Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / October Apple Cake With Hot Caramel Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    October Apple Cake With Hot Caramel Sauce

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 12, 2010

      Thanks so much for posting this one ellie. I had to make the recipe more diabetic friendly so I used 50/50 unbleached white and coarse whole wheat flours, a scant 3/4 cup of Splenda and a more heart healthy margarine. I made the recipe into muffins because I like to freeze them and have something on hand for afternoon coffee when the mood strikes. I got 1 grated apple in and stopped at that because it took a bit to incorporate the flour mix and it was already apple stuffed. The end muffins are truly yummy. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2012

      This little cake is fabulous.......so moist and full of flavor. I will make it many more times. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      This was very good. I added two apples and 3/4 cup of sugar. Thank You for a great easy recipe,

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      This is a very delicious cake, that goes very well with a cup of dark roast coffee. YUM The grated apple, adds the extra moisture that the batter needs. So don't worry if you think it is to thick. Made for Please Review My Recipe Sept 2011

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2011

      I found Annacia's version (muffins) a good idea. The muffins came out delicious, tasty and very moist. We really loved them and we will prepare them again.
      Recipe prepared as described.
      Thanks a lot for this easy and great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      We have three apple trees, and I have made this cake seemingly non-stop since they started producing fruit. Everyon lovesit. I used two granny smith and one golden delicious apple, all large. I grated them with a hand operted food processor. To make it a little lighter, I used 2 tablespoons buter and three heaping tablespoons applesauce and it worked fine -- moist and swet. I only made half the sauce and it was plenty for the 8X8 cake(I used half and half for the cream, again, it was fine). he only thing wrong with this recipe is the number of servings it claims to have - HA. I'm lucky if the people in my house stretch it to 6 servings. BTW, I made a 13 x 9 cake by usin 1.5 times everything -- I used 5 apples, two eggs, and 3 tblsp butter, 1/2 cup applesauce instead of the butter. It was my neice's bithday cake and everyone loved it. The cake is best the first day, gets a little soggy if saved, but that rarely happens. Thanks for posting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2006

      This cake is oh so delicious! It was easy to make and so was the carmel sauce. If you're making this for the first time you should know that the batter looks almost dry before adding the grated apples. After adding the apples the batter will be a bit thick. It turned out so moist and delicious. Thanks for a truly wonderful cake recipe that will be used at our house very often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2013

      Wow, this is probably the best apple cake I have ever had. So moist and the caramel sauce really makes it. 3 apples were a bit too much I thought, maybe my apples were bigger than normal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      Love this...the only thing we did differently was to finely mince the apples rather than grate them. It is fantastic without the sauce and very sweet with the sauce, so I prefer using the sauce sparingly. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      This is very good. It turned out more like a pudding than a cake, but that's OK. My apples were on the big side, so maybe that's why. I think I'll cut the sugar in the cake when I make it again. The caramel sauce is so sweet that the cake doesn't need that much sugar. I used whole milk instead of whipping cream in the caramel because that's what I had in the house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      I made the cake and just drizzled a simple glaze (with a little brown sugar added) over the top of it- my husband just finished his second piece and declared it to be "yummy, spicy with all sorts of flavoryness". I agree! A perfect fall treat! Thanks for posting this, it was just what I was looking for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      This cake is delicious! It is extremely moist and the caramel sauce is outstanding. That is delicious enough to make on its own and serve it over ice cream or whatever dessert you would like. My DH, who isn't that crazy about apple cakes, loved this. Thanks for sharing. Made for PRMR tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2004

      Okay this is definately a winner! I followed Barb and used Splenda baking blend in the cake and sauce. I choose to leave the peel on 2 of the apples for added fiber. I did top the cake with a scoop of no-sugar added ice cream and the carmel produced a crisp shell. Everyone loved it! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2004

      OH MY GosH, this is the very BEST apple cake That I have ever, ever made. Everyone wes saying, this is so delicious. Used Jongold apples grated very fine. Made it like the recipe said , BUT, I used Splenda instead of sugar in the cake, also used splenda in place of regular sugar in the caramel sauce. Oh this is so yummy. Served it with low carb vanilla ice cream. Was enjoyed by all dinner guest. I will be making this AGAIN & AGAIN. Thank you so much Ellie for posting the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2004

      If I remember correctly, in your description you wrote delicious...well, I have to agree. The cake is so good and the caramel sauce deserves its own 5 stars. I did add 1 tsp. vanilla to the cake (habit, I guess) and also grated the apples as small as I could (they were almost applesauce). I think it would be good with a scoop of ice cream between the cake and the caramel. I plan to use the caramel on pancakes and also as a cooled dip for some tart apples. Thanks for a great new dessert recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for October Apple Cake With Hot Caramel Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 251.3
     
    Calories from Fat 102
    40%
    Total Fat 11.3 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 37.0 mg
    12%
    Sodium 175.6 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 29.1 g
    116%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes