17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were great! I loved the flavour, plus they're really quick to make.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vjs April 24, 2002

I found that the recipe wasn't sweet enough for the kids, however, my husband liked them. Thanks

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nye McClelland November 08, 2001

I thought these were excellent! We don't get corn syrup here, so I used a combination of 4 teaspoons water and 5 tablespoons granulated sugar instead. It seemed sufficiently sweet for me, but maybe using "light" corn syrup makes it less sweet. This was done in exactly 20 minutes, and I could hardly wait for it to cool down before tasting it :-) I'm going to make this often from now on. Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu June 13, 2002

This is very good. It was just a little too sweet--I was looking for more of a snack than a dessert. I think I will cut down on sugar next time. I also increased the cooking time a bit and they came out nice and crunchy after cooling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi K June 11, 2010

I made these a few days ago, using a combination of dark brown sugar and white sugar since I didn't have a full half cup of brown sugar. Based on the reviews, I made sure to really press the mixture into the pan as well as I could. When they came out of the oven, they were really soft and felt quite undercooked. So, I let them sit on the table until they were cool. During that process, they hardened up quite a bit but still not enough for my liking. So, I put them in the fridge and let them chill for a while. My conclusion? If you give them their time to harden, they will. Just be patient, or they will turn out gooey and way too soft.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ransomed by Fire August 26, 2009

No doubt, these were good but very gooey just didn't hold together well. I made it with raisins and would say that was a bit too sweet. Nuts might be a better option if you don't want super sweet and don't mind a bar that doesn't hold together too well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigma535 May 13, 2009

Easy to make and they smelled great while making, but these came out far too gooey. And they are sugar-shock sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jujubegirl May 12, 2009

I use this recipe every other week, but I double the recipe, add two cups of cereal, usually rice krispies, substitute honey for the corn syrup & spread on a cookie sheet. Otherwise, the recipe tends to be gooey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AbbyDanner:o) March 10, 2009

These are delicious and VERY easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michaela.chavez July 13, 2008

I love this recipe,and have made it a few time, I use chunky chunky peanut butter instead of regular and splenda brown sugar in place of the regular. I cut them into bite sized peaces and eat throughout the week. I was a little worried the first time I made the mixture beacuae it was runny, but after beign int eh oven and cooling down a bit they were perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lwishbone February 10, 2008
Oatmeal Granola Bars