57 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this several times. Everybody LOVED it!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jann Edwards May 19, 2002

The reason that this may not taste like O"Charley's Soup is because the recipe is not right. I worked there for 7 years and here is the exact recipe that we follow at the restaurant. You can adjust it to meet your needs.
15#'s of Fresh New Potatoes cut 3/8 x 3/8 x 1" skin on so wash them first
("Do not over cook them, they should be soft but firm , portion them in 5 pounds bags, and refrigerate them. Heat them in microwave until and then add to soup as you go. They will become mussy if you add them straight to the soup!.
8 gal Water ( 4 to use when boiling the potatoes) 4 gal to prepare the Cream soup base
4 Pk cream soup base
4 0z Chicken Base (weight)
2 #10 Cans cheese sauce
2 TBS white pepper
2 TBS Garlic Power
2 TBS Tabasco sauce
1/2 cp.. Jalapeño juice
Mix the cream soup base with the water, Bring to boil and reduce heat for 20 min.
After simmering add Chicken base, cheese sauce, white pepper, garlic powder, Tabasco sauce and Jalapeño juice.
Mix well simmer for 10 min.
This yields 6 gallons
Shelf life is 3 days, you can refrig and reheat in Microwave or stove top.

,

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IamChefRosie October 06, 2010

It isnt exactly the same as the restaurants, but it is close and very good!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandy rothering October 17, 2002

Andrea, I found this recipe in our newspaper several years ago and it is one of my favorites! I have made it many, many times over the years and it remains one of the best. Very rich and cheesy and full of flavor for a potato soup. In my opinion, this recipe is better than the soup that is served at O'Charley's.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev April 22, 2003

Are you certain there are not errors in this recipe--says it makes 8 servings a n d there are 8 cups of half and half, 2 cups of cheese and 1/2 lb. of bacon. Is someone on a suicide mission? That's 1 full cup of half and half per person, plus 1/4 cup of cheese and bacon to boot. Who in the world would ever drink 1 cup of half & half? I think this reflects badly on your sight and the unhealthy lifestyle you promote. 'Nuf said!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bdonna029 March 29, 2015

Not even close to O'Charley's. For the first time, I made something I could not eat. Tasted nothing but half

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jpownal2 January 14, 2015

This does not taste like o'charley's. I made it and it was sweet. I will try iamchefrosie's next time

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmc3836_5341656 January 04, 2015

The WORST potato soup recipe I have ever made. Extremely bland with no flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mearay November 11, 2014

Omg just made this for me n my mom it is amazing I love it and so does she

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
h.edwards40 January 15, 2014

I have made this recipe twice and made changes for simple mistakes like the amount of butter to flour will not allow a good roux to form, therefore, the soup will not be as thick as it should be. I had to add more flour and used only milk and cooked the potatoes in the microwave for 10 minutes then added it to the soup. MUCH faster to do it this way and much tastier. Use bacon bits instead of cooking bacon. The soup thickened up nicely when I added the cooked potatoes and it was delicious

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
terrib726 December 29, 2013
O'Charley's Loaded Potato Soup