16 Reviews

I can't believe no one has tried this recipe!! It is good!! Rich butter cake!!! If you are looking for something RICH and buttery...this is the cake to try. So easy to make as well. I was a little worried cos no baking soda or powder was needed in the recipe, and I thought I was being smart by adding 1 teaspoon in...NOT needed....I think it would have been fine anyway. Beautiful cake...great colour.. rises well. Can't go wrong!! Try it. I added Classic Buttercream Frosting #10211 by ~Christine~ to top it off. Served plain and it would still be good!! 5 stars for sure!!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenManiac February 21, 2003

I tried this recipe and it tastes excellent. People complained about the cake being dry, so I altered it a bit. To make it creamier and moist, I added 1/4 cup half and half, instead of 1 tablespoon milk. I added an additional 1/2 stick of butter.

The result is great. The cake did split a bit in the middle, but the result is tasty and moist.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gardeninthepocket January 10, 2011

The taste was amazing but sadly a little dry!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 28, 2015

Very good cake, after reading the other reviews I decided to replace the milk by 1/4 cup of heavy whipping cream and it was just perfect!!! My husband and I really loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
k9_educator June 12, 2009

Very very yummy, it was a little on the dry side even with the 1/4 milk modification. Still sooo good maybe next time i will try heavy whipping cream. i think everything taste good with whipping cream! Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pizza Fetish April 28, 2009

I have tried the recipe and it is good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ann M. June 29, 2016

Can I use a bunt pan instead of a loaf pan?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Da'Mona J. October 26, 2015

My little brother was visiting from out of town and we were up really late last night and started to crave something sweet. He was about to go out to a 24-hour store when I got the bright idea to make a cake from scratch. Mind you, I have NEVER baked a cake from scratch. I found this recipe and decided to give it a try. I took the advice from another reviewer to increase the milk to 1/4 cup. It was super simple to follow and it looked amazing when it was done (I am definitely going to get a picture next time). When I cut my brother a slice, he was prepared to laugh. He took one bite and his eyes got wide. He said, "If I weren't sitting here the whole time watching you make this, I would have sworn you went out and bought this!" It was WONDERFUL. Again, I have NEVER baked a cake from scratch! If I can make this and make it taste good, this is a GREAT recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommyCentric June 26, 2014

Fantastic!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catherine B. September 30, 2013
Old Fashion Butter Pound Cake