18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

the recipe was excellent. I did not need to make any adaptions. Will make it many more times

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patti 2 March 16, 2003

This is my new standard raisin bread recipe!! It rose nicely, and the taste & texture were wonderful! I added a teaspoon of cinnamon, and used quick oats. I added the oats in step 1 instead of adding them later with the raisins. I set the bread machine for the 'Dough' cycle, then kneaded the dough and placed it in a greased loaf pan to rise. (By the way, it was easy to handle, and I didn't even bother flouring the counter!) After it was risen, I baked it in a 385 F oven for about 24 minutes. When cooled, I cut into slices. It was easy to slice without 'caving in'. The bread was soft and moist, with a crisp crust. Delicious! This would also make an awesome regular white loaf without the addition of raisins! Thanks for posting this recipe, Capncrunch!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truebrit February 03, 2010

Our whole family loves this bread. I add the oatmeal with the liquids because we it less crunchy. Also add 1 tsp cinnamon. Smells like cinnamon rolls when it is baking!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lee_tah October 29, 2011

This is a delightful bread! The raisins and honey add just the right amount of sweetness to this loaf. I used Quaker Quick-1 Minute Oats, as this is all I had on hand, which gave this bread a denser, chewy texture. Very, very nice! I will enjoy this as toast with cinnamon and sugar in the morning! Thank you so much, Capncrunch!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev March 18, 2003

Loved this bread! I made a few adaptations from the reviews. I added 1 tsp of cinnamon and substituted unsulfured molasses for the honey. I put the water and old fashioned oats in the bread machine first, along with the raisins as my machine doesn't have a delayed intake for them. Thank you, Capncrunch for a great recipe. I'm going to try your Creamed Cinnamon Raisin Nut Bread (#66940) today.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wirkwoman1 May 02, 2014

We just finished sampling this bread and both of us give it 10 stars! I soaked the raisins in a bit of brandy and added 1 tsp. of cinnamon. I had to add a bit more flour but fingure that was because the raisins hadn't totally drained. I used the ABM on dough cycle and then split the dough into two loaf pans. Baked the loaves at 350 for 35 minutes. My kitchen still smells like heaven! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka April 08, 2013

I used Demerara sugar in place of the honey, 50% whole wheat flour and 1 tsp. of cinnamon and it came out great. I did have to add 2 Tbsp. of water when I added the raisins and oatmeal to help blend into the dough. Used sweet bread setting and medium crust.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerseygentcmc October 30, 2010

This is a wonderful bread. It was so easy and came out looking gorgeous. I love homemade bread as toast and this bread makes yummy toast! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Smiley7 March 01, 2010

this is a great recipe i tried it out in my bread machine i got this chistmas and i loved the bread but i need to add more honey to taste kinda sweet and add more flavor so the bread tasted like a reg bread off the shelf without the extra honey and i also added pecans it was a great addition

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alleeyatx26 January 20, 2010

We loved this! I used quick cook oats and added pecans, cinnamon and nutmeg and a tiny bit of brown sugar. My husband doesn't even like oatmeal but he has LOVED this. Eat it with a little butter on it warmed up. YUM!! Thank you for posting this! It's a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tifdblpn June 30, 2008
Oatmeal - Raisin Bread (ABM)