Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Obama Family Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Obama Family Chili Recipe

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 28, 2008

      What a waste of ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      Some thing about this recipe leaves a bad taste in your mouth. Possibly a little too LIBERAL with the turmeric.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2012

      Since this chili had different ingredients that what I generally use for my own chili creations I wanted to try it. It was nothing too spectacular so I ended up adding ingredients to the end product to make it more palatable. I felt the fresh tomatoes didn't really add much broth to the chili so I ended up adding 1/2 of a large can of tomato sauce. I also added 3 jalapenos, garlic salt, chili con carne seasoning, ancho chili, crushed red peppers and cumin. I am not a fan of turmeric but added it initially. Still not a fan of it (lol).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      Made a few changes, I lessened the vinegar to 2 T, added 1 can of diced tomatoes, drained the red kidney beans and added some salt and pepper to taste. I simmered it for 45 minutes and served it over white rice. It was delicious and very simple to make. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Wow! What a great bowl of spicy and innovative chili! This is JUST the CHANGE our family needed to wake us up and excite our palates. After years of the same tired old chili, we were looking for something new and this was fit the bill perfectly. Thanks SO much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2013

      Obama fan... but this is about as bland a Chile recipe as one will find. Unimaginative and boring. Glad I didn't make it, just ate it. Definitely wouldn't make it now. Needs a whole lot of tweaking is all I'm gonna say. Use your imaginations. Or better yet, a different recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      I really enjoyed this very meaty chili. It isn't spicy, but has plenty of flavor from the herbs & spices that are added. Salt & Pepper isn't mentioned, I added both to taste. For the tomatoes, I just added a handful of cherry tomatoes and about 4-5 small vine tomatoes I had in the house, crushed. I liked that this wasn't too tomato-ey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      I would have preferred a good chili from Arizona, lol.. ;) ((updated 6/10/2009 to remove stars, so as not to skew rating))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      This chili recipe was awesome! Made a few alterations: added chicken sausage and pork pieces to the mix. When served, garnished with scallions and onions along with the shredded cheese. DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      Loved it! Simple and yummy dinner to celebrate President Obama's Inauguration. I used two cans of diced tomatoes, ground turkey, lots of garlic powder, & extra spices to taste (esp cumin). Let it simmer for a bit so the flavors melded together. Served with grated cheese, diced red onions, and crushed tortilla chips in place of rice. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      We served this as our Inauguration Night dinner. It was pretty good - it reminded me a bit of my mom's chili. Not spicy at all, so my 7 year old loved it. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes and a small can of tomato paste instead of the tomatoes. Served over rice with shredded cheddar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      I made this on election night (it seemed appropriate, and I love chili anyway!). This is a very good chili... different from what I'm used to, but still very good. I did make a few changes based on what I had available... canned tomotes instead of fresh, and white beans instead of kidney, and more garlic just because we love garlic. My fiance loved the flavor and wants this to be one of our regular chili recipes now! I wasn't as big a fan as he was, but I still enjoyed it very much. We agreed that it would probably be even better with beef (we used turkey).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      I had to try this when I saw it was an Obama family recipe. It was very tasty - the only change I made was to use soy crumbles (vegetarian) and reduced the vinegar just because that seemed like a lot. It was great! Obama 08!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      Unlike others, I was a lot more liberal with spices - who wants a conservative chili? I want a big taste! I used pork and beef and tripled the amount of spices. I always use canned italian toms in a cooked sauce. A real winner with salt and a lot of fresh ground black pepper. Pretty terrific!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      I skipped the green pepper and used stewed tomatoes instead of fresh. So, I simmered the thing for ~40 minutes or so. It was awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Obama Family Chili Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 183.1
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    32%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 39.1 mg
    13%
    Sodium 52.4 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 16.3 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites