29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I understand the safety issues of boiling the cans. The pressure (water) outside the cans should be maintained. The major risk is letting the water evaporate below the level of the cans. I solved this problem by cooking my cans in my slow cooker. I just placed the cans in the cooker, filled with water, placed the lid on and cooked on low for 6-7 hrs. They turned out perfect. Be sure to let the cans cool completely before opening. I unplugged my slow cooker, let the water cool, set cans out at room temp for an hr. then refridgerated them. Try the caramel in this recipe I created if you love caramel " Caramel White Chocolate Whipped Cream Frosting" #103492

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KerryBnTX December 19, 2005

FYI: I heeded people's warnings about making the caramel the safe way by going to the EagleBrand website and I just WASTED 2 hours of my life trying to make caramel via the oven. DO NOT do it that way! It did not turn out at all and I even left it in there for longer than the directions said. Stick to the old-fashioned way of doing it--boil that bad boy for three hours. It always turns out that way.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babybaker June 12, 2009

This is terrific. So easy and it does take like O'Charley's! It's a must to cool cans before opening as I burned myself when the caramel spewed (spelling?) across the room.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smilynn October 03, 2003

Haven't made this yet, but I'm just posting directions on caramelizing consensed milk from a 1990 Eagle Brand cookbook SIMPLY DELICIOUS DESSERTS WITH EAGLE BRAND SWEETENED CONDENSED MILK. I think this should solve the problem for everyone. To Caramelize sweetened condensed milk: Oven method; Pour 1 can sweetened condensed milk into 9 inch pie plate. Cover with foil; place in larger shallow pan. Fill larger pan with hot water. Bake at 425 degrees for 1 1/2 hours or until thick and caramel colored. Beat until smooth. Stovetop Method: Pour 1 can condensed milk into top of double boiler; place over boiling water. Over low heat, simmer 1 to 1 1/2 hours or until thick and caramel colored. Beat until smooth. Microwave Method: Pour 1 can condensed milk into 2 quart glass measure. cook on 50 % power (medium) for 4 minutes, stirring briskly every 2 minutes until smooth. cook on 30% power (medium-low) 12-18 minutes ot until very thick and caramel colored, stirring briskly every 2 minutes until smooth.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raquel Grinnell May 17, 2010

Just because you can do something doesn't mean you should. Heating the cans is VERY dangerous; I can't believe anyone would risk themselves or their family by having this potential explosive, bubbling away out in the open on your stove, just to make a pie. PLEASE DON'T FOLLOW THIS METHOD! The Eagle Milk web site has directions on how to caramelize the product, using the oven, stovetop, or microwave. Please keep everyone safe and follow those directions www.eaglebrand.ca

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie January 01, 2004

If you love caramel this is a caramel lover's dream! I actually use 3 cans of sweetened condensed milk for a full 9-inch pie and top it off with homemade whipped cream. I have been told on many occasions that it is dangerous to boil the cans (make sure they are always covered with water). So, I tried to duplicate the caramel filling using Eagle Brands direction for the stove top and oven method. I will tell you that neither produced the same results as that with boiling the cans. There is something that happens in that closed can environment that can't be duplicated.......

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn December 31, 2003

Very easy to make and very good. I have never made a pie that was this easy. We all loved it. Thank you for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JaydensMommy22 December 30, 2003

This is absolutely grand. My whole family loved it. I made 2 and they were both gobbled down. Best of all it is so easy to make. I give it 5 stars.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DONNA PANNELL December 23, 2003

One word. DELICIOUS!!! This was one of the easiest pies I have ever made. My son licked his plate clean. My husband has put this as #1 on his favorite list. The other reviews helped a lot.Thanks

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chell in MS October 06, 2003

Ok let's settle this. It IS possible to make this caramel/dulce de Leche in a pot with boiling water, the old fashioned way. It requires two things: patience and brains. You have to have both to both to pull this off without scalding yourself or your family members. This WILL work if you follow this: put the cans in a large pot of boiling water. At least a few inches over the top of the cans. Cover the pot (I used my canning pot) and let boil for 3 hours. Check periodically to make sure the water level stays a few inches above the tops of the cans. Remove the cans after 3 hours. Place the cans in the fridge for an hour. Leave the alone. Go do your taxes. Take a nap. Play candy crush. Be. Patient. Once the cans are cooled, remove the lids to reveal glorious, rich caramel (or whatever you want to call it). If you follow these instructions you will have your own cans of caramely goodness at the ready. And you will walk away unscalded and with all of your appendages intact, assuming you had them to start with. (Hopping off my soapbox) Great recipe, extremely easy send delish!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xpnsve April 20, 2014
O'charley's Caramel Pie