Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / "Off-the-cob" Freezer Corn Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    "Off-the-cob" Freezer Corn

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2014

      This is wonderful. My sister gave me this recipe years ago, and I lost it. Thanks for posting recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2013

      Wow! I just pulled out my first batch of this corn, and WOW! I just made half because I was afraid I wouldn't like it as well as everyone else has rated it, but I was wrong. I can see now that I'm going to have to go buy more corn. I still cooked the corn an hour even though I halved the recipe. It turned out perfectly cooked. The corn comes out firm with flavor bursting in your mouth after an hour at 325. I did add a bit of sugar to the mix when cooking, but always add it to my corn. You just add it to taste, but I probably used close to 1/4 cup when it was all said and done. I used a regular knife and just turned a cup upside down in the roaster to replicate the Angel Food Cake technique. Worked great and kept the mess to a minimum. Now if someone could just tell me how to get the silks off the corn a little better. Thanks so much Judikins for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      My FIL gave me a bunch of corn (not very sweet) so I wanted to make some of this freezer corn to use in corn chowder recipes this winter. This method is terrific. I was able to cut a cob every 30 seconds with the electric knife. Very neat & clean. My BIL and FIL who freeze a lot of corn each year, will be switching to this technique.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      This recipe is absolutely delicious! I love the helpful hint for using an angel food cake pan and an electric knife to prepare the corn. I will use this recipe for years to come. Lori W.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      Judikins, This was delicious. I picked up several cases of corn at the Olathe Sweet "Sweet" Corn Festival yesterday. I wanted to freeze some for those cold winter months! Imagine my surprise to find a fellow "corn freezer" using the Olathe sweet corn as the basis of her freezer corn recipe. Thanks so much. I'm sure we'll enjoy it even more in January.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      There's got to be away to give you more than 5 stars for this! We just had a bag that I made a couple weeks ago and DH was thrilled! Thanks for a great way to preserve the taste of summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      Just had another bag of our corn from last year made with this recipe. It's so sweet, my DH says it's almost like dessert. I've found the best way to prepared is to keep it frozen until use, then thaw and cook in the microwave until hot. Otherwise, if you let it thaw, you'll lose a lot of the butter because it sticks to the bag/container. This is one of our favorite vegetables and is wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2005

      I was getting ready to submit this recipe, but thought I would check first to see if it was already listed. Here it is....and this is such a wonderful recipe for corn lovers. The first 2 weeks we moved to Wisconsin, we made this night and day....it was so worth it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2004

      So delicious and so easy. But it doesn't make a whole lot, especially when one keeps sampling as it cooks. I made a half-recipe with 24 ears of corn, dividing the butter and half-and-half. Then had to go buy more corn to make more, kind of pricy at $4 per dozen! But it will be so good at Thanksgiving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2004

      This was very good. I only had 19 very large ears but it still used up the entire amount of 1/2 and 1/2 although I did halve the butter. I had to keep shooing my dh away while it was cooling down as he kept trying to snitch some. Thanks for a different way to put up corn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for "Off-the-cob" Freezer Corn

    Serving Size: 1 (3638 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 517.2
     
    Calories from Fat 341
    66%
    Total Fat 37.9 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 22.7 g
    113%
    Cholesterol 96.2 mg
    32%
    Sodium 54.4 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.5 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 7.3 g
    29%
    Protein 8.7 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites