Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / O'charley's Caramel Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    O'charley's Caramel Pie

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on December 19, 2005

      I understand the safety issues of boiling the cans. The pressure (water) outside the cans should be maintained. The major risk is letting the water evaporate below the level of the cans. I solved this problem by cooking my cans in my slow cooker. I just placed the cans in the cooker, filled with water, placed the lid on and cooked on low for 6-7 hrs. They turned out perfect. Be sure to let the cans cool completely before opening. I unplugged my slow cooker, let the water cool, set cans out at room temp for an hr. then refridgerated them. Try the caramel in this recipe I created if you love caramel " Caramel White Chocolate Whipped Cream Frosting" #103492

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      FYI: I heeded people's warnings about making the caramel the safe way by going to the EagleBrand website and I just WASTED 2 hours of my life trying to make caramel via the oven. DO NOT do it that way! It did not turn out at all and I even left it in there for longer than the directions said. Stick to the old-fashioned way of doing it--boil that bad boy for three hours. It always turns out that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2003

      This is terrific. So easy and it does take like O'Charley's! It's a must to cool cans before opening as I burned myself when the caramel spewed (spelling?) across the room.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      Haven't made this yet, but I'm just posting directions on caramelizing consensed milk from a 1990 Eagle Brand cookbook SIMPLY DELICIOUS DESSERTS WITH EAGLE BRAND SWEETENED CONDENSED MILK. I think this should solve the problem for everyone. To Caramelize sweetened condensed milk: Oven method; Pour 1 can sweetened condensed milk into 9 inch pie plate. Cover with foil; place in larger shallow pan. Fill larger pan with hot water. Bake at 425 degrees for 1 1/2 hours or until thick and caramel colored. Beat until smooth. Stovetop Method: Pour 1 can condensed milk into top of double boiler; place over boiling water. Over low heat, simmer 1 to 1 1/2 hours or until thick and caramel colored. Beat until smooth. Microwave Method: Pour 1 can condensed milk into 2 quart glass measure. cook on 50 % power (medium) for 4 minutes, stirring briskly every 2 minutes until smooth. cook on 30% power (medium-low) 12-18 minutes ot until very thick and caramel colored, stirring briskly every 2 minutes until smooth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2004

      Just because you can do something doesn't mean you should. Heating the cans is VERY dangerous; I can't believe anyone would risk themselves or their family by having this potential explosive, bubbling away out in the open on your stove, just to make a pie. PLEASE DON'T FOLLOW THIS METHOD! The Eagle Milk web site has directions on how to caramelize the product, using the oven, stovetop, or microwave. Please keep everyone safe and follow those directions www.eaglebrand.ca

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2003

      If you love caramel this is a caramel lover's dream! I actually use 3 cans of sweetened condensed milk for a full 9-inch pie and top it off with homemade whipped cream. I have been told on many occasions that it is dangerous to boil the cans (make sure they are always covered with water). So, I tried to duplicate the caramel filling using Eagle Brands direction for the stove top and oven method. I will tell you that neither produced the same results as that with boiling the cans. There is something that happens in that closed can environment that can't be duplicated.......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2003

      Very easy to make and very good. I have never made a pie that was this easy. We all loved it. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2003

      This is absolutely grand. My whole family loved it. I made 2 and they were both gobbled down. Best of all it is so easy to make. I give it 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2003

      One word. DELICIOUS!!! This was one of the easiest pies I have ever made. My son licked his plate clean. My husband has put this as #1 on his favorite list. The other reviews helped a lot.Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2014

      Ok let's settle this. It IS possible to make this caramel/dulce de Leche in a pot with boiling water, the old fashioned way. It requires two things: patience and brains. You have to have both to both to pull this off without scalding yourself or your family members. This WILL work if you follow this: put the cans in a large pot of boiling water. At least a few inches over the top of the cans. Cover the pot (I used my canning pot) and let boil for 3 hours. Check periodically to make sure the water level stays a few inches above the tops of the cans. Remove the cans after 3 hours. Place the cans in the fridge for an hour. Leave the alone. Go do your taxes. Take a nap. Play candy crush. Be. Patient. Once the cans are cooled, remove the lids to reveal glorious, rich caramel (or whatever you want to call it). If you follow these instructions you will have your own cans of caramely goodness at the ready. And you will walk away unscalded and with all of your appendages intact, assuming you had them to start with. (Hopping off my soapbox) Great recipe, extremely easy send delish!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      Have been meaning to make this for years, but I never wanted to boil the cans. However, I read an article yesterday that suggesting the use of a crockpot. So before I went to bed, I put two cans (minus the paper) in a crockpot and covered with water by an inch. I put the crockpot on low and let it go for eight hours while I slept. When I got up, I turned off the crock pot and then let the water cool for an hour or so. Then I took tongs and pulled out the cans and put them on the counter for half an hour. Opened them and poured them in a bowl. Couldn't be easier! I whipped the caramel because I read on another site that they do that and then freeze the pies (and possibly serve them frozen). The taste of the caramel was amazing...it is in the freezer now for serving tonight!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      I had this at a party, and it was rich and decadent. This is a recipe meant to shared with true caramel lovers!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2004

      Absolutely wonderful!!!! I used to work at an O'Charley's and this was a signature item. I make one every holiday and the family LOVES it!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2004

      You can go to the Eagle Brand Web Site to learn the safer alternatives to boiling the cans. I like using the double-boiler method! This dessert is fantastic and I also recommend sprinkling chopped pecans over the top of the pie! Yum, Yum, Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2003

      I got this recipe from a friend. It's so yummy! She did forget to tell me to let the cans cool, and as the other person said, it "spewed" across the counter (What a mess!). I also sprinkled toffee bits on top. *forgot to say that we also added sliced bananas (very yummy!).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2003

      I have this same recipe and I love it!! Only thing I do different is I top it with chocolate chips instead of the nuts.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      I finally found the recipe I've been searching for! This is unbelievably awesome and sinfully good. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      I made this a few years ago, but never reviewed it. This is delicious, and very close to the pie at O'Charley's. Highly recommended if you like that pie. In the restaurant, it is sprinkled with chopped nuts and chocolate chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      This is a true caramel lover's dessert! RICH and delicious! I used the fat free condensed milk and it worked fine. Made homemade graham cracker crust. Because I knew this pie would be sweet, I didn't add any sugar to the crust. I added some pecans on the top (about 1/4 c.), they complemented the sweet so well that next time will add more. I used the MICROWAVE to make the caramel and followed these DIRECTIONS: Pour 1 can sweetened condensed milk into a 2 qt. glass measure (use a bigger glass if doing 2 cans at a time OR WATCH CLOSELY - it may boil over; stirring frequently will help avoid this). Cook on medium (50% power) for 4 mins., stirring briskly every 2 mins until smooth. Cook on med-low (30% power) 18 - 25 mins. or until very thick and caramel colored, stirring briskly every two minutes until smooth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      Great job... a little off... being a kitchen manager for O'Charley's I'd know... but great job... and it is garnished with crushed pecans and chocolate chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for O'charley's Caramel Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 504.7
     
    Calories from Fat 174
    34%
    Total Fat 19.4 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 45.1 mg
    15%
    Sodium 316.3 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.3 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 66.6 g
    266%
    Protein 9.5 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes