Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ol' Fashioned Stone Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ol' Fashioned Stone Soup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 06, 2011

      Now who would have imaged such a soup from just a stone! A simple yet nutritious meal that is very tasty. I made two very minor changes in that I left out the croutons and added a little fresh rosemary as per the story there was a little in the house. Thanks for the tasty memory of a story I always enjoyed and can now remember often thanks to this tasty soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      i remember reading the story when i was a kid ,i love the story , i love the soup its basic and you can use what you have , good tasting soup for being made with just a stone .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      Mike you did it again. I sent this recipe to some teacher friends as well because this is one fo the stories we read during Read Across America. Wonderful and fun to make. I did not use the stone but a large russet tater in it's place. They had some fantastic veggies at the market this week so my zuchinni and squash were perfect. Use wheat linguini pasta broken into approx. 2 in pieces instead of egg noodles. I bet this would be great with spinach noodles as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      Really tasty soup, fun for an office holiday party. We made it in a crock pot so some adjustments were required to saute some ingredients before adding to the cooker. We used vegetable broth to have a veggie option, but it would be great with chicken broth. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      Just loved this vegetable soup!!! It is nice that it allows for you to add the ingredients of your choice, which I did, by adding in diced tomatoes and green beans, and left out red bell pepper, zucchini and squash. I too used the potato in place of the stone. The combination of vegetables/juices, makes this so flavorful. Thanks for sharing. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      I recently made a batch of this to freeze and take camping.After all was said and done the flavor of the soup was great but I over cooked the squash and the noodles.So next time I make this I will partially cook the pasta and vegetables before freezing.But it had great taste and I want to make it again.To my surprise the people next to us at the campsite had this for lunch and said it was great also...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      Excellent soup. Stone Soup made for a wonderful class project a few years back, one I have always wanted to make a home project. With the making of your recipe - the soup and 'the story' I suspect now a 'tradition in the making' at our house. Went with a potato for the symbolic stone and made as posted, the end result was soup that we enjoyed. Think the addition of chicken or turkey as previous reviewers added would work well with this recipe as would rice - making for a good many variations for this old fashioned soup. To round out the meal made Chef TotalFark's corn meal muffins using Cornmeal (Cornbread) Mix. Thank you for sharing both the story and the recipe Sydney Mike!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      If you are unfamilar with the story of Stone Soup, I highly recommend that you read it so that you have a better understanding of the recipe. My coworkers and I made this for lunch today and it was a huge hit. I had roasted a chicken yesterday and had some leftovers so that got tossed into the pot as well along with juice from one lemon. Other than that we followed the recipe as is -- including the stone. This is a fabulous way to share food among family, friends and coworkers. It gets everyone involved and gives new meaning to "sharing".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      I am a big germie so I couldn't bring myself to add a stone to the soup but we did use a potato. I used green bell pepper instead of red, also omitted the corn and yellow squash. I didn't use the crutons but instead I made "Garlic-Onion Dinner Muffins" to go with the meal. With all that said DH said it was a nice dinner. To me it felt like something was missing, so for leftovers the next day I added 1/2 lb cooked ground turkey. This recipe is a great way to get your veggies. I will try it with rice instead of pasta next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ol' Fashioned Stone Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (417 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 167.6
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    22%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 6.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 826.0 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 8.5 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites