13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I don't think you get this where I come from if you do I have never seen it so I can't compare it with the real thing, but I do know that the smell in my kitchen when I ground this up was amazing. I had it mixed in with tuna and mayonnaise as a sandwich mix and it made a big difference to the flavour of the fish it seemed to pep it up. I will use it the next time we have baked fish, or in my fish pie which I make a lot, that will be interesting to see if anyone notices. A very nice recipe. Made for herb of the month (Feb, Bay)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Jenny February 03, 2010

Just to clear up what one rude reviewer had to say..... I'm looking at my (empty) can of Old Bay now. The FIRST ingredient on the can is Celery Salt. The entire ingredients list reads as follows: Celery Salt (salt, celery seed) spices (including red pepper and black pepper) and Paprika. That's it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eileen0862 December 31, 2013

This is NOT an Old Bay copycat. First, there is no way celery salt is in it, it would be celery seed (ground). And no smoked paprika would be in it either, there was no such thing available when Old Bay originated! (Editor: inappropriate comment deleted)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loki-dog August 10, 2013

This is great! Never heard of Old Bay Seasoning before I tried a fish recipe that called for it. I'm still discovering other ways to use this versatile seasoning. I did substitute 1T celery seed powder 1T sea salt for the 2T celery salt, and chili powder for the red pepper flakes. An economical source for the bay leaf powder, celery seed powder, and smoked paprika is spicebarn.com

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BriarCraft November 11, 2011

I have never bought OldBay Seasoning b/f but have seen many recipes that call for it. So, since I have most of these spices on my shelf, thought I would tag this recipe and give it a go. Used it in Easy Tuna Pot Pie. I could definitely tell w/the spice coming thru nicely. I'll be curious to see what else I can add this too as I'm sure it would go well w/any pork or beef. Thanks Sharon for a keeper in my spices cook-book! Tagged for Regional TagGame~

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB July 21, 2008

I have not yet tried this recipe, but I will. I wish to offer a correction to the statement that there is no celery salt. Celery salt is the first ingredient listed on my container of Old Bay. I plan to substitute celery seed, too, and perhaps add sea salt. I can't wait to try it! I'm having a fish fry in a few days.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nichele December 09, 2013

I do use Old Bay and am going to make it. I live in North Carolina on the coast but I know you can find it in most places in the US. I'll let you all know if it is a good copy. But the important thing is you all have tried it and like the results. Who knows, I may stop buying it too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cyndi March 24, 2013

I've never tried the store-bought stuff, so don't have anything to compare it with, but it sure smelled wonderful!! And I used a small amount of it for a fish 'n chips recipe, and the fish was AWESOME!!! So it must've worked!! LOL! Thanks so much!!! Made for the ZWT4 :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildflour July 01, 2008

I have never tasted Old Bay Seasoning. But I used it in Tuna Salad, Deli Style and it was good. It's a lot of spices we already have. Thanks Sharon :) Made for PAC Spring 2008

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette April 09, 2008

Excellent! I cannot compare it to Old Bay but it is good. I used 2 tsp celery powder and 1 tsp each of sea salt and potassium salt substitute for a low sodium version. I don't care for seasoning salt but I used this instead and loved the flavour!! I plan on making some for Xmas gifts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jean #7 November 21, 2007
Old Bay Seasoning(Copycat)