Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oatmeal Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oatmeal Scones

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 14, 2003

      This recipe is delicious and very easy to make! I accidentally used Quick Oats, and they came out fine. These scones look and taste very professional. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing this, Barb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2004

      Very good and easy recipe. I substituted soy milk (w/ lemon juice) for the buttermilk.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2003

      Absolutely Fabulous!!! I love these goodies!! I had some golden raisins and dried cherries on hand and added those to the mix instead of currants but you could use any dried fruits. Next time I am adding slivered almonds! DELUXE!! Thanks Barb for this delectable goodness! :0)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      These are excellent! Very easy to make and are just as good as the one's at a local coffee house where I first had them. I added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon and 1/8 tsp of ground cloves and next time would increase the dried cranberries to 3/4 or 1 cup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      These were delicious! I gave it five stars even though my scones didn't turn out so well. The batter looked incredibly dry, so I added some more milk. I'm afraid I overcompensated :( so the scones spread out quite a bit and were very crumbly. The taste was superb, though! I used whole wheat pastry flour, raisins, and a tbsp of orange zest. MmmMmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      I've been using this recipe for a few years now, and it is one of my biggest hits. My husband took some to work yesterday and everyone kept saying how they were good enough to have come from a bakery. I add chocolate chips when making them for my kids (and myself), and my husband enjoys raisin or cranraisin. The only substitution I make is to use sour milk (about 1/2-1 tbsp lemon juice in the 1/2c milk). Love these scones!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      love the recipe! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      Sorry to be off from so many others who rated this recipe. I make scones jusdt about every Saturday and I was looking for a recipe that would use up some oatmeal and buttermilk I had on hand. The recipe doesn't call for buttermilk but many reviewers said they used it so I thought it would be okay. The scones tasted fine (a little heavy) but they "spread" instead of rising up like my usual scone recipes do ... could be the use of buttermilk instead of regular milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      I wasn't particularly impressed with these scones. I was hoping they would be fluffier and rise a little more. Perhaps it's high altitude affecting them? I was hoping to serve them to my mom's club, but am a little hesitant now because they don't look "pretty."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      Quick, easy and delicious. Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out beautifully. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      Really delicious!!!!! I substituted buttermilk for milk because that's what I had on hand, added a little cinnamon and just a bit more sugar in the dough and on top for a crunchy sweet topping!!! Yum!! Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      This is a great recipe; very easy, and quick, too! My family loves the scones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      These were delicious! My mom is Irish, so we are a scone loving family, but I wanted to try something different from our normal way, but not too different (i.e. not so sweet/full of stuff that they are more like dessert). My mom was not confident, but she has now asked me to make another batch (and double it!) for some guests we are having. I even cut the sugar to 1/4 cup and they were delicious! We served them with clotted cream and/or strawberry jam. Thanks, Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      I've never made these myself, but my mom made them for the second time yesterday and I just had to share how much I love them! They're by far the best scones I've ever tasted, and they're so easy to make. She uses soy milk and lemon juice in place of the buttermilk, and they've come out great both times. This recipe is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Scones Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oatmeal Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 294.0
     
    Calories from Fat 118
    40%
    Total Fat 13.1 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 47.4 mg
    15%
    Sodium 238.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 18.0 g
    72%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites