1084 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WOW!! These are the BEST oatmeal raisin cookies ever!! Soft, moist, chewy, the texture is perfect! I used unsalted butter and added 1/2 t cinnamon. These cookies are as good as any bakery sells. This will be my oatmeal cookie recipe from now on! Thanks Bev!!!

65 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz October 22, 2002

I swear on a stack of cookbooks that these cookies are near to perfection! I like oatmeal cookies (BUT only when they're soft and chewy; I don't like crispy oatmeal cookies) but my son and hubby don't like 'em at all. With anticipation of a personal oatmeal-cookie-feast, I halved this recipe and whipped up the batch this afternoon -- easy to prepare. I made one change with regards to ingredients: I soaked the raisins in some hot water and dark rum for about 15 minutes, then drained well. As for preparation, I used a small scoop, baked them for just 10 minutes, and they were (are!) divine -- soft and tender and chewy. My yield (small scoop, half of this recipe) was 41 cookies. A true Hall of Fame cookie, Bev!

60 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie November 15, 2002

These cookies are fantastic! Otis Spunkmeyer Bakery-style cookies that are so chewy. The only thing that you can do to make these cookies better is a glass of milk ; ) YUMMMMMMMMM Definitely not enough stars, these cookies deserve 10 stars Thanks so much Bev!

38 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeNut September 20, 2002

These are heavenly cookies. I altered the recipe slightly by using margarine instead of unsalted butter and adding about a tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and 1/4 tsp cloves. I would decrease the salt slightly if using anything but unsalted butter, and the spices added a nice undertone. The texture is just wonderful, though. Thanks for the recipe.

24 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizeroo October 09, 2002

I have a theory that if I were stranded on a deserted island there are only two foods I would need (the drinks will be treated in a separate review). One is peanut butter and crackers (this should be thought of as ONE food). The other is this oatmeal cookie. This is the perfect food. This cookie gives you a good reason to go light on supper so you save room. This cookie is the reason that milk was invented. Enjoy!

24 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan'l September 10, 2002

Yum! I added a cup of walnuts. Also, I baked them for just another minute or so until they were just a tad darker than golden brown and they cooled with wonderful crispy edges and a tender center. Great taste and texture. Thank you!

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaraFish March 27, 2003

Bev, I made these today with my three year old daughter. What can I say besides. I'm in Heaven. These are the best homemade oatmeal raisin cookies that I have ever tasted. My three year old fought me for the first one out of the oven and I can't get her to stop eating them. Thanks a bunch for helping me make memories with my daughter.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nnreq November 13, 2002

yum! i'm chowing down my 8th one right now. put the batter in the fridge, it's the only way i can stop eating them is to stop making them. i too added cinnamon which i really think is a good ingredient for this recipe. can't wait to bring some to my mom tomorrow she's gonna flip! thx! o and i used instant oatmeal and margarine cuz that's all i had and it was fine.

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
g #2 January 09, 2003

These are excellent and chewy! Before adding the raisins I divided the batter and stirred raisins into half and chocolate chips into the other half. They are excellent as Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies too!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Poohbear Pam March 25, 2003

This is the best oatmeal cookie ever!! thank you Bev!!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa November 09, 2002
Oatmeal Raisin Cookies