59 Reviews

I've made this several times. Everybody LOVED it!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jann Edwards May 19, 2002

The reason that this may not taste like O"Charley's Soup is because the recipe is not right. I worked there for 7 years and here is the exact recipe that we follow at the restaurant. You can adjust it to meet your needs.
15#'s of Fresh New Potatoes cut 3/8 x 3/8 x 1" skin on so wash them first
("Do not over cook them, they should be soft but firm , portion them in 5 pounds bags, and refrigerate them. Heat them in microwave until and then add to soup as you go. They will become mussy if you add them straight to the soup!.
8 gal Water ( 4 to use when boiling the potatoes) 4 gal to prepare the Cream soup base
4 Pk cream soup base
4 0z Chicken Base (weight)
2 #10 Cans cheese sauce
2 TBS white pepper
2 TBS Garlic Power
2 TBS Tabasco sauce
1/2 cp.. Jalapeño juice
Mix the cream soup base with the water, Bring to boil and reduce heat for 20 min.
After simmering add Chicken base, cheese sauce, white pepper, garlic powder, Tabasco sauce and Jalapeño juice.
Mix well simmer for 10 min.
This yields 6 gallons
Shelf life is 3 days, you can refrig and reheat in Microwave or stove top.

,

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IamChefRosie October 06, 2010

It isnt exactly the same as the restaurants, but it is close and very good!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandy rothering October 17, 2002

Not even close to O'Charley's. For the first time, I made something I could not eat. Tasted nothing but half

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jpownal2 January 14, 2015

Andrea, I found this recipe in our newspaper several years ago and it is one of my favorites! I have made it many, many times over the years and it remains one of the best. Very rich and cheesy and full of flavor for a potato soup. In my opinion, this recipe is better than the soup that is served at O'Charley's.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev April 22, 2003

I love this soup! I have made it exactly by the recipe and then I have altered it my taste! I use 4 c half and half and 4 c white milk. All 8c of half and half makes it very rich! I use Susie's hot sauce and black pepper and it is just the right spice without being hot! My ONLY complaint with this is... The flour always gives it a chunky clumpy consistency! Anyone have a suggestion for this? I always cook mine in my crock pot because it sticks cooking it on the stove!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keri S. May 17, 2016

BEWARE!!!! This recipe is horrible!! My kids begged me to make ocharleys soup and I found this recipe and this was an epic fail!! I had to change nearly every thing about this recipe to make it even taste half way decent!! It's time consuming and expensive to make...to say I am disappointed would be an understatement!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tremily May 09, 2015

Are you certain there are not errors in this recipe--says it makes 8 servings a n d there are 8 cups of half and half, 2 cups of cheese and 1/2 lb. of bacon. Is someone on a suicide mission? That's 1 full cup of half and half per person, plus 1/4 cup of cheese and bacon to boot. Who in the world would ever drink 1 cup of half & half? I think this reflects badly on your sight and the unhealthy lifestyle you promote. 'Nuf said!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bdonna029 March 29, 2015

This does not taste like o'charley's. I made it and it was sweet. I will try iamchefrosie's next time

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmc3836_5341656 January 04, 2015

The WORST potato soup recipe I have ever made. Extremely bland with no flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mearay November 11, 2014
O'Charley's Loaded Potato Soup