Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Fashion Butter Pound Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Fashion Butter Pound Cake

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 21, 2003

      I can't believe no one has tried this recipe!! It is good!! Rich butter cake!!! If you are looking for something RICH and buttery...this is the cake to try. So easy to make as well. I was a little worried cos no baking soda or powder was needed in the recipe, and I thought I was being smart by adding 1 teaspoon in...NOT needed....I think it would have been fine anyway. Beautiful cake...great colour.. rises well. Can't go wrong!! Try it. I added Classic Buttercream Frosting #10211 by ~Christine~ to top it off. Served plain and it would still be good!! 5 stars for sure!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      I tried this recipe and it tastes excellent. People complained about the cake being dry, so I altered it a bit. To make it creamier and moist, I added 1/4 cup half and half, instead of 1 tablespoon milk. I added an additional 1/2 stick of butter.

      The result is great. The cake did split a bit in the middle, but the result is tasty and moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2014

      My little brother was visiting from out of town and we were up really late last night and started to crave something sweet. He was about to go out to a 24-hour store when I got the bright idea to make a cake from scratch. Mind you, I have NEVER baked a cake from scratch. I found this recipe and decided to give it a try. I took the advice from another reviewer to increase the milk to 1/4 cup. It was super simple to follow and it looked amazing when it was done (I am definitely going to get a picture next time). When I cut my brother a slice, he was prepared to laugh. He took one bite and his eyes got wide. He said, "If I weren't sitting here the whole time watching you make this, I would have sworn you went out and bought this!" It was WONDERFUL. Again, I have NEVER baked a cake from scratch! If I can make this and make it taste good, this is a GREAT recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      Fantastic!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2013

    • on September 27, 2009

      A tasty Butter Cake. Just like some of the reviews, the cake turned out a little dry even when I changed the milk to a quart of whipping cream. The cake is still rich and yummy nonetheless. I suggest perhaps also adding some milk (on top of the whipping cream) to make the cake less dry. Try and let me know!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      Very good cake, after reading the other reviews I decided to replace the milk by 1/4 cup of heavy whipping cream and it was just perfect!!! My husband and I really loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

    • on April 28, 2009

      Very very yummy, it was a little on the dry side even with the 1/4 milk modification. Still sooo good maybe next time i will try heavy whipping cream. i think everything taste good with whipping cream! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      This is my first time making this cake, I do have to say this is one of the tastest pounds cakes that I've had thus far. I did increase the milk in this recipe to 1/4 cup which made the cake very moist. Thumbs up on this recipe. Not only was it tasty, but it was a breeze to put together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2006

      The first time I made this it was wonderful. I love making this cake for my friends. It's a hit everytime. I usually have some batter left over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2004

      This cake was very flavorful, but it was a little dry. I would add a little more milk, or buttermilk, or possibly a small snack pudding next time. This cake is worth making and would be 5 stars easily if it were a little more moist, but as I said, the flavor is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2003

      Rich and very favourable cake except texture of cake abit dry and crumbly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Fashion Butter Pound Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (1084 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 4213.2
     
    Calories from Fat 1898
    45%
    Total Fat 210.9 g
    324%
    Saturated Fat 125.1 g
    625%
    Cholesterol 1420.1 mg
    473%
    Sodium 3154.8 mg
    131%
    Total Carbohydrate 527.5 g
    175%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    27%
    Sugars 335.2 g
    1341%
    Protein 59.6 g
    119%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites