65 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I baked the cobbler this morning for tonight's dessert, but I may have to make another one by then, I had to have a taste, the BH had to have a taste, and before we knew it, we had cobbler for breakfast and it's half gone! Berries aren't in season here, and I used frozen blueberries. I also used soymilk so the dessert wouldn't be dairy. With a dash of vanilla thrown in this is a dessert worth handing down to deserving generations!

27 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj April 12, 2002

EXCELLENT, berries are not in season now so had to buy out-of-season berries, this was soo good I didn't feel bad about spending extra bucks on it. Post away Doolittle, looking forward to more great recipes!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa M April 11, 2002

Excellant cobbler dolittle57!!It was a big hit, I cut the recipe to half, there were just 4 of us, also cut back on the sugar, we like our berries a little tart. Probably because I used a deeper dish, I had to cook it longer, about 20 minutes more. But no matter it was delicious! and will do it again. Thanks for sharing a good recipe.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf April 11, 2002

My family really enjoyed this sweet, buttery cobbler. The cake portion was neither too dense nor too light. I did feel that the fruit was a bit soupy when I made this the first time so I reduced the water by 1/2 cup in my second attempt and was much happier with the results. I used frozen blueberries, and thus, had to add several minutes to my cooking time. Comfort food is what comes to mind when I think of this recipe. I can't wait to try this with other types of berries. Thanks for posting your recipe!!!!!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn May 24, 2002

This recipe caught my eye and am I ever glad. It was so good! Thank you so much!!!!! I will definitely make many more times.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellen Brody April 25, 2002

Really tasty dessert, I used raspberries and cut back on the sugar. Served it with french vanilla ice cream and a little cream...yum!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* April 13, 2002

I am the original poster of this recipe to this site. I was kicked off this site because I had an arguement with Mean Chef for the way he was treating people on this site. I wrote the administrators 2 times asking that my site name and recipes be removed, yet they did not do so, and from what I can tell they have copy righted my recipes. This was done without my knowledge or permission and I believe is illegal. I doubt this review will be posted.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Screwnoodle October 19, 2009

This was a really good cobbler. I used mullberries from my tree so I reduced sugar on top by 1/2 cup and only used 2 cups boiling water. It turned out great! This will be my cobbler recipe from now on.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redhead in OK May 24, 2010

What a hit! Used frozen berries, 1/2 less sugar and 1 cup less water. Turned out really delicious.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrookenBee January 02, 2010

This was absolutely the best cobbler I have ever made and so, so easy to make. I reduced the sugar and water by 1/4 cup and it was perfect! I used frozen blackberries and added about 5 to 8 minutes to the cooking time. I can't wait to try it with other fruits. I will definitely be sharing this recipe with friends and family soon!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana54 August 06, 2003
Old Fashion Berry Cobbler