176 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

At the advice of my mom, I decided to make this for my Survivor group last night. It was a hit. I found it very easy to make. My only problem was that I didn't make enough. I thought one pie would be sufficient for 6 people, but as most everyone wanted seconds I should have made two. Thanks for sharing Lennie.

42 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber Dawn May 18, 2002

Excellent pie. Easy to make and delicious. My kids love puddings too, so I can see we will be making this in all its pudding variations as well: vanilla, coconut or banana. Almost as easy as pudding out of the box but much tastier! Update..this was so good I couldn't wait to try it again as a coconut cream pie. My daughter suggested I cover top with plastic wrap as it cooled and top it with whipped cream before serving. Divine!

36 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W April 14, 2002

Easy and very good. I added the coconut for a great banana-coconut cream pie-good reviews from the lucky ones who got to sample it before I finished it off.

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cozette April 05, 2002

Excellent! I paired this with Miss Annie’s Weepless Meringue, and it was a Huge hit at our house. DD loved it and told me at least twice how good it was. Easy to make, next time I’d like to try making the coconut cream pie, with toasted coconut on top of the meringue…mmm. This is a Definite Keeper, thank-you.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa M May 06, 2002

This was our 'grand finale' to the 'zaar cookout. and my Hubby couldnt stop raving aout it. Deliciously creamy and easy to make. I added whipped cream to the top before serving. Thanks Lennie for another winner.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* June 30, 2002

Oh boy, this was sooooo good. I would've never imagined myself making such a seductive pie. The custard was so comforting. I made this for a crowd of five, and there is not leftover! Ok, so my waist line may be in danger, but comfort food doesn't get any better than this. I didn't make the meringue because I used leftover yolks. But I did serve it with whipped cream and more slices of banana on top. My kid even drizzle some chocolate sauce on top (she really takes after mommy) :0) thank you for the reciope!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Izzy Knight June 02, 2002

Great tasting pie!! And it's the first pie I have ever made!! Yes I cheated, I bought a premade pie crust....hehehe. I did change one thing though..., i mashed one large banana and added it to the custard mixture, just to add a little more flavour. I think it made quite a difference. I too topped it with Miss Annie's Weepless Meringue. Went great!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenManiac January 26, 2003

I have tried several recipes recently looking for the perfect banana cream combo. Well, I have found it! The filling is so creamy and lightly flavored so it doesn't overpower the bananas. After I chilled the pie, I slathered on a thin layer of cool whip and some grated chocolate for color. Warning to others, if you are making this pie for any more than 3 or 4 people, make 2. If you don't you will wish you did!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Malriah July 28, 2002

very good and very easy! i made the coconut cream pie - and everyone loved it!! will definetly make again!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elliebelle June 03, 2002

Fantastic recipe. Easy and delicious. We sprinkled pecan pieces on top for a little crunch.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meanie Queenie May 30, 2002
Old-Fashioned Banana Cream Pie