11 Reviews

My son loves his octopus and seaweed. I passed this recipe on to my sister and her kids loved it too. I only have one child. I boil up the weiner in the soup water and before I add the noodles I take the weiner out of the pot. I can decorate it while the soup is cooking. Lots of fun.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Biffy 62 August 15, 2007

I am giving this five stars because my 2 year old son hasn't eaten any "meals" in four day's. He loved the Octopus dogs and the green seaweed. He had two helpings of noodles and sorry to say, 4 hotdogs (maybe he'll sleep tonight). My dh would rather have me make something different for him on these nights, maybe I'll stick to having them for lunches. Thank you for such a cute idea and something that filled up my picky eater.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenzyGirl January 24, 2009

This is so cute and budget friendly! Thanks for a cool idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shellbee January 20, 2009

This was awesome! The kids were ultra impressed and I got to be a cool mom.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CandyTX November 02, 2008

Oh! This is wonderful! Such a cute idea! Ramen is a staple in this household. DD at the grand old age of 21 is far to sophisticated to like such a juvenile treatment, but I'm ready for grandchildren. DH enjoyed it, too. Or at least he slurped it up quite readily. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Countrywife October 25, 2008

Wow, this was really great. Such a cute presentation. Of course, my finicky 4-year-old wouldn't touch the "seaweed", but my 2-year-old and DH cleaned their plates. I can't wait to make this for my niece and nephew! Thanks for sharing this cute recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hepcat1 October 18, 2008

I didn't eat this, but it gets 5 stars for my DD's reaction to it. She will be 3 in October, and just thought it was the coolest thing ever. DS, who is 15, ate it, but proclaimed it "hoakey". (He has no sense of humor). This was just a little fun something to do, and like I said La Princessa thought it was great and giggled all through dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kay D. August 16, 2008

Well, I didn't even taste this - but the granddaughters loved it and had lots of giggles while eating it. Fun recipe to make with kids. Mary

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary W. December 18, 2007

This is the only thing that I can count on my kids being happy to eat. They are thrilled to eat "octopus"! I used angel hair pasta for the seaweed and just added green coloring to the water while it was cooking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zee August 07, 2007

Thanks for the seaweed idea! My grandkids went nuts over the "octopi", but the green seaweed adds that extra "wow" factor! LOVE IT!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kizzikate April 18, 2007
Octopus and Seaweed (Ramen Noodles and Hot Dogs)