25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are stellar pancakes, even with the light version I made (nonfat milk and sour cream and only one tablespoon of butter). I did think they tasted reminiscent of oatmeal cookies. They were fluffy, and the oatmeal gave them a great texture. We don't like things too sweet, so I halved the sugar, and it was still nice and sweet for us. It is easy to spread the batter as you spoon them onto the griddle so they cook evenly. I left out one banana so they wouldn't be as thick, and the flavor was still there, but not overly dominant. We also tried them with chocolate chips and without raisins, and thought the "just plain" were actually the best!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito March 05, 2009

I had a bit of trouble to do these pancakes. They were very hard to flip. But the taste is amazing. Maybe a bit too soft for DH. I omitted the nuts because of my son. I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream. And I omitted the raisins. Thanks Sharon :) Made for your cookathon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette October 18, 2010

Awesome--used FF vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream, used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 white, and added some chocolate chips for fun. So yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michellellynch July 26, 2009

I found this in Rachael Ray's Cooking 'Round the Clock 30-Minute Meals, and it's a great way to use up those old bananas. I love the moistness the bananas give to the batter, but I must confess that I'd prefer a different flavor with the oatmeal like fresh coconut or mangos. It makes me want to experiment to see what I could use in place of the bananas that kept the great texture. I love oatmeal cookies and oatmeal in pancakes, but I wanted to taste more oatmeal and cinnamon than bananas. I love the recipe and the variety of ingredients in it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyZoe July 25, 2009

these pancakes are delicious, the batter was thick so I added in another 1/4 cup of milk, I omitted the raisins and walnuts as I did not have any, thank you for sharing Shar, we enjoyed these pancakes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz March 08, 2008

Very good! The batter is very thick so I spread them around a bit. This is a great tasty morning treat. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetySJD February 25, 2008

These were good. I followed the recipe except left out the walnuts. These took a lot longer than 2 minutes on each side. I used my electric griddle. I made them smaller for the second batch and spread them out. They still took several minutes on each side. I should have used less sugar as one reviewer sugested. I got 18 pancakes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorel August 17, 2007

These yummy pancakes are soft, moist, and very flavorful ~ We really enjoyed them! I used quick-cooking oats and omitted the nuts and raisins. Thinning the batter with additional milk or flattening out the freshly poured pancakes helps them cook evenly on the griddle. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb's Recipes October 20, 2006

Yummy pancakes! I really did enjoy these. I am not sure if they taste like an oatmeal cookie though as the banana flavor was fairly strong. However these are sweeter than most pancakes I make so that did make them taste more cookie like. These are very good as dessert pancakes with a scoop of vanilla ice cream!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUv 2 BaKE June 02, 2006

I really have no clue why she decided to call these oatmeal cookie pancakes, other then the fact that they contain oatmeal. They taste just like banana nut bread...and are fabulous! If you like banana nut bread, you are sure to love these.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meltedcountry January 22, 2006
Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes