35 Reviews

If you were expecting actual muffins of some kind, this is a one...if you were expecting baked oatmeal in a cup, it would be higher....actually 'undercooked' oatmeal in a cup, since the author didn't specify to use quick oats, one usually assumes that means whole. It does not hold together. If you want an actual muffin, try pulsing about half the oats in your food processor to make a flour, and cut the honey in half and replace with brown or rapadura sugar, (or entirely with). You might get something closer to an actual muffin you can eat in your hand. Luckily, I was able to fiddle around and use the mess to make a soft granola bar for my son's lunch box. Not the way I had planned to start my day when I just wanted a quick muffin recipe, however, it worked out fine in the end.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blessdbartos March 26, 2008

I enjoy these way too much! To make these even healthier, I now use soy milk in place of regular and reduce the honey to 1/2 cup. 1/4 cup applesauce and 3T. ground flax can be used in place of oil. I also like to increase raisins to 1/2 cup and add 1/4 tsp cinnamon. I've also found that a little lemon zest added to the batter makes these quite special. Baked at 375° for 15 - 20 min., these turn out perfect. Edited to say: I was so intent on telling about my changes, I forgot to say that the original recipe is very good!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra February 09, 2007

This recipe turned out great! Very moist. Changes: 1. Used 3 very ripe bananas instead of the nuts and raisins. 2. Baked batter in 9 X 13 oiled pan instead of muffin pan.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stone64 June 20, 2008

Very yummy and dense. I replaced the honey with the same amount of brown sugar. I also added 1 apple that I had shredded using a cheese grater. I replaced raisins with craisins, vanilla extract with vanilla paste, and eggs with egg beaters. I also added a small amount of cinnamon. I used normal rolled oats because I like them al dente and I didn't have quick oats.

Totally recommend these to anyone. Next time I might add shredded carrot and some applesauce too. I think any dried fruits (apricots, blueberries, cherries, etc) or slivered almonds could also be added to this recipe for a little variety. The only criticism I have is that the muffins were a bit small. I think the top is the best part. I'll either try again in a big muffin pan or a muffin top pan.

P.S. Make sure you let them fully cool before you eat them. They get sooooo much better after they cool off.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HocoRuco November 02, 2010

Turn down the temperature!!!! They got a little burt tops as many reviewers noted even though at the end I turned it down the oven to 350F it was too hot already. I loved the flavour the banana option imparted and the moist texture from it as well. I used about 1 1/2 small-medium bananas plus a bit more chopped walnuts than called for. I used an organic honey in a bit lesser quantity and they were still plenty sweet. I used old fashioned oats and would grind some of them next time, I used canola oil, sea salt and fat free yogurt for the milk along with water. I would make these again especially if I have no flours. They taste great anyway.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat November 01, 2010

This is a great recipe! Instead of using all honey I used 1 part honey 1 part splenda, they came out great. My kids love them too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TrySumthinNew October 03, 2010

Liked this recipe a lot and so did my daughters. I substituted the nuts and raisens with chocolate chips and omitted sugar. Surprised how good they were even without any sweetener added. Will post other variations as I try them too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DigiBrat May 29, 2010

These were wonderful! Not only were they easy to make, but they taste great, too. Like a cross between a bowl of oatmeal and an oatmeal cookie. I added chopped apples (out of raisins) and walnuts, with 3/4 tsp. of cinnamon. Perfect for breakfast. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zelizabeth October 29, 2009

This was so good! I mashed 3 bananas and 1 bag of semi sweet chocolate chips instead of the nuts and raisins and it came of fantastic. I wasn't sure what to make when I had no flour in the house and this is the perfect recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TeamO'Hara October 19, 2009

This recipe saved the day!!!! I was going to make banana crumble muffins and then discovered that we had bugs in our whole-wheat flour so had to toss it, but had already mashed up 3 bananas for the crumble recipe. So, I quickly looked online and found this! The reviews by others saying they used bananas really helped. I used 3 bananas, a handful of dried cranberries, 1/4 cup raw cane sugar, a pinch of cinnamon and it worked out really well. Nice and moist - a great breakfast muffin!! I also used sillicone cups, not paper cups. Thanks!!! I will be posting a different version of these muffins that I baked this morning on my blog. http://foodhogger.wordpress.com

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foodhogger July 28, 2008
Oatmeal Muffins (No Flour at All!)