10 Reviews

Absolutely FANTASTIC!!!! My daughter calls this "Fudgy cake" and everyone else just asks for more! Rich and tons of chocolate flavor. Old fashioned goodness! This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKsahm April 12, 2008

This is similar to what we have been calling a Texas Cake for years. It is super rich, chocolate and my kids favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG December 29, 2007

Oh it is sooooo good! Very moist, chocolaty. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NatWadel September 05, 2005

This is like my mom's Sigma Kai sheet cake recipe. I love this cake!!! Have been eating this since I can remember. Very moist , very rich ... have a tall glass of ice cold milk with you as you eat it!! *LOL*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marlene. February 24, 2005

This recipe is the same as the TEXAS SHEETCAKE, which is always good!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grumpy adams February 23, 2005

I was in the middle of making this when I noticed the amount of water was left out. It was in the instructions to add it but no amount. I decided to leave it other assuming the other reviewers did the same. It did not effect this cake at all. The cake turned out moist and fudgey. It is a very good cake base, the frosting I loved but is very sweet so if your a sweet lover do not change the frosting. Thanks for sharing this recipe it was wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pumpkie February 22, 2005

Oh, Kitty, this is the neatest cake! Turned out nice and moist, and soooo chocolatey! Fudgie, even! Followed your directions, and used soured milk in place of the buttermilk. Worked great! This one goes to the top of my favorites list! Thanks for a lovely recipe. Made in your honor cause you're a sick girl ... Get all better, Hon. We miss you. Laudee

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee December 14, 2004

Served this for cake and coffee this evening and they really enjoyed this Old Fashioned Sheet Cake. I agree with peppermintkitty, it is rich, moist and fudgy. A very good sheet cake that is on my keeper list.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry October 27, 2004

Great recipe! Easy to make, & very rich & chocolatey. I like to mix the cocoa with the dry ingredients rather than with the wet ones. It's just a bit easier that way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy from Hawaii March 29, 2004

I am giving it only 3 stars because you left out some main ingredients. Like how many eggs to use and how much cocoa to use in the cake mix. I only made half the recipe because that would have been to much cake for just my husband and I. When I made the cake I didn't put any cocoa in the cake mix and I put in 1 (one) egg. Other then that the cakes was a real success. My husband loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlleyKat November 10, 2003
Old Fashion Sheet Cake