Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old English Spiced and Fruited Sugar for Apple Pies Etc! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old English Spiced and Fruited Sugar for Apple Pies Etc!

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 02, 2010

      OMG! How great is this! Zaar should really have the option of more stars than just five because this one deserves a lot more. I used white sugar and I grated some ginger. Great flavor and I've only had it with plain sliced apples. Can't wait to try it in something else.I'm making a clafouti tomorrow. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      Fantastic combination of flavours. I can see me using this in many recipes. Yesterday I tried it out on my apple pie recipe. I freeze down sliced apples in bags containing 6 cups. I added the defrosted apples and three heaping serving spoons of the sugar mix to a frying pan, along with cornstarch for thickening. After that has cooled a bit, I pour it into my unbaked pie shell and add a crumb topping which consists of 3/4 cup flour, 1/3 cup butter, and 1/2 cup sugar mix. This was just perfect. Not too sweet either. I think I might add more zest next time, but that's a personal thing. Thanks FT for another fantastic keeper of a recipe. Made for the Auzzie/NZ Recipe Swap #28.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      I discovered this fabulous recipe while making Ms Sally's Spiced Sugar Apple Pie Light. It was superb in that dish and I'm really looking forward to using it in other recipes. For me, one of those GREAT ZAAR FINDS! Thank you for sharing it, French Tart!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      I made an apple pie and wanted to try this spice out. I am so glad I did because it was really delicious! I love trying old fashioned recipes. Most of the time they are the simplest and the best in my book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      Wow, Awesome sugar for the top of an apple pie. I got them made tonight and I am so Pleased with the topping. I wouldn't change a thing! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      I love the smell of this spiced sugar. I let the orange and lemon zest in the oven like you said to make it dry. Today I tried it in Spiced Sugar Apple Pie Light It's delicious in this pie. Thanks French Tart :) Made for holiday tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      This was awsome. I made this up and added about a TB to some apples and onions in the crock pot. And put some pork chops on top, low for 8 hours and WOW. The flavor it gave to the apples was great and the suttle sweetness along with the citrus added great flavor to the pork chops.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      This is a GREAT recipe. I'm going to add it to my next batch of rhubarb custard dessert...and watch 'em drool for more! *Made for ZWT 3 English/Irish*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      Wonderful stuff! I started with some organic whole cane sugar--"unrefined and unbleached" which has the most wonderful molasses overtones. The spices and dried rinds make the mixture to-die-for. I now am tempted to make a dessert pie for the ZWT3 "Put A Lid on It" challenge, so I can use this as the sugar! I shall report....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      This is SO yummy! I used Splenda Brown Sugar Blend and that has worked quite well. I took the zest off of a lemon early this morning and and dried it in the oven for 6-7 hrs. This tastes amazing! I made some pumpkin cookies today and I wish I had this ready in time to use in those. I put some in a cup of coffee and that is most lovely. It's going on tomorrows oatmeal and everything else I can think of, WhooHoo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old English Spiced and Fruited Sugar for Apple Pies Etc!

    Serving Size: 1 (212 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 796.3
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    43%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 83.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 203.6 g
    67%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 195.5 g
    782%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    oranges, zest of

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites