Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Bay Seasoning #2 Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Bay Seasoning #2

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-33 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2007

    • on April 17, 2007

      Old Bay seasoning isn't available in the Netherlands so it's great to find a copycat recipe that duplicates it well (according to others reviewers in the know). I only had very fresh bay leaves from a friends bay tree and they want to mash in the food processor rather than go to a fine powder so I made a second lot without them until I have some that are more dried and will just pop a fresh bayleaf into any recipe that uses this in the meantime. Now I can make Zaar recipe with confidence that use this and know that my reviews are true becuase the seasoning is as it should be. Please see my rating system: 5 stars for giving me a recipe that gives me access to even more great Zaar recipes ! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      I had to make a few substitutions--celery seed plus salt for the celery salt, eliminated the mace because I didn't have any, and I ground my own bay leaves (I needed 12). I just threw everything in the food processor to grind it finely and then used it in Grilled Beef Filet With Crab Cakes and Caramelized Onion Sauce. I have never tried Old Bay Seasoning, so I don't know if this approximates it, but it is very very good! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      Made your seasoning almost exactly as laid out, but didn't have any mace. I used it with Grilled Tuna Steak and the result was outstanding. It WILL be used again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      I couldn't get "Old Bay Seasoning" in my Nortnern Calif. town. I tried this recipe and it was terrific. I'll never buy Old Bay again. Thank you for sending it in. Jeri

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

    • on August 29, 2006

      Great! My first time making Old Bay and I think my first time trying it, too. I prepared the seasoning the same manner as countrywife. Note: coffee grinders are perfect appliances for preparing spice mixes. I have one for grinding coffee only and the other for making spice mixes. My rule is: if I can make the mix myself at home, then I never buy the store bought ever agian. To cut down on the sodium, I used celery seeds instead of celery salt. Used freshly ground nutmeg, too. Thanks for sharing. I'm sure I'll find plenty of other uses for Old Bay-and not just on seafood. cg ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2006

      This just saved me a trip to the store and some money! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2005

      I am so thrilled to have this! I used celery seed and no salt. Put it all through my spare coffee grinder. I've avoided Old Bay and recipies calling for Old Bay because of the MSG. This is so wonderful. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2005

      I've never seen Old Bay here in Canada but I needed it for another Zaar recipe! I chose this spice combination since I had all the ingredients - EXCEPT ground bay leaves. To compensate, I cut bay leaves into little pieces with kitchen shears. This was very tedious but a chef's gotta do what a chefs gotta do! Thanx Di!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2005

      Needed old Bay for a recipe and of course, my tiny town with its equally tiny store doesn't carry it, but knew I'd find help here at 'Zaar! Thanx, I'm sure you saved me some money! This is good stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2005

      Does this ever happen to you? You go to the store, spend a lot of money, come home with half a dozen bags of groceries... And still forget something. In my case it was the Old Bay! I took BeachGirl's advice and doubled the celery salt, but otherwise made it as written. It was easy to make using a mini food processor, and it worked out perfect in my recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2005

      Happy to find this recipe as Old Bay is not available here to me in Belgium. Used this in Shrimp Salad #119096 by RitaL. My only negative feeling was that the spice blend ends up a bit on the salty side, but otherwise nice taste. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Bay Seasoning #2

    Serving Size: 1 (14 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 217.8
     
    Calories from Fat 96
    44%
    Total Fat 10.7 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 24.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 13.7 g
    54%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites