10 Reviews

I bake cookies every month for a visit to an Assisted Living Home. Several of the residents are diabetic, so I thought I would try this recipe so they would have their own special cookies. I hate to say it, but they were pretty much a disaster. I dropped them by the tablespoon and they did not spread out at all. They are so dry you can barely eat them. I added a little milk to the last of the batter and patted the dough down so that they spread a tiny bit. They just do not seem to have enough liquid in them for all the dry ingredients. Any suggestions? Disappointed in Georgia.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ssherrell December 12, 2013

Great recipe. Since it called for granular splenda and not the blend, the first batch was a little dry. I modified it by adding 1 tablespoon of brown sugar. Love these!

I also used craisins. I soaked them in warm water for 1/2 hour first and then drained the water before adding them. This added just enough moisture to make them softer. I think it may also have removed some of the sugar coating on the craisins so that may help with calorie count.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eileen1113 January 20, 2013

I'm sure my diabetic fater-in-law will enjoy these cookies. I love the taste, too. Very easy to prepare & delicious!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LitaQ December 30, 2005

Good taste a little soft and maybe a little too sweet, but good. Now if we could just come up with something to get rid of half the fat. I added some nuts with the rasins

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
John W Wenzelburger January 10, 2005

Excellent oatmeal cookie recipe..my husband walked through the kitchen and grabbed a cookie and said, this is a great oatmeal cookie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
louise1007 June 25, 2015

I don't understand why this recipe got quite a few good ratings. I only made the following changes: coconut oil instead of butter (which I have done before & it never affected the recipe), and no raisins. The dough & cookies were WAY too dry. They didn't spread out at all (stayed in round balls on the sheet), and just crumbled to pieces.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ke_jyeager December 23, 2013

These were good but a little crumbly and didn't raise much. I also used a scant cup of Splenda since one reviewer said they were too sweet. Personally I think 1 cup as listed in the recipe would have been better. My DH has diabetes so will be making these again. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea October 10, 2013

YUM! I love these. Just took the thrid batch out... almost 2 batches gone. Whoops. I put semi sweet chocolate chips in mine, I don't care for raisins. My kids love them as well. THANK YOU!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef for the love of sweets March 22, 2010

These are great! I used craisins and Splenda, and followed the instructions as written except I made them a little too big. Not a problem - I ate three as soon as they were cool enough to handle. They made a wonderful dinner. Thanks for a great cookie recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoKittenGo December 24, 2005

My whole family loved them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tonyas518 January 23, 2005
Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Made With Splenda Sugar Blend for Baking