25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I can't believe I forgot to review this recipe. These cookies are now my all time favorite. I did use half white and half brown sugar, half white and wheat flour and used chocolate chips instead of raisins. For Christmas, I am going to use cranberries instead of raisins. Excellent recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Java December 16, 2003

I tried this recipe, yesterday, but made three changes to it. First, I substituted half of the butter with 1/2 cup Canola oil. Next, one of the cups of sugar that I used, became brown sugar. And third but finally, I added 1 tsp. of vanilla to the recipe. I left everything else as is. The cookies were "yummy," and I suppose they would be yummy without the changes, but with these changes, they were closer to the ones I've always made. I only got 48 cookies from this recipe, because I made them on the "big" side. Gave half of them to a neighbor who thought they were excellent.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joje in Oklahoma City, OK, United States July 30, 2003

I Love it! Darn Delicous! My husband is being tempt to steal more!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RED TAZ May 31, 2003

I like peanut butter and I like oatmeal. Today I couldn't decide which to bake, so I tried these. I didn't add any raisins (as I don't care for them in cookies). I added a touch of vanilla and after my first batch it became obvious that these needed more flour. I ALWAYS have to add more flour to my oatmeal cookies or they spread out real thin and I like them to stay nice and even and thick. The flour helped tremendously, and the cookies are okay, but somehow I don't like them together as much as I thought I would...but the kids love them so it's good. Probably wouldn't make them again, I'd just go back to making one or the other. But thanks for the experience!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Wendy September 11, 2012

I really liked these cookies. I made the recipe exactly as directed. Althought my roommate and I enjoyed them, I am disappointed with the fact that my bf did not, because of the peanut butter (he likes everything I cook and oatmeal cookies are his favorite cookies).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grossen's Girl Chef May 21, 2010

Yum! Just took the first batch out of the oven, I went with Big ones (about 36) so I cooked them about 15-16 minutes. I also substituted half of the butter for canola oil, half the sugar with brown and used a bit of whole wheat flour (cause I ran out of white!) First batch I didn't put any raisins in, the second batch which is currently in the oven has dried cranberries, can't wait to see how they come out! Thanks for a really nice cookie recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Reggie's Mom February 27, 2010

Made this as written and they turned out fantastic! I made 36 huge cookies instead of 108 small ones however. They were gone within 2 days of making them! I used golden raisins, and Earth Balance for the butter/margarine as we don't do dairy in our house. I also used PB Co's White Chocolate Peanut Butter (certified vegan). They were awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Magyarfozo September 13, 2009

I made these just as written and they couldn't have been better, they were tasty , soft and chewy. The peanut butter taste isn't overbearing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phoenix 0880 February 16, 2009

Tasted great! I did make a few changes I used 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup white sugar. I soaked the raisins with one of the eggs and 1 teaspoon vanilla for about a half hour. I also used 3/4 cup peanut butter. Everyone really enjoyed the cookies. The slight peanut butter taste with the oatmeal was a real hit. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lighthouse Rita February 07, 2009

These are VERY good! A few of the cookies from the first batch got a little too brown on the bottom and those were the first I tried. I wasn't too impressed, but when the second batch came out, I was very pleased!!! I substituted the raisins for chocolate chips and all the flavors came through. The peanut butter, oatmeal, chocolate combination was perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PumpKIM January 12, 2009
Oatmeal-Peanut Butter Cookies