Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / O'Charley's Loaded Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    O'Charley's Loaded Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on May 19, 2002

      I've made this several times. Everybody LOVED it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2010

      The reason that this may not taste like O"Charley's Soup is because the recipe is not right. I worked there for 7 years and here is the exact recipe that we follow at the restaurant. You can adjust it to meet your needs.
      15#'s of Fresh New Potatoes cut 3/8 x 3/8 x 1" skin on so wash them first
      ("Do not over cook them, they should be soft but firm , portion them in 5 pounds bags, and refrigerate them. Heat them in microwave until and then add to soup as you go. They will become mussy if you add them straight to the soup!.
      8 gal Water ( 4 to use when boiling the potatoes) 4 gal to prepare the Cream soup base
      4 Pk cream soup base
      4 0z Chicken Base (weight)
      2 #10 Cans cheese sauce
      2 TBS white pepper
      2 TBS Garlic Power
      2 TBS Tabasco sauce
      1/2 cp.. Jalapeño juice
      Mix the cream soup base with the water, Bring to boil and reduce heat for 20 min.
      After simmering add Chicken base, cheese sauce, white pepper, garlic powder, Tabasco sauce and Jalapeño juice.
      Mix well simmer for 10 min.
      This yields 6 gallons
      Shelf life is 3 days, you can refrig and reheat in Microwave or stove top.

      ,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2002

      It isnt exactly the same as the restaurants, but it is close and very good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2003

      Andrea, I found this recipe in our newspaper several years ago and it is one of my favorites! I have made it many, many times over the years and it remains one of the best. Very rich and cheesy and full of flavor for a potato soup. In my opinion, this recipe is better than the soup that is served at O'Charley's.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2014

      Omg just made this for me n my mom it is amazing I love it and so does she

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      I have made this recipe twice and made changes for simple mistakes like the amount of butter to flour will not allow a good roux to form, therefore, the soup will not be as thick as it should be. I had to add more flour and used only milk and cooked the potatoes in the microwave for 10 minutes then added it to the soup. MUCH faster to do it this way and much tastier. Use bacon bits instead of cooking bacon. The soup thickened up nicely when I added the cooked potatoes and it was delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      delicious! Freezes really well too, thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      I really love this soup. It does take a lot of time and effort but it is oh so worth it! I usually end up adding more velveeta and cheddar but that is ebcause I like it very cheesy. I dont use half and half, I prefer to use milk and it turns out just fine. It tastes amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      I tried making this reciepe for the second time tonight.I first made this soup a year ago and vowed to never waste my money agian but I thought it's been a year,i'll give it another shot. No. I have no idea how so many people say this is an easy reciepe. It's the most hectic recipe ever. I love to cook, cook all the time. never have a problem with my food not turning out but this soup. It's too much half and half and not enough cheese I always end up pouring some out and melting more cheese to put in this. Today, because I had to go bck and melt more cheese I ended up burning the bottom of the pot and the soup had a smokey taste.lol. I don't know. Good Luck, it seems to work for some.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      I was in the mood for potato soup and this went beyond what I wanted, this was not only EASY to make but it was GREAT!!! This is a MUST TRY!!! Thank you for posting it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      this is one of the best soups i've ever eaten!! i use white potatoes, half milk and half water instead of half and half, use just the velveeta no cheddar cheese, instead of frying bacon i use the real bacon pieces (soft ones) a whole package, and dried chives and parsley also add some green onion...mmmmm good stuffs!! can't say enough good stuff about this soup! hint!! do not boil, it will clump the milk, it still tastes good but looks a little funny...LoL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      Not an exact clone but certainly a more than adequate substitute. This soup is definitely a meal in itself, very rich and comforting for the first chilly days of the year. I followed the recipe, as I feel that is really the only way a cook can rate another cook's recipe. Deviations and substitutions don't give the posting cook a fair review of their recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      The best soup i've ever had!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      This soup was good but kind of time consuming to make. For the record, my husband loved it. I think using at least 1 cup of chicken stock in place of a cup of the half and half would add some flavor to the soup. I'll try that next time if I make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      This soup is pretty good and easy to make, but it doesn't taste like O'Charley's Loaded potato soup. Still good recipe, and will most likely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      My family absolutely LOVED this!!! I did add a little milk and a lot more hot sauce. Will be making again. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

    • on January 25, 2010

      Yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      This is yummy!!!! The whole family loved this. I did not use the whole amount of half and half--used 1/2 the called for amount and the rest 2% milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for O'Charley's Loaded Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (529 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 857.6
     
    Calories from Fat 573
    66%
    Total Fat 63.6 g
    97%
    Saturated Fat 36.3 g
    181%
    Cholesterol 183.7 mg
    61%
    Sodium 1361.6 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.6 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 7.3 g
    29%
    Protein 26.9 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites