11 Reviews

I used applesauce with 1/4 of water ( no apple juice in house) and Emeril' essence for the creole seasoning. I followed the recipe with those exception. Exceptional...pork is tender and very flavorful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carol.overby_13134336 March 16, 2014

This recipe was superb!! My boyfriend's favorite food is pulled pork & he said this was better than anything he's ever had! It was not only delicious but easy if you have the time. Instead of apple juice I used 1/4c apple cider vinegar & 1/4c water. This will be a recipe that we use often! Thanks DoryJean54 for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jesslovesmusic July 19, 2012

I wasnt planning on even writting a review, but I had too. I love making slow cooking recipes and this one rocked! I find the hardest thing to pinpoint is a method for the actual cooking times... and this one worked out well.. the hour at a high temp and then 5 hours at the low temp for a 3.55 pound bone in pork shoulder. I didnt trim off the fat on top, but it was really easy to just take it off after. I also added some pineapple juice and a lot more salt and mesquite seasoning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julia313 April 28, 2012

This was so easy and has great flavors. I let mine cook for the one hour plus five hours in a cast iron pot. I was leery of the worcestershire sauce but it came out great. The meat was melt in your mouth good. Served with coleslaw and Schlotzsky's Style Sourdough Batter Rolls.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound October 01, 2010

You can not go wrong with this recipe! The entire family gave this one a thumbs up. The spices are a perfect compliment to the pork. I cooked mine all day in the crockpot, and it fell apart when I tried to take it out. This is my permanent pork butt recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paul in Arkansas January 29, 2010

Super easy recipe. The meat was so tender, juicy, and flavorful. I didn't put the roast in the oven first. I put it in the crock pot for about 4 hours. Perfect!! Will be making this again! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Husker Fan June 05, 2009

This is a very easy recipe to make. The meat was juicy, tender and very tasty. We cooked ours in the crock pot for 3 hours on high and 3 more hours on low. We then pulled the meat and put it back in the broth. I am going to try this recipe on another roast and put it in the smoker for 2 or 3 hours and the finish it in the crock pot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
don2925 January 11, 2006

Yummy pork recipe! I made it exactly as written except, like a previous reviewer, I finished it in the crockpot. I also added some chopped onion. Loved the sweet flavors and the cajun spices together. Thanx for a great recipe that the whole family enjoyed. I'll make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* January 03, 2006

My family thought that this was great! I am not a pork eater so I had never prepared pork butt before. I will be making this again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Moon December 09, 2005
Oink-Oink Pork Butt