Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Fashioned Banana Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Fashioned Banana Pudding

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on July 04, 2002

      This was a last minute addition to our Zaar Week Cookathon/4th of July festivities per my FIL's request. It is the best banana pudding I have ever tasted. So much better than those that use pudding mix. This is the real deal as far as we are concerned. 5-stars from all my guests. My FIL gave it 10 but he really likes banana pudding. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2002

      Very, very good. Very easy, too. I used 3 bananas, and wasn't sure on the amount of wafers to use, so I used about half of a 250-gram box. This seems to have worked well. My hubby and I both loved it and I know I will be making this often. I served it unadorned, but I bet the addition of a dab of whipped cream would be the crowning touch. Thanks for posting this "old fashioned" winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2002

      Simply out of this world. I made this as a surprise for my dad. This is his favorite dessert ever. It turned out even better than my expectations. The pudding was rich and creamy. It was so easy to assemble. I served it warm with some fresh whipped cream. YUMMY STUFF. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2002

      Thanks Nurse Di. This is my husband's favorite dessert and I always thought it would be difficult to make. Very wrong. This was surprisingly easy and the taste was to die for. Creamy pudding with ripe bananas and nilla wafers. Just like mom used to make. Thanks for giving two displaced southerners a real treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2002

      I made this Monday night late and put it in the fridge and then had my neighbors over for a snack Tuesday night. Today is Wednesday. There's none left! LOL! This was fabulous and a breeze to make, and delicious served chilled. Gonna make another one Sunday at the request of a little 3 year old and his mother. Thank you for a great treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2002

      This is a really great banana pudding. I hardly ever make it because I have always used meringe on top. I love this recipe because it tastes like old fashioned banana pudding without going to the trouble of putting meringe on top. Everyone should try this--it is so yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      Made this for work - next time I will double the recipe bc everyone loved it! Made the following changes: 1/2 cup sugar, 2 eggs, 12 oz evap milk, 4 oz 2% milk, more vanilla than called for, topped with homemade whipped cream. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      Yummy! I'm eating this right now still warm and creamy goodness. I used a 1 1/2 quart round Corelle dish and had enough to make two layers of everything using 4 bananas. Since I had not made this before without a prepackaged pudding mix, I didnt change anything and wanted to see how it turned out as written. Dont think there is much need for any changes...may add butter next time per some previous suggestions I read. Also, I sprinkled the top with some crushed wafers & I did use the mini-wafers which were perfect bite size. The only thing I would suggest would be maybe a little expansion on the directions of the recipe itself, particularly for those (like me) who had not made it without a pudding mix. I was unsure how "cook until thickened" actually was (approximately how long). Also, I wasnt sure about pouring the mixture hot, directly after cooking or wait until it cooled and maybe thickened a bit more. I know this seems like a couple silly questions, but they cropped up for me during preparation. I did go to the forums and got a pretty quick answer to go ahead and pour it. I did read all the reviews and noticed a few people mentioning the pudding being "lumpy". I didnt have that problem at all, just whisked continously while cooking and the pudding was very smooth and creamy. One thing for sure, I'll never use a box pudding mix again to make this. Thanks for sharing a really easy and tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2003

      This is the way banana pudding should taste. I layered the wafers, bananas and pudding in a 1 1/2 quart corningwear dish. I had enough pudding for two layers. Three medium sized bananas was just right. I have eaten banana pudding with Cool Whip or meringue topping but I personally like it without. We ate it warm, right out of the oven and it was fabulous. My husband ate the leftovers cold right out of the fridge and he loved it. Thanks for this incredible recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2002

      This stuff is GOLD!!! Thanks for one of the best new recipes in my collection.I chilled this in the fridge and served it for dessert to the family.WOW!!WE all LOVED it.Thanks NurseDi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2013

      By far the best banana pudding recipe on food.com have tried other recipes but this is the best recipe yet! The only thing I did different was I used only egg yolks and not the whites this makes a more creamy and smooth texture. Will be using this recipe from now on. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      YUUUUUM!!!! So easy and soooo good! I used an 8'8 pan. Layered it like it said (wafers on the bottom, then a layer of sliced banana, then poured custard on top). Let mine cool to room temp, chilled it in the frig for a few hours, scooped individually, topped with canned ready whip and a few wafer crumbs... AHHHH-MAZING! This BEYOND "hit the spot". Thank you for a recipe i'll use for the rest of my life!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2012

      This pudding is easy, delicious, and just right for an old fashioned banana pudding recipe. The only changes I made was reducing the sugar to 3/4 cup and adding 3 teaspoons of vanilla instead of 1. A combination of cooking on low heat while whisking ensured that the pudding came out perfectly. It was not lumpy of grainy as others have stated. I am very happy with this recipe. No more boxed cook and serve pudding for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      This was my first time making Banana Pudding without using a boxed pudding mix. Although it takes a little more time, it is well worth the extra effort. I read many reviews before making this and only made a few minor changes. I followed the advice of the other reviewers and I cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup, which was a good choice because the pudding seemed like it was just right. I cooked the pudding on 5(Medium-Low) on my stove for about 15 minutes but I think if I could change anything I would have cooked it just a tad bit longer because it was a tiny bit grainy, but not too noticeable, next time I will just cook it a little longer. I layerd the pudding, banana and wafers as called for. I am not fond of meringue so for the topping I put full wafers around the edges and crushed wafers on top (see my photos above ) This is definitely a good recipe that has a permanent home in my cook book :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      This recipe is wonderful! I made it using whole milk and 2/3 cup of sugar. Since I used my stovetop whisk while cooking (and continuously stirred), there were no lumps; the pudding thickened in about 11 minutes of cooking. I made sure to use really ripe bananas (4 of them) for the layers. For the actual layering, I placed bananas on the bottom, half of the pudding, a single layer of wafers, more bananas, the remaining pudding, and wafers only around the edge (see picture I submitted). I really appreciate having a recipe that does not use meringue, since I personally do not like meringue. I purchased whipped cream to put on top, but it was so good I forgot about it until after we ate it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2003

      My husband and I love banana pudding and given all the favorable reviews, I thought I'd give this one a try! The recipe was easy to follow and I also followed the recommendations of another reviewer and used a 1 1/2 quart round Pyrex dish. I used 3 1/2 bananas and had enough for 2 layers. My only change would be to reduce the amount of sugar in the custard, as it was a bit too sweet for our palate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      I've been wanting Banana Pudding, and when I saw this recipe where I didn't have to separate the eggs I knew that this was the one. I made a small dessert so I had about a quarter of a full recipe of pudding left over, I'll deal with that later. I beat the eggs and sugar together until the color lightened, used canned evaporated milk, and used the double boiler method to cook and thicken the pudding. I made mine with Cinnamon Sugared Graham Crackers. Since I had so much extra pudding I used as much as I could between the layers. I also used a little extra salt (1/8 teaspoon) to counter the sweetness that other posters mentioned. The proof is in the pudding and this is a darn good pudding! I'll be using the pudding in other desserts for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      Fantastic recipe! Hubby said it tasted just like his morher's, and that made me very happy as I was trying to give him some of his past back. :-) I like that the recipe uses the whole egg, and does not call for merengue (bleh)! Took about 12 minutes to thicken. Did not change a single, solitary thing (very unlike me), and the custard came out smooth and just the right consistency. I highly recommend this recipe to anyone who's every had Banana Pudding growing up and wants to recapture some of their past.....or, anyone who just wants a totally nummy and very easy dessert! Thank you for posting this winning recipe,

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2012

      Consistency was beautiful, but it's too sweet as is. On my second attempt, I added only half the sugar, which tasted better but didn't set. BTW, it's easier to whip the pudding smooth if you combine the cornstarch into the sugar before adding the eggs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      Amazing recipe - I just made one change, whcih was mashing the bananas into the pudding mix to just make it more integrated - delish!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Fashioned Banana Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 281.4
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    17%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 104.3 mg
    34%
    Sodium 102.4 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.2 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 40.6 g
    162%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites