34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

just added a bit more celery salt. but perfect otherwise!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 8Spaghetti December 14, 2014

This is a great spice recipe. I make it as listed, except I use additional nutmeg, cloves and ginger in place of the mace and cardamon, only because I don't have those two last ingredients in my spice rack. I have used this seasoning for grilled tuna steaks three times now, and the steaks were a huge hit. Thank you for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scribbler515 October 21, 2012

Not possible o get Old Bay here so this was a lifesaver.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha July 16, 2012

So wonderful and easy to throw together, I've used this in recipes calling for Old Bay and also to put on french fries, tofu, rice, and veggies. I didn't have mace so I used extra nutmeg, and threw in the pepper flakes and bay leaves into my spice grinder. Even better than storebought!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the80srule June 23, 2010

needed old bay seasoning for a recipe but I don't use it on a regular basis so I cannot compare flavor. The recipe was used with a combination of other spices over a salmon which we found to be on the salty side which may have been a result of the celery salt in this recipe. OOps my fault, I was putting my review on the salmon and I saw that I was only suppose to use 1 tsp old bay and I used 1 Tbsp - no wonder it was salty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay February 11, 2009

I have not used this knock-off in my cooking but I plan to make lots of it to use as Christmas gifts. A lot of posts are concerned with the ground bay leaves. Chefs started using ground bay leafs in their receipes to make certain that no whole leaves were overlooked before serving. There is no difference whatever in the taste. But, I have a suggestion -- at SpiceBarn.com you can get a one-pound bulk bag of the powdered leaves for $6.39 plus S/H. That should keep you, your family, all you friends, and many casual acquaintances supplied for several years.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Bill in Big D December 15, 2007

Thanks for sharing your recipe KGCOOK. It was quick and easy to make. I had to search high and low for the bay leaf powder, but finally found some. It is a very strong, fragrant spice blend. One that I have never tried before. I made it to use with crab cakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato November 06, 2007

Perfect seasoning. I used this in Old Bay Shrimp Dip and hope to use in my flour for chicken soon too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andypandy July 05, 2007

This was wonderful. Perfect blend of spices. Thanks so much for sharing. I used this to make Old City BBQ Shrimp

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ July 04, 2007

Every cupboard should have this prepared seasoning. It's quite amazing on grilled salmon with a bit of lemon & butter. And what a lovely gift it makes all prepared with a recipe or two attached.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beautiful BC June 29, 2007
Old Bay Seasoning #2