Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Fashion Buttermilk Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Fashion Buttermilk Pie

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on November 25, 2011

      I think I did something wrong....mine came out all chewy and dry. Although the flavor was good (I was missing the vanilla so I skipped it - could that be what I did wrong?) I'm not such a good baker, so probably something I did wrong....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2011

      absolutely awesome! Made this for thanksgiving, and my guests adored it (and, ps, ate the whole thing)! on a side note, I'll be doubling the filling to make a fuller pie - great recipe, thank you, Nimz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      Loved it! Served up with a dollop of fresh whipped cream, it can't be beat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      yummy yummy pie

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2014

      LOVED IT! I've always wanted to try buttermilk pie and now I'm so glad I did! This is pure comfort food and I loved the crunchy top. I also loved how quick and easy it was to make. For a standard 9" homemade crust, need to increase filling by at least 50%.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      WOW! Loved it. Texture was great. Had that umpf I was looking for in a pie. Made with the no roll pie crust. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      Excellent Southern dessert, Nimz. Took me back to my Grands house and Sunday dinner. Wish I could have gotten a picture of a slice--none left to shoot! Best compliment you could get. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL PIE, & I've got a real sweet tooth, so that didn't bother me at all! This is definitely something different for us, & it was most enjoyable! DEFINITELY A KEEPER of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      This was interesting. I've never had it before, so was unsure how it was supposed to turn out. I followed the suggestion of some reviews, to reduce the sugar to 1 Cup. it was still extremely sweet. It was easy to make, and had a nice contrasting texture from the top layer to the bottom layer. My family thought it was fine, but not a favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      I had never made a buttermilk pie b4, but will make this again. I was mainly interested in the custard filling as ready-made pie shells are not available here. I made the filling as written & baked it in a rd Pyrex dish. It is a very easy quick-fix w/a perfect texture & lovely crunch on top, but a bit sweet for us. I will prob reduce the sugar by 1/4 cup & bake in mini-tartlett shells I can buy as a sml but perfect sweet treat. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us & CONGRATS on your Wk 8 Football Pool win. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      Delicious! We loved this simple, but very yummy pie. The custard filling is rich and has a wonderful crunchy top. The filling doesn't make very much, so next time I think I will 1-1/2 x's the filling ingredients to fill the pie shell to the top. My family agreed that this was the best buttermilk pie that we've had. Thanks for sharing Nimz! *Made for Week #1 Football Pool 2008*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      Perfect. This is the 4th buttermilk pie recipe that I have tried. I have been in search for the one. This one is it. The flavor is wonderful and the texture is just what I was looking for. This one will be a family favorite for years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      I am sitting here indulging myself at this very moment with a slice of this intensely flavorful pie! For pie lovers everywhere, this is like a slice of heaven! This pie can be put together in a matter of minutes. I thought, when looking at the pie baking in the oven, that the time would be a lot less because it already had browned after only 1 hour and 15 minutes. However, it does not test done until the entire 1 hr 45 minutes are complete. Thank you, Nimz, for this fantastic and simple recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      "My tummy feels so good after that pudding" dirrect quote from my mum - if i could rate it higher i would! Never made buttermilk pie before and i think it would be sinful not to make it atleast once a month! Thumbs up! Thanks for posting... Miss Pixie x x x :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      What a surprise! I don't like to drink buttermilk, but wow it made an excellent pie! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      This was very good. I found that the filling was a perfect amount for a store bought crust. If making a deep dish pie with your own crust it may not fill to the top. Mine was done in 1 hour and 15 min. I found it a little on the sweet side so next time I'd cut the sugar to 1 cup. Very yummy and I will make this again. It's the easiest pie I ever made and would be excellent with a scoop of vanilla ice cream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      this was good, I used 1 tablespoon vanilla otherwise made as stated, the filling does not make much, so I am going to try to double it next time and bake in a deep-dish pie plate, we enjoyed this pie, thanks for sharing Nimzie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      This pie is delicious! It's like a sweet custard. There is really no buttermilk taste. My little ones loved it as well. Very easy to throw together and mine took 1 hour to bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      The family was fighting over pieces of this pie at Thanksgiving. My only complaint is that I didn't make enough! Awesome recipe Nimz, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      I did not get to taste the finished product of this pie as it was a gift. I can tell you the both people I have made it for have RAVED about it wanting to know when I was making another. Thanks for making me look good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Fashion Buttermilk Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (84 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 350.6
     
    Calories from Fat 126
    36%
    Total Fat 14.1 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 109.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 148.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.8 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 42.7 g
    171%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites