14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is delicious and very easy to make! I accidentally used Quick Oats, and they came out fine. These scones look and taste very professional. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing this, Barb.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whisper September 14, 2003

Very good and easy recipe. I substituted soy milk (w/ lemon juice) for the buttermilk.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lheisl February 08, 2004

Absolutely Fabulous!!! I love these goodies!! I had some golden raisins and dried cherries on hand and added those to the mix instead of currants but you could use any dried fruits. Next time I am adding slivered almonds! DELUXE!! Thanks Barb for this delectable goodness! :0)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mousehouse62 November 15, 2003

These are excellent! Very easy to make and are just as good as the one's at a local coffee house where I first had them. I added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon and 1/8 tsp of ground cloves and next time would increase the dried cranberries to 3/4 or 1 cup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenoxley May 17, 2010

These were delicious! I gave it five stars even though my scones didn't turn out so well. The batter looked incredibly dry, so I added some more milk. I'm afraid I overcompensated :( so the scones spread out quite a bit and were very crumbly. The taste was superb, though! I used whole wheat pastry flour, raisins, and a tbsp of orange zest. MmmMmm.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larklearningtopray March 06, 2010

I've been using this recipe for a few years now, and it is one of my biggest hits. My husband took some to work yesterday and everyone kept saying how they were good enough to have come from a bakery. I add chocolate chips when making them for my kids (and myself), and my husband enjoys raisin or cranraisin. The only substitution I make is to use sour milk (about 1/2-1 tbsp lemon juice in the 1/2c milk). Love these scones!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisasaba September 22, 2009

love the recipe! thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonalee January 11, 2009

Sorry to be off from so many others who rated this recipe. I make scones jusdt about every Saturday and I was looking for a recipe that would use up some oatmeal and buttermilk I had on hand. The recipe doesn't call for buttermilk but many reviewers said they used it so I thought it would be okay. The scones tasted fine (a little heavy) but they "spread" instead of rising up like my usual scone recipes do ... could be the use of buttermilk instead of regular milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GramCracker October 06, 2008

I wasn't particularly impressed with these scones. I was hoping they would be fluffier and rise a little more. Perhaps it's high altitude affecting them? I was hoping to serve them to my mom's club, but am a little hesitant now because they don't look "pretty."

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginthekitchen September 22, 2008

Quick, easy and delicious. Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out beautifully. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Burgundy Damsel March 27, 2008
Oatmeal Scones