Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Octopus Hot Dogs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Octopus Hot Dogs

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on May 12, 2006

      These are so much fun! I atually make them over the bon fire. Same sort of idea without the boiling part. I cut them the same, then poke a long stick through the "head" part. The legs still curl up. My kids love them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      I've been wanting to try this for a while. My daughter isnt' yet 3 so I wasn't sure if she would like it. I made one cut on the first side but two on the 2nd side. (it was a larger sized dog). That way I got 6 legs which looked pretty realistic. She ate it all as well as the plain noodles that I served smothered in ketchup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      I actually have this recipe in a kid's cookbook my MIL bought. Only difference is that it suggested using ramen noodles as an "ocean" and making a mustard face on the octopus.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2004

      These are just completely adorable!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2004

      I seen this in a magazine, they made a bunch of them and placed them on spaghetti noodles that were cooked in green water to turn then green and they used mustard to draw a face on them SO CUTE, especially for the birthday party idea!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2004

      I read another review about a 19 yr old male who loved these. I do these and set them up on a bed of mac and cheese with little fish crackers. Dab dots for eyes and a line for the mouth. My kids think they are wonderful!! They chow it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2003

      Woah, this was fun to make for my younger brother for whom I have been playing momma since the last few days. He laughed and ate 'em all. Thank you so much for the creative idea! BTW, my bro is 19 and if he loved these, I'm sure everyone will:) Thanks again for the fun idea!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2003

      I remember being mother to four younger siblings while mamma was away at her "canning-factory" job. Anyone with younger siblings knows how difficult it was to be a "parent" at age 10. Imagination was key in the preparation of gourmet meals, hot dogs, nothwithstanding...where were you, winkki, when creativity failed me?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      So cute and easy! We enjoyed this for lunch over mac & cheese! Thank you so much for the great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      My 2 year old son's face lit up when he saw his plate. "What's that?" I asked. And he knew right away it was an octopus. Simple and fun.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      Thank you for sharing this idea. It was a real hit with my little one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      These are too cute. I served them over baked mac and cheese for my picky DH2B who's 25. Haha

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      My 5 yr old loved these! I made him two and although my tentacles didnt fare to well, he scarfed them down. Thanks for a cute idea! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      This is an awesome idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      I have been trying and trying to make these but couldn't. THis recipe helped me figure out how to curl the legs. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      my kids love these. [lol] i found this idea once in a magazine.. kraft kitchens or something. so cute.. i l've put them on top of kraft dinner, or just made them for a snack. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2006

      Haven't tried this, but how can you go wrong? This is too cute and although I don't have any I could see how any kid (including myself--even though I'm 20 years old) could love this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2005

      In the 6 years I have been a parent I think I have only had hotdogs in the house twice. Just not something I buy. But while I was gone someone obviously did as I found them in my fridge! The kids loved these. Though my son did comment on the fact that I had not cut enough legs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2005

      Made these with Classic Baked Spaghetti for the kids for Fathers Day Dinner...they loved them....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2005

      Cute and easy! The kids thought these were great. Thanks, winkki!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Octopus Hot Dogs

    Serving Size: 1 (45 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 148.5
     
    Calories from Fat 119
    80%
    Total Fat 13.3 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 23.8 mg
    7%
    Sodium 513.0 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes