Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Fashioned Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 19, 2008

      We thought this was really good and had good flavor. I reduced the meat to 1 lb and took out the tomatoes, then added mushrooms and zuchini in the last 5 minutes of cooking. It could have used a bit more salt, but other than that we really really liked this! Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Yummy comfort food! I added mushrooms and red wine. I left out the potatoes but served this over mashed potatoes. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT 6.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      I served it with Mamaliga and a good beef stew is something I always enjoy. Quite similar to the way I make it usually,I just don't like to thicken it. I let it boil without the lid on until it gets just the way I like it. Made for ZWT6.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      Delicious! I left out the celery and used tomato paste since that was what I had on hand. I really liked having tender meat without mushy veggies :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      Great stew! We were really in the mood for some good comfort food after making lots of different tour recipes. This was a huge hit at our house. I made this as directed and it was easy and good. Thanks mama for another good keeper. Made for ZWT4 Family Picks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      I added cabbage and broccoli and used cornstarch to thicken. Itis the perfect classic beef stew. I didn't know it was so easy. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2006

      Very yummy - I didn't cook for 3 hours as, well, we were hungry. Served with fresh crusty Italian bread. I'm eating the leftovers for lunch right now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

      I love, love love this! I ommited the cheese on the bread but still served it with toasted bread. Delicious! I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Fashioned Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (418 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 315.0
     
    Calories from Fat 122
    38%
    Total Fat 13.6 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 65.7 mg
    21%
    Sodium 624.5 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 27.3 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes