55 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My family really enjoyed these! I used old fashioned oats and soaked them about 20min. I also added a dash of cinnamon and vanilla. I can see that these would be very versatile muffins. I can't wait to try them with a little carrot added.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Jena~ March 03, 2012

These were very yummy. I did add a finely chopped apple, a tsp. of cinnamon and a tsp. of vanilla, because the addition of the apple, I got 15 muffins. I think I will also add some walnuts next time. Thanks Marg for sharing the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imdrabbit October 29, 2010

I made these for the following week's breakfast but let them cool on the counter too long and they were snacked on except for the last 2 I saved for breakfast. Needless to say, we loved these and they were easy, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore January 28, 2015

I thought these were ok. They did not rise like I thought they would, and they were a bit heavy (I really like a huge, but still light & feathery muffin). I did add some finely chopped apple, so perhaps that weighed them down a bit, but I did wish they had risen more. Some I filled in the muffin cups 3/4 high and those did not rise to the top of the muffin cups. The rest I over filled, and they did rise up a bit above the top of the muffin cups, the way I like. I just like a nice big & hearty muffin, so I don't have to eat so many of them to satisfy my tummy at breakfast time. I will try them again without the apple. Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasKelly January 26, 2012

These were great! Plain, but so good warm w/ butter and rasp jam! I used a sub recipe for buttermilk - which was fun...and I used salted butter for the shortening and then added only 1/8 tsp more salt to muffins. They seemed good to us. I'm keeping the recipe! I think adds would be good - blueberries and cinnamon - yum. Thanks! Alright, made these now with blueberries and 1/4 tsp cinnamon, prob.could use more? They look sooo good cooling on the counter. Can't wait to eat them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pollo October 31, 2011

Delicious! I added 1/2 t vanilla plus walnuts, raisins and white chocolate chips. I also added a topping of 4 T brown sugar, 4 T flour, 1 t cinnamon and 2 t melted butter mixed together and crumbled over the top of the muffins before baking. In my convection oven, it took the whole 20 minutes to bake. I used whole oats too. Thanks for a keeper Marg :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup August 05, 2011

LOVE this recipe. Have made it many times for my church's breakfast on Sunday mornings. I make them in huge batches (150 at a time), they are delicious, tender, and always turn out just right! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauradoony December 22, 2010

I'm only giving this 4 stars because I've never actually made these as is. As a general muffin to add your own twist to these are great. I've made these several times now but I usually add either blueberries or banana's. My favorite has been to mash 1.5 cups of banana with the oats and add 1/4 cup of oat bran and let them sit overnight (I like to bake muffins in the am when its cool). I usually add 1 tsp of cinnamon as well. My 10 month old and my hubby LOVE them! Thanks for a good recipe,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bud's mom June 23, 2010

Wonderful & quick. Used melted trans-free marg, whole wheat flour, touch of vanilla, & handful of chocolate chips. Threw in a loaf pan (quicker than muffin tins) & baked for 40min. Kids & hubby loved!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gourmet RD April 24, 2010

Easy, versatile delicious!! Added vanilla, cinnamon and dried blueberries. Great snack. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pdxrose September 03, 2009
Oatmeal Muffins