Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Okonomi Yaki (Veggie Pancakes) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Okonomi Yaki (Veggie Pancakes)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 02, 2006

      perhaps labeling this recipe okonomiyaki is a bit misleading. for a more authentic okonomiyaki recipe, don't use evaporated milk, brown sugar, or whole wheat flour. use a fine ground flour, or you can find okonomiyaki flour at asian grocery stores. i usually add grated mountain yam to the batter. secondly, if you are going to add meat, the typical thing to add would be thin sliced pork and/or seafood like fresh or dried shrimp and calamari. finally, the typical way they are served is smothered in okonomiyaki sauce, flaked nori, japanese mayo, and red pickled ginger.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2003

      My mother has essentially this same recipe in her recipe box and used to make it every now and then; it's really good over hot rice. I experimented with the veggies I happened upon in my refrigerater: onions, mushrooms, spinach and red bell pepper. Not bad at all--the red pepper gave it a whole new flavor. I usually substitute tofu for the meat, but I didn't have any. I put in walnut pieces, which was delicious. P.S. don't try to saute the veggies unless you can find a way to make the final product not so dough-y

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      These are tasty, but I'm not sure why they would be called okonomi-yaki. This is much more like chijimi, the korean savory pancake. There's a very different process to okonomiyaki -- plus you'd need to add pickled ginger to the fillings and fish broth (dashi) to the batter to make it taste like the Japanese food. Again -- tasty recipe, but not really okonomiyaki -- it shouldn't remind anyone of tempura...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      Wonderful dish! Made these for a girls luncheon to go along with an with Asian Chicken Salad. I made them per recipe - used green onions instead of onion. They were perfect. Thanks Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      These pancakes were okay, but I was missing some "japanese" touch. The mix of the vegetables was very nice, though, I never would have thought of using cabbage in pancakes! My son loved them, so I will definitely make them again, maybe with a little more spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2006

      I can't wait to try this! I've been interested in trying okonomiyaki, but I wasn't keen to stock up on a lot of unique Asian ingredients that I'd end up tossing if I didn't like them. While this may not be authentic, it'll at least give me an idea of what it's like. We do keep tonkatsu sauce on hand (we love yakisoba), so since that's traditional on okonomiyaki, we'll try it with that on it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2005

      These are fabulous. I've made them so many times I can't believe I didn't review them yet. I usually make them vegetarian, adding some extra carrot and chopped water chestnuts. I've kept the batter in the fridge for a couple of days which worked well - it just needed to be stirred a bit before cooking. I think you can get at least six servings from this recipe. They're good with anything, including mayonnaise or teriyaki sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2005

      These were very tasty... And my toddler loved them. Great way to get your veggies for the day. I made mine with shrimp and dipped them in a sauce of ketchup, worcestershire sauce, soy sauce and a little mayo. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2005

      also pretty good, but I think I might have made it wrong since the pancake came out a bit soggy after. still good though, I will attempt it again sometime

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2004

      These wonderful creations do seem to go with any and every sauce. We enjoyed them with wasabi mustard and sour cream laced with cajun seasoning. I made them with whole wheat flour and 1 cup of turkey breast.Wonderful. Can't wait to enjoy the leftovers on my hike tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2004

      These are fabulous! I have been meaning to try them for a long time and now I can't believe I have waited this long! I used red cabbage and a 12 oz. can of fat free evaporated milk. I didn't have to add any water. The kids ate them with ketchup while the adults dipped them in a black bean and ginger sauce which was a wonderful compliment. They reminded me of Egg Foy Yung. I also used all whole wheat pastry flour. They were heavy and filling and wonderful as the rain poured down outside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2004

      These are great. They remind me of a Japanese version of egg fu yung. I halved the recipe and added 1 cup tiny salad shrimp and just went ahead and used the whole egg. They cooked up great! Served these with my tempura dipping sauce, although I think these also tasted great with ponzu sauce. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2004

      Very good! I am glad I took Roosie's recommendation to try this one out in Healthy Recipe ABC for lunch actually. Her recommendation with a Bergy recipe how could I resist. There was no way I was going to use all purpose flour when the choice was whole wheat flour. I added plain milk to the batter as I did not have any evaporated milk and added a little of the stock from the beef roast instead of water. Used green cabbage and carrots and spring onions (stalks) instead of the celery. I did add some chopped green chilli too. Used beef roast for the meat quotient that my guys need in a meal and got around 7 pancakes. Made it on a nonstick skillet so used no oil. Served it with Schezwan sauce. Thanks for a keeper Bergy and thanks to Roosie for pointing the way. She calls this one of the best recipes she has ever made from Zaar!!! and that is saying more than all the stars in the world. :) Fay

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2004

      Wow. These are *WONDERFUL*! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used a 12-oz can evaporated milk (I still had to add a little (~1/4-1/2c) water, though). I did use the whole wheat flour, as suggested and did not use any meat leftovers and used napa cabbage as the cabbage. They taste good with ANYTHING- we tried them with soy sauce, sour cream, ketchup, and a sundried tomato vinegarette. I don't think you could go wrong with these! We served these with Sharon123's Soba Soup with Spinach and Tofu (#70758), but I think that these would fit in with just about any type of cuisine, not just Japanese fare. Amazingly tasty- fresh tasty and hearty at the same time, chewy and crisp, healthy but they sure taste naughty! I would say that the recipe does make more than 4 servings, even as a main dish- maybe more like 6 or even 8 smaller servings. We have a ton left, but I'm really looking forward to the leftovers (which is rather impressive, considering how full I am right now- lol). These are beautiful too. I wish I had a digital camera, but mine got a lovely almost marbled pattern on them as they cooked. Just absolutely lovely. BF didn't know that I had made these with whole wheat flour til I told him- they taste rather fluffy still because of all the veggies. Thank you so much for posting! These are delicous; I will be making them constantly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Okonomi Yaki (Veggie Pancakes)

    Serving Size: 1 (303 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 381.5
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    18%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 73.4 mg
    24%
    Sodium 732.5 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.4 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 10.5 g
    42%
    Sugars 12.1 g
    48%
    Protein 16.4 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes