Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Bay Seasoning(Copycat) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Bay Seasoning(Copycat)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2010

      I don't think you get this where I come from if you do I have never seen it so I can't compare it with the real thing, but I do know that the smell in my kitchen when I ground this up was amazing. I had it mixed in with tuna and mayonnaise as a sandwich mix and it made a big difference to the flavour of the fish it seemed to pep it up. I will use it the next time we have baked fish, or in my fish pie which I make a lot, that will be interesting to see if anyone notices. A very nice recipe. Made for herb of the month (Feb, Bay)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      This is great! Never heard of Old Bay Seasoning before I tried a fish recipe that called for it. I'm still discovering other ways to use this versatile seasoning. I did substitute 1T celery seed powder 1T sea salt for the 2T celery salt, and chili powder for the red pepper flakes. An economical source for the bay leaf powder, celery seed powder, and smoked paprika is spicebarn.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      I have never bought OldBay Seasoning b/f but have seen many recipes that call for it. So, since I have most of these spices on my shelf, thought I would tag this recipe and give it a go. Used it in Easy Tuna Pot Pie. I could definitely tell w/the spice coming thru nicely. I'll be curious to see what else I can add this too as I'm sure it would go well w/any pork or beef. Thanks Sharon for a keeper in my spices cook-book! Tagged for Regional TagGame~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      Just to clear up what one rude reviewer had to say..... I'm looking at my (empty) can of Old Bay now. The FIRST ingredient on the can is Celery Salt. The entire ingredients list reads as follows: Celery Salt (salt, celery seed) spices (including red pepper and black pepper) and Paprika. That's it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2013

      I have not yet tried this recipe, but I will. I wish to offer a correction to the statement that there is no celery salt. Celery salt is the first ingredient listed on my container of Old Bay. I plan to substitute celery seed, too, and perhaps add sea salt. I can't wait to try it! I'm having a fish fry in a few days.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2013

      This is NOT an Old Bay copycat. First, there is no way celery salt is in it, it would be celery seed (ground). And no smoked paprika would be in it either, there was no such thing available when Old Bay originated! (Editor: inappropriate comment deleted)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

      I do use Old Bay and am going to make it. I live in North Carolina on the coast but I know you can find it in most places in the US. I'll let you all know if it is a good copy. But the important thing is you all have tried it and like the results. Who knows, I may stop buying it too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      I've never tried the store-bought stuff, so don't have anything to compare it with, but it sure smelled wonderful!! And I used a small amount of it for a fish 'n chips recipe, and the fish was AWESOME!!! So it must've worked!! LOL! Thanks so much!!! Made for the ZWT4 :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      I have never tasted Old Bay Seasoning. But I used it in Tuna Salad, Deli Style and it was good. It's a lot of spices we already have. Thanks Sharon :) Made for PAC Spring 2008

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      Excellent! I cannot compare it to Old Bay but it is good. I used 2 tsp celery powder and 1 tsp each of sea salt and potassium salt substitute for a low sodium version. I don't care for seasoning salt but I used this instead and loved the flavour!! I plan on making some for Xmas gifts.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      I made this to cook some recipes for ZWT III in Australia where Old Bay Seasoning isn't available so can't comment on how close it is to the original, but sure was a great combination! A lot of the herbs and spices I had available were whole so I ground in a mortise and pestle.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      I made this for *Zaar World Tour III* - I can't seem to find Old Bay Seasoning in my area (I live in Australia) so I made this copycat. The aroma is very strong and I made it in no time. Thank you Sharon123

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Bay Seasoning(Copycat)

    Serving Size: 1 (35 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 241.3
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    39%
    Total Fat 10.6 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 30.5 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 16.3 g
    65%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes