Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oklahoma Joe's Rib Rub Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oklahoma Joe's Rib Rub

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on March 28, 2013

      A great rub. I used it on some pork ribs which I cooked in the crockpot on low for about 6 hours. I drained the liquid (there was a lot!), then added some bbq sauce and cooked for another hour on low. Delicious and so tender!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      I used this on some beautiful baby back ribs which I smoked. They came out great, and the rub has all the notes you are looking for in a great BBQ. Thanks for posting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      I used this last week on some pork ribs that I smoked with Hickory. Let me start by saying thank you for a really great recipe. They weren't too sweet, and the flavors came through the smoke nicely. Just a really great rub, and I will definitely be experimenting with this on some other smoked delicacies!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      Fantastic! I've been looking for a good rub that's not too salty, not too sweet or spicy. This one fits all of the above! Had family over and my brother commented to his wife"Why don't ours taste like this?" to which I replied," You don't have Oklahoma Joe on your side!"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      Oh my goodness. This smells and tastes wonderful. Thanks for the wonderful rub recipe. I have never used a rub and am sure to use this one from now on. It's a winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      KC, a very palatable Rub. So Many folks don't know the beauty of White Pepper. It is a zone of flavor all by itself. I wouldn't change a thing. WELL, maybe rub the ribs with some fresh Garlic but I will do anything to ward off Evil Spirits :O) That are less than 90 Proof. Cap'n Jack.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      Very good! The only change I made was to add a teaspoon of celery salt. The next time I make it I think I'll reduce the sugar by 1 tablespoon... to let the spicy come thru a little more. And that's not a criticism, I just like it a little spicier. It's a man thing. This is a good rib rub, try it you won't be sorry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      Delicious rub! A perfect blend of sweet and spice, with full flavor. I will definitely use this recipe again. Thanks for posting it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      This one goes in my "all time favorites" file. My hubby uses it almost as fast as I can make it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      best ever

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      A great rub! I used this on some pork chops that I baked until almost done, then brushed on some bbq sauce and returned to the oven for about 5 minutes. They had a great flavor from the rub. Made for Name That Ingredient cooking tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

      I am very happy that I chose this rib rub recipe for baby back ribs. I would rate this as a mild rub but that's ok. The flavor enhanced the rib meat flavor and in no way over powered it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2012

      I have not tried it yet but sounds fantastic. I will be all over it this week-end. dan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      Absolutely delicious! I have used it on ribs, brisket, pork chops and chicken. I have even sprinkled it on hamburgers. I have a chicken in the smoker right now liberally covered with this delicious rub. Thank you for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      This was "OK", but I thought it was missing something...used it on some baby back ribs. I added a few touches of my own & I liked it MUCH better. THANKS for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      A very nice rub for the ribs! I sprinkled the ribs with about half of the mixture, rubbed it in and put the meat in the crockpot. (I omitted the white pepper as I didn't have any.) After 5 hours I drained the grease and poured on some BBQ sauce and cooked one hour longer. They were really good. I am going to make up some of this mixture, put it in some spice jars and include it in my Xmas goody baskets. Thx for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      I live in Lawrence and work near Oklahoma Joe's and I LOVE IT! I haven't tried this recipe yet, but if you figure out how to make their chili, please post asap!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Excellent! I used it on a ham that I smoked, cut back on the pepper by half, don't like it to spicy. Can't wait to try it on ribs. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      made this and the bf uses this on a ton of stuff!! already close to making a second batch!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      LOVE IT! Making a bucket full this time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oklahoma Joe's Rib Rub

    Serving Size: 1 (66 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 438.7
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    83%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4817.5 mg
    200%
    Total Carbohydrate 104.8 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 9.8 g
    39%
    Sugars 79.0 g
    316%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes