7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very very good. My son just loved them. I think soaking the rolled oats in buttermilk really brings something special to this recipe. I did soak for the entire time but as stated by another review the entire time may not be necessary. It appeared that all the milk was absorbed about 20 minutes into the soaking. I did not have any liners so I just sprayed the pans well and they all popped easily out without any sticking. I did get 12 decent regular sized muffins out of this batter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus April 05, 2009

What a SUPER YUMMY muffin recipe! I really enjoyed its subtle cinnamon flavour and the moist inside paired with a lovely crunchy outside. The soaked oats really give it that extra something. I do have to admit though that I ran out of time and only soaked mine for 15 minutes, which was completely fine. I also realised too late that I had run out of soda, so I just used more baking powder instead and my muffins turned out nicely. I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup, which was just right for me. However if you prefer your muffins sweeter, Id use the full 1/2 cup. I made the full recipe, but divided the dough and added raisins to one half. A tasty addition, but really not necessary. They are perfect as is. I got exactly ten muffins out of it. Thanks so much for sharing this gem of a recipe with us, Lorrie! I will surely make it often again! Made and reviewed for Every Day is a Holiday Tag Game April 2009.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula April 05, 2009

very good outcome on this one. this is not an overly sweet muffin so nice for breakfast or after school. I plan to play with it just a bit; mixing 1/2 AP and 1/2 whole wheat flours or 3:1 ratio on that. I will probably cut the butter as well and substituting w/ some applesauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SMH September 08, 2009

These are nice muffins. I only had to cook mine for 21 minutes. I doubled the recipe and made 24 regular sized muffins. I love the nutmeg taste to them...might up the cinnamon next time a bit just a personal preference. You could easily add raisins or apple to this recipe for a change.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KennKonn March 17, 2008

These muffins are excellent!! Very moist and full of flavour, delicious warm with butter for breakfast. We all enjoyed them. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda in Adelaide January 03, 2008

These muffins are so easy to do. I reduced the amount of sugar and used vegetable oil instead of butter. Thanks Lorrie :) Made for photo tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette November 17, 2007

These were so easy to make, and they came out perfectly! For me this made 12 standard size muffins, which we've very much enjoyed for breakfasts this week. I made exactly as stated, except for using organic spelt flour instead of all-purpose. The oatmeal and cinnamon flavours really come through. Yum! Thanks Lorrie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaInOz November 14, 2007
Oatmeal Spice Muffins