Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Okra and Tomatoes (A.k.a. Okra Gumbo) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Okra and Tomatoes (A.k.a. Okra Gumbo)

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on August 06, 2012

      At first I thought this was too simple to really be good. Plus I have never liked okra. But after tasting, this recipe blew me away! The flavors really come together and take the slime away from the okra. Thank you for sharing this classic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2012

      I haven't tried it yet but I give it five stars because my mother in law makes this and it's amazing. I bought frozen okra to try and make it like hers and while I was looking through here I found your recipe. It is just like she makes it and I am going to make some today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2011

      The recipe gave me an idea that okra could be cooked without lemon juice, that's the way we cook it in Turkey. I cooked 1 lb. okra with 1/2 cup whole oats in the pressure cooker with 1 1/2 cups water and 1 teaspoon salt for 5 minutes and added the dressing (olive oil, apple cider vinegar and red pepper paste) and red onions after okra has cooled down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2011

      I added corn to this, but otherwise made it according to this recipe.  It had a really nice flavor. I think that next time I may add pinto or cranberry beans, along with the corn. Very nice. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      Fantastic! I was impatient and only waited 30min for everything to simmer together. Also, I didn't have bacon, but I usually have bacon drippings on hand, so used that. I also used fresh okra and a can of rotel tomatoes (I prefer everything a little spicy). It was delicious--really a perfect recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      I have never cooked okra before and have only eaten pickled okra. This was a very easy recipe to put together and I liked that. I added a few dashes of cayenne pepper for some spice. I didn't add the bacon (got a vegetarian in the family), but I am sure that I would have rated this a 5 star if I had added it because bacon makes everything taste better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      Superb dish. I added some garlic, as others suggested, I also added some baby potatoes that I wanted to use up. The dish turned out perfect, the potatoes were lovely and the Okra was delicious. I used fresh Okra and only made 1/2 the recipe and served it with steak. If I can continue to get fresh Okra this recipe will be made weekly. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      what about using canned okra??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      Well sometimes I challenge myself by buying something at the store I do not know what it is or have never tried before. Thus OKRA! I bought it and looked for a zaar recipe and viola! DELICOUS!!! I like Okra and will play with it some more! Thankyou

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      I have not made this recipe yet but my grandmother used to make this when she was alive and my mom also makes it. It is fantastic. It brings back such wonderful memories of my grandmother. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      I was looking for an okra recipe and I'm so glad I tried yours. I used ground pork instead of bacon and added a few gloves of garlic. It's great over brown rice. Excellent and simple recipe which I will definitely repeat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      I gravitated towards this recipe when the market was flooded with okra. I had done the fried thing enough and I didn't want a standard okra and tomatoes. The 8 slices of bacon definitely wet my appetite and the dish delivered. Tasted great over rice. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      Thanks for sharing your grandma's recipe and including the end note for those who might like softer bacon. I threw in a bit of garlic, but other than that, this recipe is perfect as is. Thanks, Angie. I couldn't stop sampling it while it was simmering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      Wow this was really good. I omitted the bacon and onion as I do not really care for them. It was great without. Simple to make yet delish. I added a bit more pepper to give it a kick. Wonderful flavor. My mother was impressed said it's exactly the way she made it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      You sure got this right!!! So very good!! I did not change anything with the recipe..Thank You for the recipe..Hugs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      Amen to okra and tomatoes! I usually eat this right like it is, but sometimes we put it over rice. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2006

      This is a very good, basic recipe for okra. It can be made without bacon for a tasty vegetarian dish. The AKA of okra gumbo is fine IMO. Many people call it that, even without the roux, which I agree is ordinarily a feature of gumbo. I think I'll make a batch right now! Okra in my garden is producing heavily. Jim

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2005

      What you have is a recipe for smothered okra. In order to call it "gumbo" you have to start with a roux. African "gumbo" is cooked with tomatoes, but cajun is not. Just FYI :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      ive made this its really good but i used fresh tomatoes thanks for posting dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Okra and Tomatoes (A.k.a. Okra Gumbo)

    Serving Size: 1 (239 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 96.0
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    38%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 5.4 mg
    1%
    Sodium 75.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    27%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes