17 Reviews

This was just like the ripe pudding we always had at home, even a bit closer than the recipe I've been using, I think...creamy but not mushy, with a nice balance between the different flavors. I used a 9x13 pan and doubled the recipe (well, I tripled the amount of rice because we were in the mood for something more solid than custard-y this time, and didn't quite double the sugar). Next time I'll add a bit of orange zest along with the cinnamon, too ~ we love it that way. The only hard part is waiting for it to come out of the oven! The kids have already finished off half the pan and are asking if I will make it again tomorrow....I just might! ;o) Thanks for posting a classic.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winkki January 22, 2006

As far as classic comfort food goes, it does not get better than this! Creamy, luscious and sweet as candy. I have made this multiple times and I have adjusted the amount sugar down to a 1/4 cup plus one tablespoon. Using the Bain Marie method does enhance the creamy texture, I have tried doing it with and without the water bath. My mom approved of this recipe and she did not approve of much.=) Thanks for posting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit_Kat May 08, 2013

This is great..it only took an hour to cook but I used quite a shallow pan so that may have been why..I also added the raisins..brought back lots of childhood memories..thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* June 01, 2005

A wonderful recipe, but instead of raisins I used dried cherries! A wonderful comfort food for sure!! Thank you for a nice recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michEgan May 13, 2010

Made this today, we all liked it especially mom. No raisins, i hate them. I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Genevieve July 21, 2008

This was an excellent rice pudding. I wasnt quite sure about the texture at first, but once I ate it found it to be wonderful. I used a round quart dish and followed recipe exactly. Didnt add rasins cuz I dont like them. Thanks :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
omm nadia April 22, 2006

Very good....a bit sweet for us. Will reduce sugar next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjchadbo December 09, 2005

This is beyond a 5 star recipe, in my opinion. It was wonderful, and I love rice puddings. My great grandmother use to make a creamy pudding, but this one was the one that caught my eye, and boy am I glad it did! I tripled the recipe (if you can believe that) and put it in a 9x13-inch baking dish and it was almost overflowing. I had to be careful putting it in another dish of hot water, and then placing it in the oven. I was very frustrated, because I had spilled a little out (which isnt the recipes fault, but my own), and was wondering if it was worth all the mess I created, but I wasnt disappointed when I pulled it out of the oven and had a bowl. Everyone here loved it, and I will be making this again! THank you so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*Miss Diggy*~ June 15, 2004

This is a very good recipe for using that left over rice. I love the custard like texture. I did have to cook it a little longer than the 90 minutes, but I really think that is because I didn't have quite enough rice. I will be using this recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen April 06, 2004

16 reviews with 5 stars!! unbelieveable! I got laughed out of a potluck because this rice pudding was so bad! Heard them say it would have made a great door stop! When I got home, checked Betty Crocker recipe to compare. Funny, ingredients were the same except for scalded milk, called for regular milk, only difference was time spent in oven, Betty Crocker said 50 minutes, this recipe said 90 minutes...hmmmmm! Interesting! Never again will I chose a recipe from this website.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nightlily July 14, 2015
Old Fashioned Baked Rice Pudding