Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Bay Seasoning #2 Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Bay Seasoning #2

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on November 25, 2002

      Thank you for posting the Recipe for Old Bay Seasoning. I had not been able to find it in our area. I have found several recipes that called for it. I made up some this morning. I am making up some and putting into little spice jars for Christmas gifts. Also including recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2003

      A very good substitute for Old Bay Seasoning. I did use the optional ground mace and ground cardamom. To compare, I tasted this mix and Old Bay Seasoning. The only change I'd make is to double the celery salt next time. Thanks Marj..this is a good copycat recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      Pretty darn good. I did a side by side taste testing. I thought it needed a bit more celery salt. It's sure got kick! Thanks for posting DiB!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      I had just recently run out of the last batch I'd made and couldn't remember where I'd found the recipe. Finally found it again! This is my favorite seasoning for fish, it really adds a great, unique flavor and compliments it well. I'm gonna make another batch today. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2004

      I used this seasoning for MomOnTheGo's Cheddar bay biscuits and they turned out so good! We don't eat a lot of seafood and I didn't want to buy a bottle for one recipe so this was a great alternative. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2004

      SO GLAD I didn't have to spend the dough on Old Bay for just one recipe! Thanks, Mirj. A good way to use up my existing spices. I'll keep this on hand and NEVER buy the actual mix.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      Thanks for the great recipe. I made MomOnTheGo's Cheddar bay biscuits and used this spice mixture as part of the topping. This was the first time I have used this but certainly not the last. I didn't have celery salt, so I used ground up celery seed and a bit of salt. Turned out great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2003

      Thank you for the recipe! It is a potent one for sure... I do have one concern though. We can not buy ground bay leaves in Canad, so I tried the best to grind it with the other spices. It did leave some pieces not quite broken down, however, it did not seem to be a problem. Just wondered if others have found the same problem.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      This is a great spice recipe. I make it as listed, except I use additional nutmeg, cloves and ginger in place of the mace and cardamon, only because I don't have those two last ingredients in my spice rack. I have used this seasoning for grilled tuna steaks three times now, and the steaks were a huge hit. Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2012

      Not possible o get Old Bay here so this was a lifesaver.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      So wonderful and easy to throw together, I've used this in recipes calling for Old Bay and also to put on french fries, tofu, rice, and veggies. I didn't have mace so I used extra nutmeg, and threw in the pepper flakes and bay leaves into my spice grinder. Even better than storebought!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      needed old bay seasoning for a recipe but I don't use it on a regular basis so I cannot compare flavor. The recipe was used with a combination of other spices over a salmon which we found to be on the salty side which may have been a result of the celery salt in this recipe. OOps my fault, I was putting my review on the salmon and I saw that I was only suppose to use 1 tsp old bay and I used 1 Tbsp - no wonder it was salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      I'm not sure if it was the brand of nutmeg, but our mix was too strong on the nutmeg side. My husband agreed. We used it for making crab cakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      I have not used this knock-off in my cooking but I plan to make lots of it to use as Christmas gifts. A lot of posts are concerned with the ground bay leaves. Chefs started using ground bay leafs in their receipes to make certain that no whole leaves were overlooked before serving. There is no difference whatever in the taste. But, I have a suggestion -- at SpiceBarn.com you can get a one-pound bulk bag of the powdered leaves for $6.39 plus S/H. That should keep you, your family, all you friends, and many casual acquaintances supplied for several years.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      Thanks for sharing your recipe KGCOOK. It was quick and easy to make. I had to search high and low for the bay leaf powder, but finally found some. It is a very strong, fragrant spice blend. One that I have never tried before. I made it to use with crab cakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      Perfect seasoning. I used this in Old Bay Shrimp Dip and hope to use in my flour for chicken soon too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      This was wonderful. Perfect blend of spices. Thanks so much for sharing. I used this to make Old City BBQ Shrimp

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      Every cupboard should have this prepared seasoning. It's quite amazing on grilled salmon with a bit of lemon & butter. And what a lovely gift it makes all prepared with a recipe or two attached.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      Perfect! Simply perfect. Much to my chagrin, I found out after moving to the UK this year that Old Bay Seasoning was not readily available. So, I whipped up a batch of this and it was amazingly good. This recipe is spot on. Tastes just like the real thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      Fantastic reproduction! Thank you so much. I live in Annapolis, Maryalnd and Old Bay started in the area (Baltimore). The history follows after my comments below. I added more paprika, some garlic salt, substituted chili powder for the red pepper flakes and substituted nutmeg for the mace. My next batch I will add even more paprika. http://www.mccormick.com/content.cfm?ID=9257 Old Bay Seasoning was founded more than 60 years ago: a man named Gustav Brunn arrived in the United States from Germany with a hand-held spice grinder and a dream of starting a spice business. In 1939, Brunn settled in Baltimore and developed his secret recipe, which would later become Old Bay Seasoning. This unique blend of more than a dozen herbs and spices was created for a population passionate about steamed crabs, and has since become synonymous with the Chesapeake Bay and its locals. Celery, bay leaves, and mustard combine with the heat of red pepper and ginger to tempt palates from grilled fish and steamed shrimp to fried chicken, potato salad, and vegetable dips. This unique spice blend evokes images of seaside dining, salty sea breezes, and sandy beaches. Yet this fantastic blend is also at home adding flavor to bounty that’s fresh from the farm as well as the sea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Bay Seasoning #2

    Serving Size: 1 (14 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 217.8
     
    Calories from Fat 96
    44%
    Total Fat 10.7 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 24.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 13.7 g
    54%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites