Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Fashioned Baked Rice Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Fashioned Baked Rice Pudding

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on May 08, 2013

      As far as classic comfort food goes, it does not get better than this! Creamy, luscious and sweet as candy. I have made this multiple times and I have adjusted the amount sugar down to a 1/4 cup plus one tablespoon. Using the Bain Marie method does enhance the creamy texture, I have tried doing it with and without the water bath. My mom approved of this recipe and she did not approve of much.=) Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      This was just like the ripe pudding we always had at home, even a bit closer than the recipe I've been using, I think...creamy but not mushy, with a nice balance between the different flavors. I used a 9x13 pan and doubled the recipe (well, I tripled the amount of rice because we were in the mood for something more solid than custard-y this time, and didn't quite double the sugar). Next time I'll add a bit of orange zest along with the cinnamon, too ~ we love it that way. The only hard part is waiting for it to come out of the oven! The kids have already finished off half the pan and are asking if I will make it again tomorrow....I just might! ;o) Thanks for posting a classic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2005

      This is great..it only took an hour to cook but I used quite a shallow pan so that may have been why..I also added the raisins..brought back lots of childhood memories..thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      A wonderful recipe, but instead of raisins I used dried cherries! A wonderful comfort food for sure!! Thank you for a nice recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      Made this today, we all liked it especially mom. No raisins, i hate them. I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2006

      This was an excellent rice pudding. I wasnt quite sure about the texture at first, but once I ate it found it to be wonderful. I used a round quart dish and followed recipe exactly. Didnt add rasins cuz I dont like them. Thanks :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2005

      Very good....a bit sweet for us. Will reduce sugar next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2004

      This is beyond a 5 star recipe, in my opinion. It was wonderful, and I love rice puddings. My great grandmother use to make a creamy pudding, but this one was the one that caught my eye, and boy am I glad it did! I tripled the recipe (if you can believe that) and put it in a 9x13-inch baking dish and it was almost overflowing. I had to be careful putting it in another dish of hot water, and then placing it in the oven. I was very frustrated, because I had spilled a little out (which isnt the recipes fault, but my own), and was wondering if it was worth all the mess I created, but I wasnt disappointed when I pulled it out of the oven and had a bowl. Everyone here loved it, and I will be making this again! THank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2004

      This is a very good recipe for using that left over rice. I love the custard like texture. I did have to cook it a little longer than the 90 minutes, but I really think that is because I didn't have quite enough rice. I will be using this recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      This was so good, just like my grandma's...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      Fantastic !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Great recipe. I accidentally overcooked by about 15 minutes and it was still delicious! Loved the custard top. The pudding was nice and creamy. The only thing I added was a dash of nutmeg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      I love the old fashioned 'cofort' desserts...rice pudding, bread pudding, cobblers, crisps etc. I found this recipe to really be tasty! I enjoyed it very much, and am sure I will enjoy it again in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2005

      I WILL NEVER BUY RICE PUDDING AT THE GROCERY AGAIN!! Absolutely SUPERB rice pudding :-) Our family just devoured it..Thanks Wendy :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2004

      Hehe I can't rate this yet because I am about to make it (just cooking rice first). So maybe you'll get a rating If its good! :) I'm sure it's wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Fashioned Baked Rice Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (166 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 319.9
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    13%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 81.8 mg
    27%
    Sodium 163.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.0 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 24.0 g
    96%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites