14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very nice, although the nutmeg flavour is rather strong! I omitted the egg, as I usually do with muffin recipes, and scaled down to make 6. This recipe made very small muffins, and they didn't rise up very much, probably because I didn't use the egg. Next time I'll make this with 1 teaspoon (for 6) baking powder, and cinnamon.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu May 14, 2002

Good! Healthy:) I served it with jam and maple syrup, gone in minutes:)!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani April 08, 2002

Although simple and quick to put together, these left little in taste. I followed the recipe exactly. Needs something in flavor. Although they made 12 muffins they were quite small. I will make these again and add in more spice and perhaps some vanilla or almond extract. Thank you for s quick put together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie August 30, 2010

These were good but I did change it up some due to other reviews. I added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and think it could have used a bit more. I also used milk instead of water. I used paper and these really stuck to them. Next time I would put them right in the tin and spray with Pam. I only got 8 muffins too which was disappointing. I cooked mine at 400 for 20 minutes and they came out nice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol July 22, 2010

This is very similar to a recipe I have, but instead of water I use milk and I use vegetable oil instead of canola oil. I make them all the time and it's a big hit with my family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessie_loves_desserts July 31, 2008

These are great, filling little muffins! After reading the other reviews, I made a few changes before making the first batch. I used whole wheat flour for half of the flour amount. I added 1/2 tsp. of baking soda and replaced the oil with applesauce. I increased the amount of cinnamon to 1/2 tsp. and added 2 tbsp. each of craisins and mini chocolate chips. I only needed to bake them for 12 minutes. The muffins were a little dense, but they rose well and tasted great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Music Heather July 14, 2008

I enjoyed these muffins, I did increase the cinnamon and next time will add 1 heaped teaspoon, My husband and Daughter didn't like them, next time I will add raisins too, then I think they will be Ok for them. Very simple and quick - made them in NO time at all!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Purple Becca February 06, 2008

Very tasty, moist, light muffin. Used applesauce instead of the oil. The only thing I would change would be to add more spice. Overall, this was extremely easy to put together and extremely easy to eat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheepie87 January 03, 2008

I made these muffins for my daycare kids, but made several changes. I used 3/4 cups sugar, 1 1/2 cups oats, 1/3 cup canola oil, 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp pumpkin spice in place of the nutmeg/cinnamon. Not a muffin was left. Kids loved them and asked that I make them again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MonkeyDeb December 06, 2007

I adore these muffins and make them all the time. If you want a very sweet muffin, this isn't your recipe, but if you want a healthy filling muffin this is the ticket. They are chewy and wonderful - plus they make a great breakfast or snack!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pintouwec January 03, 2007
Oatmeal Muffins