15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a waste of ingredients.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z,G,L's mom October 28, 2008

Some thing about this recipe leaves a bad taste in your mouth. Possibly a little too LIBERAL with the turmeric.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Johnny Pasta October 22, 2008

Since this chili had different ingredients that what I generally use for my own chili creations I wanted to try it. It was nothing too spectacular so I ended up adding ingredients to the end product to make it more palatable. I felt the fresh tomatoes didn't really add much broth to the chili so I ended up adding 1/2 of a large can of tomato sauce. I also added 3 jalapenos, garlic salt, chili con carne seasoning, ancho chili, crushed red peppers and cumin. I am not a fan of turmeric but added it initially. Still not a fan of it (lol).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Petunia September 28, 2012

Made a few changes, I lessened the vinegar to 2 T, added 1 can of diced tomatoes, drained the red kidney beans and added some salt and pepper to taste. I simmered it for 45 minutes and served it over white rice. It was delicious and very simple to make. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MasakoHI April 02, 2009

Wow! What a great bowl of spicy and innovative chili! This is JUST the CHANGE our family needed to wake us up and excite our palates. After years of the same tired old chili, we were looking for something new and this was fit the bill perfectly. Thanks SO much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liza at Food.com October 28, 2008

Obama fan... but this is about as bland a Chile recipe as one will find. Unimaginative and boring. Glad I didn't make it, just ate it. Definitely wouldn't make it now. Needs a whole lot of tweaking is all I'm gonna say. Use your imaginations. Or better yet, a different recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenkins B. November 09, 2013

I really enjoyed this very meaty chili. It isn't spicy, but has plenty of flavor from the herbs & spices that are added. Salt & Pepper isn't mentioned, I added both to taste. For the tomatoes, I just added a handful of cherry tomatoes and about 4-5 small vine tomatoes I had in the house, crushed. I liked that this wasn't too tomato-ey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather November 15, 2009

I would have preferred a good chili from Arizona, lol.. ;) ((updated 6/10/2009 to remove stars, so as not to skew rating))

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steve in FL June 10, 2009

This chili recipe was awesome! Made a few alterations: added chicken sausage and pork pieces to the mix. When served, garnished with scallions and onions along with the shredded cheese. DELICIOUS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
curleegrly January 31, 2009

Loved it! Simple and yummy dinner to celebrate President Obama's Inauguration. I used two cans of diced tomatoes, ground turkey, lots of garlic powder, & extra spices to taste (esp cumin). Let it simmer for a bit so the flavors melded together. Served with grated cheese, diced red onions, and crushed tortilla chips in place of rice. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
averybird January 20, 2009
Obama Family Chili Recipe