Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oatmeal Dinner Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oatmeal Dinner Rolls

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2002

      I made these rolls in my breadmachine, I set it on dough. I had a little to much flour mix inside my machine and it did go over the bread pan but no problem I took it our and shape the rolls and let them rise again and they were the best. My neighbors love them also. Next time I make them I will try it by hand instead in breadmaker even through they did great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2002

      WOW...these are simply delicious, so light and fluffy. I followed the recipe exactly as I've never been known for my bread making, and they turned out perfect. A real keeper!! Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      I made these rolls for a family dinner party one night. I doubled the recipe, but should have easily tripled it! The rolls were the first thing gone. I found them very easy to make, the recipe is straight forward enough for even the novice baker to follow. The results are a very pretty, very tasty roll. Thank you for sharing this recipe! ~~~UPDATE~~~ 5 years later, these are still one of my family's most requested rolls. I've begun dipping the top of the rolls in melted butter and then in additional oats once I've formed them for the second rising. It makes for a very pretty presentation. Again, Thank You for this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      I won't rate this yet. Just not sure what I did wrong! It could be the weather playing a role. It's pretty humid here. Mine seemed to rise very nice during both rising times. Even after 20 minutes, these weren't done (But browned very nice on top). They were also very 'heavy'. I make bread quite a bit and never had an issue like this. With the reviews, I'm sure these are awesome! I will try these again when it's not so humid. I'll update my review at a later date. Thanks. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      These are absolutely the best rolls EVER!!! You'd think with all that oatmeal, they would be heavy and dense, but they are so light and fluffy. I made one pan of 8 rolls and with the other half, I made a loaf of cinnamon raisin bread. I've never have good luck making bread, but these seem to be foolproof. I did change the amount of salt to 1 tsp and it was fine. I'm thinking of making an herbal version, maybe with dill and cheese. What do you think?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      I made a mountain out of a dough hill. :-) I'm a tad dough challenged and molded them the best I could because the dough was rather sticky. They were still the perfect fit...fit right into my mouth. Made for Alphabet Soup Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2012

      These were great with spiral-cut ham, roasted asparagus, mashed potatoes, and gravy-- a quintessential meat-and-potatoes meal. I added 2 Tbsp dry milk and 1 Tbsp diastatic malt powder and let the bread machine do all the hard work. Shaped this into 29 two-ounce rolls. These were a hit; will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

      I have been making this same recipe for longer than I care to remember:) It is easy and fairly fast compared to rolling out crescent rolls, etc. Update-- I reduce the yeast to 2 3/4 teaspoons and the second phase of water to 1/3 cup instead of 1/2 cup, and increas the flour to 4 3/4 cups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      I have used this recipe several times. Have been doing it by hand and they are awesome! Making a batch right now to go with the turkey for Xmas, they are that good. Soft, full of good flavor, this is a keeper recipe. Just signed up with the site to share this with you. Happy baking!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      I thought I made these rolls to recipe,but when I put my glasses on I saw I hadnt.I added oats to boiling water with butter mixed and set aside. Didnt take a test for temp. Added it to all ingredients in my KA. But everything turned out fine anyhow..I loved the texture of these rolls. Though I think they need to be smaller to call them dinner rolls..I will make 32 rolls from this recipe to get just the right size for dinner rolls next time. But this size was great for sandwiches..I highly recommend this recipe..Great flavor,wonderful texture and you can fudge the recipe and everything turns out fine anyways...Thank U again for another great recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      I made these rolls for my family Thanksgiving meal. Everyone loved them! I also made cinnamon rolls with the dough. Best sweet rolls I ever made. Thanks for this keeper, Ridgely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      I didn't let the dought rise all the way because I was running behind so they were a little heavy and dense but great non the less!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      this recipe needs some tweaks. It tastes like sweet roll. DH thinks it is good , but not thanksgiving kind of good. Followed other tatsers' 's note, reduce water. I decided not add the 1/2 cup water the recipe asked. ) The dough was still too wet. end up adding 9TB flour. Well.... after making this my newly bought KA Aritsan mixer now is broken. :( other than that, it is a healthy and tasty roll.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      These were a big hit at Thanksgiving - no fewer than three people asked for the recipe and they've already tried it for themselves. Very, very recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Making these was a tad bit annoying. I tried using the electric mixer, as per the directions, but that turned into a sticky disaster. I had to end up adding a lot more flour (0.5 cup maybe...probably could have even used more) just to make it manageable. I guess it is my fault for not reading the other reviews though. Luckily the hassle was worth it as these rolls were delicious. I made these as the last component in my vegan thanksgiving feast and my sister couldn't get enough of them. She made me promise to make them the next time she visits. We made half of batch in the round cake pan while the others went in muffin tins (we only have 1 round cake pan here ;)). I'm not sure what happened with the ones in the muffin tins but their texture wasn't as good as the ones in the cake pan. They might have been a bit overworked as we had to rework them a couple times to get them the right size for the pans though. Thanks so much for this excellent recipe though. I suppose I'm going to have to make it in the future :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      Wow! I love these! I used my new mixer with dough hook for the first time and it came out great. Everyone LOVED the rolls. I did have to add a bit more flour, and even though they were still tacky when trying to form rolls, it really didn't matter what shape they were in. I used the rapid-rise yeast to cut rising time (wondering if dough will really rise always makes me nervous!) and it made 3- 9"round pans full of rolls. They were a little dry to me the following days--probably due to adding extra flour, but they were eaten anyway! Thanks for a great roll---I will be making them all the time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      These made me the hero of Thanksgiving at cousin's house, and her husband is a master chef at a major 5-star hotel, so I was nervous! I am back to change the yield for our Christmas dinner:) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I thought I had completely screwed everything up when I added the oats while they were still really hot. I did have to add an extra cup of flour while the dough was in the mixer. I was ready to give up! It was sticking to the sides and not coming together properly, but decided to keep on going. They turned out amazingly well! These things are idiot-proof. The flavor was great and they had almost a muffin texture on the inside. Next time I'm going to make them for breakfast and add apple sauce and cinnamon to the dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      Really wonderful rolls - they rise up nice and high and are wonderfully soft and flavorful. I did end up using more flour - but that just means more rolls! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      These turned out really pretty, I just didn't love the taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oatmeal Dinner Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (1329 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 176.1
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    14%
    Total Fat 2.8 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 5.7 mg
    1%
    Sodium 240.9 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.0 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites