this was just great. I didn't have tomato juice, so I used a can of diced tomatoes and a can of tomato sauce instead. My 10-year old even liked it, and she's a fussy eater! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2006

      This was very very good. My kids hate veggies, so it didn't go over so big with them, but who cares. I am following Weight Watchers again, and it is 8 points per serving. If I had eliminated the oil, I think it would be much lower. Anyway, the recipe was great and it worked well for me. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Fashioned Beef Stew for Your Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (546 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 391.1
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    26%
    Total Fat 11.5 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 65.9 mg
    21%
    Sodium 530.5 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 6.6 g
    26%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 30.6 g
    61%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh marjoram

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites