47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very delicious. Not having Rice Crispies, I subbed squished Rice Chex and have to agree with Karen that the cereal does add a nice element of surprise to the texture. For those who don't/can't enjoy nuts and coconut, I set aside some of the dough and added peanut butter chips. Two thumbs up for these cookies - either way! **Oh, and I did add about 1/2 tsp. salt. When I tasted the dough, it just struck me that some salt would tone down the sweetness and "brighten" the flavors.**

46 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1TexasLizard June 10, 2002

A great recipe. I've been testing many and this is a keeper. FYI, I ALWAYS add 1 Tblsp of vanilla to all choc chip recipes. Mix in flour mixture one cup at a time and don't overmix.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo in Arlington July 17, 2002

I agree. These are good cookies. Crispy and chewy at the same time. I added an extra tsp of vanilla because....I like it.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilu June 14, 2002

To: Karen Monahan "Oh My" and "Wow" and "Extra-Yummy"!!!! These cookies are great. Followed your recipe to the letter; just omitted the walnuts/pecans. Oh, they are sooooo good! Thanks for posting another winner! Laudee C. Colorado

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee July 16, 2002

Well you sure can't buy these at your friendly neighbourhood Safeway store!!! For the little bit of time and work (I had them all done in an hour) these took, it was well worth it. Think I'll have a "cookie" party soon.??

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo July 07, 2002

After reading all the reviews I HAD to try these, and I have to say I concur....they are wonderful. I too, added salt,vanilla and a handful of peanut butter chips...the possibilities are endless! yum!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joli January 27, 2003

These are great chocolate chip cookies, the cereal adds a nice crunch, the coconut flavor and they are just different enough to be something extra special!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan Dillard December 05, 2002

Delicious Karen!! My son has been begging for "homemade" chocolate chip cookies for a while now and these were perfect. Nice soft dough...so easy to mix up. I omitted the nuts cause no one here is fond of them and doubled the coconut to 2 cups (didn't want to save 1/2 a bag!). Increased the vanilla too....just because I love the flavour! (I generally just pour vanilla in without measuring....I'm sure Martha Stewart wouldn't approve!!). Thanks for a great cookie Karen!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Love2Eat November 09, 2002

These are a great variation of the chocolate chip cookies I normally make. The Rice Krispies and coconut make them very crispy. Thanks for a great recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shena September 20, 2002

Loved these cookies! I used half shortening, half margarine. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Really good with the coconut and nuts. A step above regular chocolate chip cookies. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazeleyes January 31, 2008
Oh My D-Lux Chocolate Chip Cookies