31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I think I did something wrong....mine came out all chewy and dry. Although the flavor was good (I was missing the vanilla so I skipped it - could that be what I did wrong?) I'm not such a good baker, so probably something I did wrong....

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alohanoa November 25, 2011

absolutely awesome! Made this for thanksgiving, and my guests adored it (and, ps, ate the whole thing)! on a side note, I'll be doubling the filling to make a fuller pie - great recipe, thank you, Nimz!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodieNJ December 06, 2011

Loved it! Served up with a dollop of fresh whipped cream, it can't be beat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wholelottagall January 28, 2010

yummy yummy pie

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marykandjewelry2 October 31, 2006

LOVED IT! I've always wanted to try buttermilk pie and now I'm so glad I did! This is pure comfort food and I loved the crunchy top. I also loved how quick and easy it was to make. For a standard 9" homemade crust, need to increase filling by at least 50%.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup May 31, 2014

WOW! Loved it. Texture was great. Had that umpf I was looking for in a pie. Made with the no roll pie crust. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeideive September 17, 2009

Excellent Southern dessert, Nimz. Took me back to my Grands house and Sunday dinner. Wish I could have gotten a picture of a slice--none left to shoot! Best compliment you could get. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks September 13, 2009

ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL PIE, & I've got a real sweet tooth, so that didn't bother me at all! This is definitely something different for us, & it was most enjoyable! DEFINITELY A KEEPER of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 28, 2009

This was interesting. I've never had it before, so was unsure how it was supposed to turn out. I followed the suggestion of some reviews, to reduce the sugar to 1 Cup. it was still extremely sweet. It was easy to make, and had a nice contrasting texture from the top layer to the bottom layer. My family thought it was fine, but not a favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imatrad April 21, 2009

I had never made a buttermilk pie b4, but will make this again. I was mainly interested in the custard filling as ready-made pie shells are not available here. I made the filling as written & baked it in a rd Pyrex dish. It is a very easy quick-fix w/a perfect texture & lovely crunch on top, but a bit sweet for us. I will prob reduce the sugar by 1/4 cup & bake in mini-tartlett shells I can buy as a sml but perfect sweet treat. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us & CONGRATS on your Wk 8 Football Pool win. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis November 03, 2008
Old Fashion Buttermilk Pie