16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks Bev - I'm not overly experienced with making meat stews, so couldn't say if this was really old fashioned or not (someone else mentioned it not the type of beef stew they were used to), I'd say this is the best one I've made. The end result was tasty and your quantities are bang on*. Browning the meat is a little time consuming, but I think worth it. *After reading some of the reviews I added about a cup of water to the crock pot...the gravy was the perfect consistency. I actually made two batches, one to freeze. I couldn't fit it all in one so in the one batch I used russet potatoes and the other batch I used a more waxy red potato. I'd say the russets worked best since they break down a little in the gravy. The only thing that seemed to be missing was garlic...but maybe that's just me. Thanks Bev - I'm sure I'll make this for the meat eaters in my house again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner September 30, 2009

Wondefully enjoyed.I did 3 cups potato and added half cup low sodium beef broth for more gravy.Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef313633 September 29, 2010

This was good, but a lot more tomato tasting than I expected, and it was thick. It was a good stew, but didn't taste like beef stew to me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Hughes January 27, 2009

Great stew recipe! I used low sodium V-8 juice for the flavor. Other than that I made as posted but I did add in 1 c. frozen peas. This was enjoyed by all and we will have it again when the cooler weather gets here. Delicious! Thanks for sharing this recipe Bev!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karens2kids June 29, 2008

Maybe something went terribly awry, but ours turned out thick and overpowerigly tasting of tomato. This showed such promise, with the reviews, but the flavor and texture just didn't work for us. Sorry.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NavyWife'nMom February 10, 2008

This was great. I never would have thought of putting tomato juice in a stew. I used V-8 and a pound of beef. More or less just dumped everything in the crock pot and let it run on low all day. YUM.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dicentra October 08, 2007

I have tried quite a few crock pot beef stews over the years, and for one reason or another we couldn't agree on one that we liked--until now! We really liked this. (Yes, a crazy time of year to make stew in Georgia, but I had some meat to use up.) Thanks for this keeper, Bev!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Transplant August 30, 2007

This beef stew was easy to throw together and tasty to eat. I used lean beef stew meat, fresh green beans, and dried herbs, but otherwise followed the recipe pretty exactly. I found the prep to be maybe 30 minutes, but I wasn't too exact about anything. Left it in the crockpot all day on low and came home after dd's ballet class to dinner ready and waiting. Served it with corn muffins. Thanks Bev!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
helowy February 08, 2007

Excellent recipe! I only had about 1-1/2 cups of V8, so made up the rest of the liquid with water, and also added some frozen peas (I needed to use up an open bag). Just before serving I thickened the gravy with some cornstarch, and served the stew with crusty wheat rolls. A very hearty stew with good flavor - I highly recommend. Thanks for posting! -M :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Scheffert November 17, 2003

Bev, my hat is off to you for posting this recipe. It was full of flavor. There was no Prep Time given. It does take about 40 minutes to brown the beef and cut up the vegetables. For those who don't have that much time in the morning, I recommend making this the night before if you have a removal liner in your crockpot. This way all you have to do is place the liner in your crockpot and turn it on. You are good to go. Also, to save time you can buy frozen stew vegetables. I did add 2 cups of the green beans, corn and carrots. I then added about 1 more cup of vegetable juice to my 6 quart Rival Slow Cooker. I had six people to feed tonight. I highly recommend this recipe. I served it with side salad, homemade herb bread and Mizz Nezz Yellow Lemony Cake #46672 topped off with strawberries and whip cream.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M August 20, 2003
Old Fashioned Beef Stew for Your Crock Pot