Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Old Bay Seasoning Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2002

      I've several recipes calling for Old Bay Seasoning, which I haven't been able to find where I live. I've made the same recipes without and with your Old Bay Seasoning mix and what a difference! I'm now planning to make small jars of this seasoning to give as gifts for Christmas. Thankyou for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      Miss Annie! Thanks for posting such a wonderful recipe for Old Bay. It's not available in Australia and trying to explain the taste to my husband was difficult at best. For him to taste it...he thought it was terrific! My crab cakes came out very well with this seasoning added in!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2013

      I usually buy Old Bay Seasoning from the store, but tonight I mixed this up because we were out. I used it to season catfish, and it tasted so delicious and much fresher than the store-bought blend. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      We also have no idea what Old Bay Seasoning tastes like but did give it a try in Panko Crusted Tilapia. The fish and this recipe were delicious! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      I have to admit that I have no idea what Old Bay Seasoning really tastes like -- we can't buy it in Australia. But I did make this recipe to use in Smoked Salmon and Cream Cheese Soup. It worked beautifully. Thanks so much for posting a go-to recipe for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      Fabulous! Tasted even better than Old Bay. Fresher spices I guess!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      I have used this recipe since 2004. I don't buy packaged seafood seasoning. It makes a wonderful Low Country Boil!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      great substitute

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      This was a wonderful introduction to such a great seasoning. I made it to add to Should Be Illegal Oven BBQ Ribs, but I can see there being so many more uses for it. Thanks Di for sharing this keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      I made this seasoning so that I could make Old Bay Tilapia, Sweet Potatoes and Veggies I don't know what the commercial seasoning mix tastes like but I loved this one. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      You cant get Old Bay here in Australia but I've bookmarked many recipes here at Zaar that list it as an ingredient. WOW...what a delight I'm so glad I found this recipe. This time around I used it for #55244 Kick A%% Fried onion rings with great results. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      This is my first time dealing with Old Bay Seasoning, had no idea as what to expect. I was very pleasantly surprised, this did add flavor to the salmon I made and as meny seafood recipes on zaar use it, I am excited to use it on something else, again. I am a new fan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2006

      A great time-saver and very tasty to boot! Thanks so much for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2004

      This recipe saved the day for me. I cant get Old Bay Seasoning in Germany and had lots of leftover seafood in the fridge to use. It added just the right amount of oomph to the chowder. Thank you so much for sharing !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2004

      I made this recipe to use with Rita L's Crispy Tilapia (#47391), but its so good that I'm going to have to look for more recipes to use it in. BF started lingering around the kitchen door and "Mmm"ing when I mixed it up. I made a couple small changes- used only 4 bay leaves because the ones I have are HUGE and used a peppercorn mix (black, white, green and red) rather than just black pepper. I have never tasted the "real" Old Bay seasoning before, but this is fantastic! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Bay Seasoning

    Serving Size: 1 (109 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 8.0
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    54%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    whole cardamom pods

    cloves

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes