15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks so much for posting this one ellie. I had to make the recipe more diabetic friendly so I used 50/50 unbleached white and coarse whole wheat flours, a scant 3/4 cup of Splenda and a more heart healthy margarine. I made the recipe into muffins because I like to freeze them and have something on hand for afternoon coffee when the mood strikes. I got 1 grated apple in and stopped at that because it took a bit to incorporate the flour mix and it was already apple stuffed. The end muffins are truly yummy. :D

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia October 12, 2010

This little cake is fabulous.......so moist and full of flavor. I will make it many more times. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texasjj October 16, 2012

This was very good. I added two apples and 3/4 cup of sugar. Thank You for a great easy recipe,

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naturelover November 05, 2011

This is a very delicious cake, that goes very well with a cup of dark roast coffee. YUM The grated apple, adds the extra moisture that the batter needs. So don't worry if you think it is to thick. Made for Please Review My Recipe Sept 2011

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J November 04, 2011

I found Annacia's version (muffins) a good idea. The muffins came out delicious, tasty and very moist. We really loved them and we will prepare them again.
Recipe prepared as described.
Thanks a lot for this easy and great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde November 03, 2011

We have three apple trees, and I have made this cake seemingly non-stop since they started producing fruit. Everyon lovesit. I used two granny smith and one golden delicious apple, all large. I grated them with a hand operted food processor. To make it a little lighter, I used 2 tablespoons buter and three heaping tablespoons applesauce and it worked fine -- moist and swet. I only made half the sauce and it was plenty for the 8X8 cake(I used half and half for the cream, again, it was fine). he only thing wrong with this recipe is the number of servings it claims to have - HA. I'm lucky if the people in my house stretch it to 6 servings. BTW, I made a 13 x 9 cake by usin 1.5 times everything -- I used 5 apples, two eggs, and 3 tblsp butter, 1/2 cup applesauce instead of the butter. It was my neice's bithday cake and everyone loved it. The cake is best the first day, gets a little soggy if saved, but that rarely happens. Thanks for posting this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmacdonald November 05, 2007

This cake is oh so delicious! It was easy to make and so was the carmel sauce. If you're making this for the first time you should know that the batter looks almost dry before adding the grated apples. After adding the apples the batter will be a bit thick. It turned out so moist and delicious. Thanks for a truly wonderful cake recipe that will be used at our house very often!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef mamma May 03, 2006

Wow, this is probably the best apple cake I have ever had. So moist and the caramel sauce really makes it. 3 apples were a bit too much I thought, maybe my apples were bigger than normal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise G. September 29, 2013

Love this...the only thing we did differently was to finely mince the apples rather than grate them. It is fantastic without the sauce and very sweet with the sauce, so I prefer using the sauce sparingly. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan October 28, 2012

This is very good. It turned out more like a pudding than a cake, but that's OK. My apples were on the big side, so maybe that's why. I think I'll cut the sugar in the cake when I make it again. The caramel sauce is so sweet that the cake doesn't need that much sugar. I used whole milk instead of whipping cream in the caramel because that's what I had in the house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetPeaNC September 27, 2009
October Apple Cake With Hot Caramel Sauce