252 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A few years ago I followed a recipe for cottage cheese pancakes that used whole wheat flour. I was searching for that when I found this recipe. I don't even want the other one anymore!

I used modifications suggested: two whole eggs instead of whites, and added a bit of cinnamon. While making them, I forgot I was supposed to blend it all and just mixed it in the bowl by hand, which still worked fine.

Thanks for this new favorite!

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThorGodofT January 18, 2011

I followed the advice of other reviewers and added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1 whole egg and 2 egg whites instead of 4 egg whites, and a tsp. of maple syrup. These were very good for a healthy pancake. I tried them previously with 0% plain Greek yogurt in place of the cottage cheese, and they were more rubbery that way. We liked them better with the cottage cheese. Thanks for the healthy recipe!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teacher, Baker, Candlestick Maker April 10, 2011

My mother used to make these for my sister and me. She would use lemon or orange essence rather than vanilla. Yum!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ValkyrieQueen January 09, 2011

These are wonderful!! I've made these several times. I used the batter in my waffle iron today, and those turned out great too! I use 2 whole eggs, and add 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I'm going to try some of the other suggestions later on..

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
voodooqueenbee August 29, 2010

Now I know what to do with the 6 huge containers of oats Mom never used.
The taste is very good and there is a nice texture, with a bit of crunchiness.
I first searched for an answer to "Is the oatmeal cooked or dry?" ... I am new at this ... and made it dry. And like the others, I used two whole eggs. I, too, was surprised to see the bubbling when they were in the pan, just like regular pancakes.
This will definitely be made again.
Update - Add walnuts to the batter. Yummy, especially with maple syrup.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissyTheToe August 12, 2011

My wife saw that I had purchased Cottage Cheese and reminded me the day before not to sneak it into any recipes! Well, she had no Idea and told me after eating this how excellent they were --even after learning of the secret ingredient! I think the trick is blending up the cottage cheese in the blender so that no curds remain. It was really tasty and remarkably healthy. A bit like a combination between french toast and a pancake. I will be making these again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
legozac June 30, 2011

We had this for dinner tonight. After reading some of the other reviews, I doubled the recipe, added 3/4 Tb baking powder, 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 2 Tb Splenda. I also used 4 whole eggs rather than egg whites. My sons say they taste like pancake-shaped french toast. They absolutely love them! It is their new favorite recipe. Thanks for posting bramble!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GrandBendJen February 25, 2010

Awesome! I'm allergic to gluten and I can't remember the last time I had pancakes! These tasted wonderful! I did substitute the 4 egg whites with 1/2 cup of Egg Beaters (2 large eggs worth), doubled the vanilla and added cinnamon and nutmeg. So tasty!!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ncinnamon April 28, 2011

easy! doubled the recipe and used 2 whole eggs.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u April 13, 2011

These are suprisingly good! I was especially suprised that they puff up and bubble just like "real" pancakes. I used 2 whole eggs in place of the egg whites, and accidentally omitted the vanilla--still good, might try the vanilla next time, though a tsp seems like a lot. ANother reviewer thought they taste like french toast...that's about right. Good stuff.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarely February 28, 2011
Oatmeal Cottage Cheese Pancakes