19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

At first I thought this was too simple to really be good. Plus I have never liked okra. But after tasting, this recipe blew me away! The flavors really come together and take the slime away from the okra. Thank you for sharing this classic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pheebess August 06, 2012

I haven't tried it yet but I give it five stars because my mother in law makes this and it's amazing. I bought frozen okra to try and make it like hers and while I was looking through here I found your recipe. It is just like she makes it and I am going to make some today.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blacksky_ms January 26, 2012

The recipe gave me an idea that okra could be cooked without lemon juice, that's the way we cook it in Turkey. I cooked 1 lb. okra with 1/2 cup whole oats in the pressure cooker with 1 1/2 cups water and 1 teaspoon salt for 5 minutes and added the dressing (olive oil, apple cider vinegar and red pepper paste) and red onions after okra has cooled down.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ozlem August 05, 2011

I added corn to this, but otherwise made it according to this recipe.  It had a really nice flavor. I think that next time I may add pinto or cranberry beans, along with the corn. Very nice. Thank you for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodie April 08, 2011

Fantastic! I was impatient and only waited 30min for everything to simmer together. Also, I didn't have bacon, but I usually have bacon drippings on hand, so used that. I also used fresh okra and a can of rotel tomatoes (I prefer everything a little spicy). It was delicious--really a perfect recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dulcet Kitchen August 10, 2010

I have never cooked okra before and have only eaten pickled okra. This was a very easy recipe to put together and I liked that. I added a few dashes of cayenne pepper for some spice. I didn't add the bacon (got a vegetarian in the family), but I am sure that I would have rated this a 5 star if I had added it because bacon makes everything taste better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Oliver March 27, 2010

Superb dish. I added some garlic, as others suggested, I also added some baby potatoes that I wanted to use up. The dish turned out perfect, the potatoes were lovely and the Okra was delicious. I used fresh Okra and only made 1/2 the recipe and served it with steak. If I can continue to get fresh Okra this recipe will be made weekly. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
filjen March 16, 2010

what about using canned okra??

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dsc45 November 04, 2009

Well sometimes I challenge myself by buying something at the store I do not know what it is or have never tried before. Thus OKRA! I bought it and looked for a zaar recipe and viola! DELICOUS!!! I like Okra and will play with it some more! Thankyou

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marmie's July 02, 2009

I have not made this recipe yet but my grandmother used to make this when she was alive and my mom also makes it. It is fantastic. It brings back such wonderful memories of my grandmother. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buzzsau June 08, 2009
Okra and Tomatoes (A.k.a. Okra Gumbo)